thebaz Registered User

Question for the experts ?

when brightening an image do you use a combination of both Levels and Curves ?

or just exclusively one or the other ?

Thanks
b

5uspect Moderator

You can do everything levels can with curves, just use straight curves. So I just use curves most of the time. Levels is still useful however.

CabanSail ɹoʇɐɹǝpoɯ ʎɹobǝʇɐɔ

I use curves through a mask, as per the Guy Gowan method. I'm not an expert but he is.

Fajitas! Registered User

Both... and lots of 'em...

thebaz Registered User

Fajitas! said:

so you'd use both on the same image ? would you not be better using one or the other ?
or do the combine well together when editing an image ?

Covey Registered User

I'm no expert both both on the same image as well, generally Levels first and then curves. Bringing the sliders on levels to the edges of the graph makes a huge difference. Auto Levels does this pretty well actually.

Just remember curves is very powerful and is not just a brightning/darkning tool.

kjt Registered User

Fajitas! said:

+1

smelltheglove Registered User

As I progress more I am leaning more often to curves but in stages, I rarely do what I want in one go of curves unless I get a perfect shot

Gambler Registered User

Are there any good tutorials any of you would recommend on how to effectively use levels and curves? I've used a bit of both but only to replicate effects I've seen done before and I don't REALLY understand what I'm doing properly

smelltheglove Registered User

Well I always go by the trial and error method honestly, works for me.

Gambler said:
Are there any good tutorials any of you would recommend on how to effectively use levels and curves? I've used a bit of both but only to replicate effects I've seen done before and I don't REALLY understand what I'm doing properly

I would reccomend the Guy Gowan DVD's

Bought them earlier this year for €60 ea

They are a lot cheaper now, if you know where to get them.