OldGoat Registered User

ollaetta said:
A colleague who worked near Christchurch back then thinks that the small redbrick building was a weighbridge.

I thought more likely to be pump houses. I'll try and ask someone in Waterworks if they can shed any light.

1961, the year of my birth. I'm studying the pics trying to spot pregnant women.
[Cue 'Yore Ma' jokes]

1 person has thanked this post
Jeanious Registered User

The_Edge said:
Jayus, what year is that?
No sign of the Church

Church was built in 57 seemingly. I wouldnt reckon its much older than that judgin by the cars. Still, great pic actogether.

Cocoon Registered User

Ste.phen said:
Where did you get that one?
Any more similar?
(Am from the area, it's amazing to see it before they build the park, church, Kilmore, most of Lorcan, etc.
What's the house on teh far right of the picture? is it still there?
(To my mind i'm guessing it's in where the apartments are beside the Beaumont Drive Thru)

I was emailed that photo by a friend some time back as I used to live around the area, unfortunately there is no more like it that i'm aware of. If you look into the distance it interesting to see how lorcan was divided into two before the N1 was built. Also no coolock lane or oscar traynor road just fields and santry woods.

Exit Registered User

coyle said:
Here's one: A drive around the general Dublin 5 area in 1984. Shoddy quality, but a good view of Artane before the Rec was built, and I had no idea Peats had a branch in Donnycarney?!!

I got excited for this video, but when I turned it on, I barely recognised anything. I know the first part is coming out of Artane onto the Malahide Road, and I recognise the flats at Kilmore. It took me a while to get Northside SC. I recognised the shape of the building and its surroundings, but I can only ever remember it being the manky blue colour that it is now.

I don't really know Artane or Donneycarney that well though.

Lazarus2.0 Adverts.ie Moderator