Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

10-07-2012, 21:03   #1
TeddyTedson
The Papa Doc

All the rage

from Steroids, fuarrrkkkk.
Not really.

When you were young do you remember things used to become all the rage for a while before leaving just as fast as they came. But for few months they were in, everyone became obsessed.

For example it was yo-yos at one stage.
Companies like Coca Cola had ever kid in the country back to basics with yo-yos. I even remember a yo-yo man coming to our school and doing things with his on stage.
Another time it was all about tamagotchies. The little feckers were some work.
Pogs - how can you leave out pogs.
Then I remember one year every kid wanted a tele tubby doll for Christmas. Parents were freaking out because little Johnny wasn't going to have his doll in time for Christmas.

There were so many throughout the various decades. But has it stopped now. I never really hear of things taking over in the same way. It might be a good time for something like yo-yos to take over again seeing as everyone is broke and can't afford to buy expensive toys for their kids.

What else do people remember being really big as a kid.

This should be a bit of pun
10-07-2012, 21:05   #2
El_Dangeroso

Don't push me! Push a push-pop!

Also a weird craze for eating Vicks cough drops. And xworx jeans. And fancy paper. Fancy paper was a weird one.
10-07-2012, 21:06   #3
Pushtrak

Thought this was going to be an Argh, fury, rage thread.

Thread disappoints.
Thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:06   #4
realies

Playing piggy :-)
10-07-2012, 21:07   #5
stovelid
Closed Account

They were called Spinners, not common yo-yos actually.
Thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:08   #6
blacklilly

Totally forgot about the yo yo craze until you mentioned it! I also remember our school getting box loads of cheese strings for promotion
10-07-2012, 21:08   #7
hondasam
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeddyTedson View Post
. But has it stopped now. I never really hear of things taking over in the same way.
I phone is all the rage.
10-07-2012, 21:09   #8
Fight_Night

Pokemon
Yu-Gi-OH
Beyblades.

Pokemon in particular though.

Oh and Pogs. Never quite got them.
(2) thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:11   #9
Fight_Night

And Tamagotchis. Jaysus they were stupid.
10-07-2012, 21:12   #10
TeddyTedson
The Papa Doc

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondasam View Post
I phone is all the rage.
Tell me about it

Onwards and upwards though, I have a new Samsung S3
(3) thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:12   #11
gobnaitolunacy

Cabbage Patch Kids
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Transformers (the only thing thats come back from the dead, sort of)
Moving statues, one of the weirdest crazes....none of them move now, unless they're made of non-ferrous metal...
Thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:16   #12
BUBBLE WRAP

Prank calls like...

I want a manta hug and kiss.
10-07-2012, 21:17   #13
dirtyden

When I was a chap a different item was the in thing every christmas, BMX bikes one year, then skateboards then rollerblades the commodore 64 another year.

Parka jackets were cool for about 2 years, and also padded check shirts.
(3) thanks from:
10-07-2012, 21:18   #14
Mr Magners
Closed Account

Joe Bloggs Jeans and L.A. Gear runners
10-07-2012, 21:18   #15
TeddyTedson
The Papa Doc

What was the football on a dog leash thing I used to always see on TV. It was supposed to get you better at doing volleys

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion