Ross HD satellite kit B&Q - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
04-07-2012, 23:52   #1
Casey78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 247
Ross HD satellite kit B&Q

Hi
Just wondered if anyone bought one of these?
I know they are cheap (€50 atm) but I really only want it for the spare room so I have somewhere to go when the wife is watching Corrie etc in the sitting room.
It will never be used as our main source of TV stations as I have UPC in the sitting room,therefore it doesn't matter of I can't record on it or if there isn't a full 7 day EPG or whatever.
I just thought for something basic that I can watch now and then plus get ITV HD for the Champions League games it might be worth it.

Also I know it's not the thread for it but I was gonna buy a cheap TV for the spare room aswell. If I was to get a HD Ready 19" or 22" HD Ready TV would there be much difference in picture quality for a Full HD version the same size?
I would be connecting the Ross HD kit to it.

Thanks.
Casey78 is offline  
Advertisement
05-07-2012, 08:30   #2
dodzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey78 View Post
Hi
Just wondered if anyone bought one of these?
I know they are cheap (€50 atm) but I really only want it for the spare room so I have somewhere to go when the wife is watching Corrie etc in the sitting room.
It will never be used as our main source of TV stations as I have UPC in the sitting room,therefore it doesn't matter of I can't record on it or if there isn't a full 7 day EPG or whatever.
I just thought for something basic that I can watch now and then plus get ITV HD for the Champions League games it might be worth it.

Also I know it's not the thread for it but I was gonna buy a cheap TV for the spare room aswell. If I was to get a HD Ready 19" or 22" HD Ready TV would there be much difference in picture quality for a Full HD version the same size?
I would be connecting the Ross HD kit to it.

Thanks.
1. The kit will be absolutely fine for your needs
2. On a screen that size, no, there would not be much difference. That said,
nearly all are full HD now and price difference would be negligible at that size
screen

You do know that you will need antenna (indoor might suffice depending on your location) if you required the terrestrial channels. The tv will be saorview compliant, so no need for a 2nd box though.
dodzy is online now  
05-07-2012, 08:53   #3
tallpaul
Registered User
 
tallpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: right here
Posts: 1,294
Perfectly fine for your needs. The only real downside is not having a full 7-day EPG (it only has Now and Next) and you will have to regularly rescan for stations that have moved transponder.
tallpaul is offline  
05-07-2012, 19:13   #4
Casey78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 247
Thanks for the help guys.
Will I have to re scan that often? It wont mean having to re align the dish or anything will it?
Casey78 is offline  
05-07-2012, 19:35   #5
paultf
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey78 View Post
Also I know it's not the thread for it but I was gonna buy a cheap TV for the spare room aswell. If I was to get a HD Ready 19" or 22" HD Ready TV would there be much difference in picture quality for a Full HD version the same size?
Next Thursday Aldi have a 22" HD Ready TV for €150 (I think) - Saorview approved. Not sure how good it is? 3 year warranty or return after 60 days - full refund.
paultf is offline  
Advertisement
05-07-2012, 19:48   #6
Fieldies Dreams
Registered User
 
Fieldies Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 129
Sounds good for 50 quid might get 1 myself,what channels do you get with this anyone know?
Fieldies Dreams is offline  
05-07-2012, 19:55   #7
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey78 View Post
Thanks for the help guys.
Will I have to re scan that often? It wont mean having to re align the dish or anything will it?
The worthwhile channels rarely if ever change frequency. It should be a fairly simple procedure to sort out those that do, or add new channels. No need to go near the dish.
Peter Rhea is offline  
05-07-2012, 20:10   #8
Gerry Wicklow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sth Wicklow
Posts: 1,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fieldies Dreams View Post
Sounds good for 50 quid might get 1 myself,what channels do you get with this anyone know?
http://en.kingofsat.net/freqs.php?&p...q&filtre=Clear

Lists what's available Free-to-air.
Gerry Wicklow is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet