stylie Registered User

Best advice I can give a complete beginner in fly fishing, join here
http://www.flyforums.co.uk/index.php
there are a few posters here over there and you will get great advice and deals. Lots of reels and line half price or better

Thanks for all the replies! I stocked up on pike and coarse gear last year so i dont have too much to get there, also mainly feathers for sea fishing so most of my budget will be on the fly gear. Thanks again

aidanf Registered User

frankcarty said:
Thanks for all the replies! I stocked up on pike and coarse gear last year so i dont have too much to get there, also mainly feathers for sea fishing so most of my budget will be on the fly gear. Thanks again

Wychwood truefly is a very good fly rod for the price. I've the 9'6" 6/7 and it's a good all-round rod, very easy to cast. Cost me about €80 online. To look at it and use it you would think it cost a good bit more.

For the reel I have the Snowbee XSD. Can be got online with a couple of spare spools for around €60. It's a good reel for the price and it's easy to pop spools in and out. You'll want at least a couple of spools with floating and intermediate line on them.

If you're wondering about where to spend your budget I'd say spend it on the lines. If you get a good value rod and reel like the ones listed above and have a bit left in your budget I'd say spend in on a couple of good lines rather than going for a really cheap line. I'd recommend Cortland 444.

Mr.Woodcock Registered User