#2,596

ED E said:
Best data counter widget? Want something simple and light as I dont have much memory overhead.

TIA

I use one called um..well..Data counter widget
I really liked it, it was simple and you could make it only show what you want to know

PucaMama Registered User
#2,597

didnt want to start a new thread just for this

what does rooted mean? ive seen some apps say you have to be rooted to use them? im new to android so i havnt heard of this before

ED E Registered User
#2,598

PucaMama said:
didnt want to start a new thread just for this

what does rooted mean? ive seen some apps say you have to be rooted to use them? im new to android so i havnt heard of this before

It means you have "Root", the Linux equivalent of "Administrator" on windows. Most manufacturers sell phones without root as average users are less likely to break their own phone with limited permissions.

The advantage of having it is that you can edit system critical things, and use amazing tools like Titanium Backup(<- get it if you root).

Some phones can be rooted with programs like SuperOneClick, the rest need to be flashed with a rew ROM(copy of Android from the mod community).

omg a kitty said:
I use one called um..well..Data counter widget
I really liked it, it was simple and you could make it only show what you want to know

Derp, cheers.

PucaMama Registered User
#2,599

ED E said:
It means you have "Root", the Linux equivalent of "Administrator" on windows. Most manufacturers sell phones without root as average users are less likely to break their own phone with limited permissions.

The advantage of having it is that you can edit system critical things, and use amazing tools like Titanium Backup(<- get it if you root).

Some phones can be rooted with programs like SuperOneClick, the rest need to be flashed with a rew ROM(copy of Android from the mod community)

thanks, dont think my little sony live has that

#2,600