Zardoz Registered User
#16

watty said:
Because NDS is really much better at security than Sony, Apple etc as they are consumer marketing companies and NDS is a dedicated Electronic Security company, with maybe the most secure card scheme in the world?

That and the fact that they have extremely shady and sinister people in charge of their Israeli base.

Dman001 Registered User
#17

I've been using this method for the last year or so OP and works fine:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64023019

#18

Joe the Santa said:
actually I thought this would of been the main reason for people to have tried to hack a sky box, basically just for the ability to say they were the people to have done it


TBH Id imagine if anyone ever does/already has hacked their $ky box theyd keep pretty quiet about it if theyve any sense at all.

Obligatory Disclaimer: hacking your $ky box is baaddd mmmkaaayyyyy

zerks Registered User
#19

Mike 1972 said:
TBH Id imagine if anyone ever does/already has hacked their Sky box theyd keep pretty quiet about it if theyve any sense at all.

Obligatory Disclaimer: hacking your Sky box is baaddd mmmkaaayyyyy


This pretty much covers hacking Skyboxes. http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0024/sec0009.html#zza24y1990s9

It's illegal folks,the op is discussing accessing services that have to be paid for as they want to use the box to record after cancelling their Sky sub.

The pull out your valid card trick to record 'other channels' is ok as you are still paying a subscription,however hacking the equipment to circumvent a subscription service is illegal.

enfant terrible Registered User
#20

Zardoz said:
That and the fact that they have extremely shady and sinister people in charge of their Israeli base.


What are you on about?

watty Registered User
#21

It's not illegal Zerks to hack it to receive or record FTA TV. It's not a rental box. The owners own it.

It's only illegal to hack it to circumvent subscription on payTV. The Recording subscription for FTA is likely suspect as it's essentially renting you HW you already bought and would not be covered unless it was a rented box.

There are plenty of non-sky boxes and every PC card that record FTA TV legally without subscription. To call recording of FTA TV on Satellite a service that has to be paid for on a box you own is sharp practice and I'd love to see Sky lose that in Court.

It would be illegal to hack a UPC box to record unencrypted Cable TV as there is NO free cable and UPC own the cable box forever.

1 person has thanked this post
Carter P Fly Registered User
#22

Agreed 100% Theres tons of sky boxes out there doing nothing that the owner actually owns and if there was a way to recycle these as FTA DVR's then that would be great and save a lot of people a good deal of cash.

I'd actually consider the card flip trick to be more dodgy then jailbreaking a Sky box to use as a FTA PVR.

BUT, Sky own the intelectual rights to the software so hacking it is illegal. You can own the hardware but not the software.

watty Registered User
#23

Putting your own software is not illegal
making changes to the sw installed is not either as long as you are not distributing the SW and it doesn't enable any bypass of PayTV subscription. The issue with mods to Xbox, PS3, Nintendo etc is that all of those are to run pirated copies of commercial products.

There are legitimate "hacks" to many TVs, DVD, Set-boxes that are nothing to do with payTV.


There is nothing dodgy about "card trick". When you do that it's only able to receive FTA content.

1 person has thanked this post
The Dark Knight Registered User
#24


Does anybody know why Sky haven't been brought to court on this?

I see this situation similar to mobile phone unlocking.
Mobile phone companies now have to give you an unlock code for you phone once you are out of contract.
You own the hardware and you should be allowed to use it in any Legal way.
In this case.....using a sim from another Mobile Phone network.
In the sky box case.... recording channels that are FTA.

Zardoz Registered User
#25

enfant terrible said:
What are you on about?

Google some of the people NDS have working in their anti piracy dept in Israel and you will get your answer.
Does anybody know why Sky haven't been brought to court on this?

Uncle Rupert and his connections

watty Registered User
#26

Or even being able to use more than 27500 and 22000 SR in other channels.
Being able to enter DVB-S2 parameters on Sky HD boxes.

They only have "other channels" at all as a nod to Premiere in Germany losing a court case over only allowing PayTV EPG channels of Premiere on the box.

1 person has thanked this post
#27

Because NDS is really much better at security than Sony, Apple etc as they are consumer marketing companies and NDS is a dedicated Electronic Security company, with maybe the most secure card scheme in the world?


Hi Watty, you probably realised ,as I see in your later posts that I did not mean hacking the box to receive pay tv channels, but mainly putting other software on it to enable recording again.
This would be ideal as no manufacturer seems to have achieved the simplicity of operation of the sky box pause,record,rewind features (or am I wrong ? ) I know for a fact that my parents would dump sky in the morning if their box continued to have these still working for fta channels.

Kristopherus Registered User
#28

timmydel1 said:
Hi Watty, you probably realised ,as I see in your later posts that I did not mean hacking the box to receive pay tv channels, but mainly putting other software on it to enable recording again.
This would be ideal as no manufacturer seems to have achieved the simplicity of operation of the sky box pause,record,rewind features (or am I wrong ? ) I know for a fact that my parents would dump sky in the morning if their box continued to have these still working for fta channels.


Then maybe they might be interested in this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056284276

watty Registered User
#29

Kristopherus said:
Then maybe they might be interested in this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056284276


No, that's generic for satellite. To have Sky like simplicity on Satellite you need a Freesat HD PVR,

1 person has thanked this post
bennyineire Registered User
#30

C'mon guys surly there is a way around this

Want to share your thoughts?

Login here to discuss!