I know that Grimes is a a student of archaeology, as am I.

All you other contributors; what do you do and how deep is your interest in the subject?

(Hey Grimes, fancy stickying this?)

1 person has thanked this post
Wibbs Je suis un Rock star

Well I've just discovered(or uncovered) this forum. Nice one. I've no scholastic background in the area, but I've always had a big interest in the subject. I used to collect fossils in a big way as a callow youth(bear with me) and on a few occasions I found stone tools*. That peaked my interest in prehistory in particular. I'm ashamed to say that if an archaeology documentary or book is any more recent than the Roman empire i lose interest. I suspect that what we've uncovered here already is but the tip of the iceberg. I do think sometimes the amateur may have much to give and I'd like to be considered the token (very) amateur.

Quite a few neolithic blades, borers and a tool which I suspect may be older(significantly older). If it is, it may cause trouble as Neandertals weren't supposed to be here. It's not an erratic carried on glaciers either as it's a local stone and the patina suggests an undisturbed burial(as much as it's antiquity allowed anyway). I'll try to find it and post piccies. The joke is I don't know precisely where it is. technical term would be oops

queen_kala Registered User

im in second year archeology in UCD. i love arch, it has always been what i wanted to do. i did arts specifically to do archaeology.

masteroftherealm Registered User

Amateur Enthusiast and campaigner.
Would have loved to have done it in college but didnr get the points.
Anyone know of a decent course(Night)??

Well I do English and History in UCD but I'm one of those "why the fúck didnt i pick archaeology?" people!

Always found it fascinating and would like to know more about it.

(that and i like to stalk enda on the forums)

Sushi Registered User