The Cush Registered User
#31

Latest information on TV3's HD studio, TV3 press release and article in the Sunday Business Post (Aug 26th)

TV3 launches its broadest ever schedule
23.08.12

...

TV3 confirmed the completion of its new HD Studio at its Ballymount Dublin HQ. Scheduled to open before the year end, the studio will provide TV3 with world-class facilities to develop a whole new roster of programming.

http://www.tv3.ie/article.php?article_id=80202&locID=1.2&pagename=news


Ad revenue growth for TV3

...

In the coming weeks, TV3 will announce a naming rights partner for its new, 500 square-foot HD studio. The agreement - believed to be with an electronics company that has interests in television production - is being finalised.

Sunday Business Post


Note the error in the SBP article - 500 sq. ft. HD studio, should be 500 sq. mts I believe.

byte Registered User
#32

I wonder who the electronics company is.

Sony? Panasonic? SiS?

NIMAN Registered User
#33

Tell them to stop, HD is so 2011

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-19370582

#34

That is surely only going to be useful for big outside displays. Unless of course you have a cinema screen at home :-)

Machinehead Registered User
#35

Tell them to stop, HD is so 2011

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-19370582[/QUOTE]

BBC won't be going for that any time soon. Public opinion is trying to get them to retain 1920x1080i which they introduced for their Olympic HD coverage. They seem to be of the opinion that 1440x1080i is adequate for DSAT & also conforms with some mandate that they must have equal quality coverage between Freeview & Freesat. Other FTA HD channels such as Channel 4, ITV & NHK don't seem to be affected by these constraints.
Link to digital spy thread on the subject.
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1723451

Elmo Registered User
#36

LIVE FROM THE SAMSUNG/SONY/PANASONIC HD STUDIOS IN DUBLIN, IRELAND IT'S THE TV3 NEWS AT 5:30

LIVE FROM THE SAMSUNG/SONY/PANASONIC HD STUDIOS IN DUBLIN, IRELAND IT'S VINCENT BROWNE TONIGHT (OPTIONAL WITH GUEST HOST ....)

Board meeting at TV3

DMcR: So lads we can't advertise on the News options lads?
BF: We make Vincent Browne into a political Big Brother.
NC: Vincent won't go for reality TV.
DMcM: Yeah! try getting him to introduce Phychics Live.
FMcG: How about we get the Guys from Tallafornia to sit in with Vincent Browne and have Vinny to you know ask them about drinking jagermeister in the 2010s and like the damage that it is doing to society
DMcR: Don't think the guys from Jagermeister would like the Tallafornia lads representing them.
TV3 Consultant: Why not give naming rights to a new HD studio

(I am sure I am taking the naming rights Idea away from someone in TV3 but just wanted to be fair )

Trick of the Tail Registered User
#37

I hope they will do something about their sound quality.

The sound from their live studios is terrible, very poor acoustics exacerbated by bad use of mic processing.

I'd also like to hear some use of 5.1 surround - what are the chances?

A.

Sam Russell Moderator
#38

I wonder if RTE might copy the naming idea.

"Here from the studio in Montrose ..."

might become

"Here from the Toyota (or whatever name you like) Studio in Montrose .......

Hope not.

SPDUB Registered User
#39

There was an interview with David McRedmond in this weeks Sunday Times though there was so much whining about RTE I couldn't finish the interview .

channelsurfer2 Registered User
#40

SPDUB said:
There was an interview with David McRedmond in this weeks Sunday Times though there was so much whining about RTE I couldn't finish the interview .


i read that interview too. awful stuff to give DMcR over nearly a full page to moan about rte and say that tv3 is really a better public service broadcaster than rte. moaned on and on about how rte2 should be shut and that they should not be allowed buy any foreign programmes or rights and that setanta should still have the rabodirect league....

Machinehead Registered User
#41

Got this from TV3 a few days ago.

Thank you for your email.

We expect to launch the new studio in November this year.

It is not yet decided if or when the new HD service will appear on the Saorview platform. We await clarity on Tariffs for carriage on Saorview before we can complete our business analysis.

1 person has thanked this post
Apogee Registered User
#42

Irish Independent

TV3 has announced it is to join up with Sony International to provide "the latest in high-definition camera and support equipment" for the company's new HD studio at their headquarters in Dublin. As part of the multi-year deal, the studio will be named the 'Sony HD Studio Dublin'. The 500sqm development, which is based on similar designs at Sky and BBC, was completed in July 2012 and is Ireland's largest purpose-built TV studio. The work completes the upgrading of TV3's facilities following the installation of a HD transmission suite and infrastructure in 2010.


http://www.independent.ie/business/world/tv3-joins-up-with-sony-for-hd-studio-3228919.html

2 people have thanked this post
MarkK Registered User
#43

I can't imagine Sony paying them much until they actually start broadcasting programmes in HD from the studio.

tlaavtech Registered User
#44

MarkK said:
I can't imagine Sony paying them much until they actually start broadcasting programmes in HD from the studio.


The deal would likely have been for very favourable pricing on the equipment rather than a payment from Sony.

1 person has thanked this post
formerly scottish paddy Registered User
#45

The 500sqm development, which is based on similar designs at Sky and BBC, was completed in July 2012 and is Ireland's largest purpose-built TV studio.
I don't think so, as studio 4 at Montrose is about twice the size!

Want to share your thoughts?

Login here to discuss!