Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-07-2012, 09:58   #1
Varied
Closed Account

Mens clothes

Womens input also welcome (if not preferred )

Where do the men of the gentlemen club buy their threads?

I've decided to do a complete overhaul of my wardrobe and get some clothes that fall out of the auld jeans and shirt category.

As I am completely useless at picking up my own clothes and pretty much always going for the safe option, what do you lads and lassies consider comfortable but also look the part on say a night out or a date?
04-07-2012, 10:11   #2
Hardonraging
I'll make it Fit !!

Jack and Jones, Next, H&M mostly, cant possibly accept paying a fortune for clothes .. even J&J are pricey, and there latest stock of jean's are just horrific ... but each to there own ..
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 10:13   #3
awec

I buy most, if not all my clothes at allsaints (allsaints.com). It's a bit pricey but I find it worth the cost.

I buy Diesel jeans. You can get them in various shops in Dublin or if you know your size you can order off asos.com. Asos is good as it basically has every size combination, even the ones you won't get in shops (such as 30 waist with 34 leg). Again they can be pricey but they'll last ages and if you're like me you'll probably be wearing them most days anyway. They do go on sale though from time to time so keep your eyes peeled.

If I'm looking a cheapy runaround type stuff topman is grand. The only problem with topman is you have to sift through all the crap to find something decent. Topman do decent chino type trousers if you're into those.

The tricks are to buy stuff that you can wear both smart and casually. I have t-shirts that look casual when I wear them under a hoody but smart when I wear them under my leather for example. Or a cardigan that looks smart with a shirt under it but casual when a t-shirt is worn under.

And buy stuff that fits! You should see your body shape, the clothes shouldn't be hanging off you. No point buying a load of nice clothes in the wrong size as you're wasting your money.
(4) thanks from:
04-07-2012, 13:09   #4
Varied
Closed Account

Thanks lads, id love to go to place that done a measure up like they do with suits so they fit perfectly, any of those places do it?
04-07-2012, 13:18   #5
Easy Rod

I only really shop in TK Maxx ( Not for everyone I know, but you can find some gems) and Urban Outfitters (Quite expensive but they have very good sales occasionally).

I just dislike the idea of wearing some mass-produced Topman/River Island identikit clothing...but each to their own
04-07-2012, 13:30   #6
awec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varied View Post
Thanks lads, id love to go to place that done a measure up like they do with suits so they fit perfectly, any of those places do it?
For "normal" clothes I'm not sure, I think the likes of House of Fraser have those guys that'll style you up and they'd presumably sort out your sizes but you'd be paying a premium I'd imagine.
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 13:33   #7
Varied
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by awec View Post
For "normal" clothes I'm not sure, I think the likes of House of Fraser have those guys that'll style you up and they'd presumably sort out your sizes but you'd be paying a premium I'd imagine.
Ah ok, I might pop in there and see what the Craic is. I'll report back with any updates.
04-07-2012, 13:35   #8
awec

You might need to book them. Not sure how it works.
04-07-2012, 13:57   #9
Gandalph

I dont know why but I am all about the River Island. Know a couple of girls working in my local one so I tend to like their input on my decisions
04-07-2012, 14:11   #10
Dravokivich

Dunnes / Pennys. I'm cheap
04-07-2012, 14:52   #11
Hardonraging
I'll make it Fit !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dravokivich View Post
Dunnes / Pennys. I'm cheap
Penny's have decent stuff sometimes, dunnes also, altho i find there stuff seems to wash weirdly, and go completely out of shape ..
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 14:57   #12
Dravokivich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardonraging View Post
Penny's have decent stuff sometimes, dunnes also, altho i find there stuff seems to wash weirdly, and go completely out of shape ..
It's alright as long as I'm out of shape.

But yeah, they can have good stuff alright, sometimes it's hard to not be overwhelmed by Pennys trying to be designer-esque though. Dam some of their stuff can be blindingly bright.
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 14:59   #13
Hardonraging
I'll make it Fit !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dravokivich View Post
It's alright as long as I'm out of shape.

But yeah, they can have good stuff alright, sometimes it's hard to not be overwhelmed by Pennys trying to be designer-esque though. Dam some of their stuff can be blindingly bright.

You're not out of shape iirc ...

Yea.... picked up two yellow t-shirts in pennies a few weeks back when it was sunny out ... bad mistake ..
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 16:13   #14
BDJW

In general i'd buy my clothes from:
- Next
- Tommy Hilfiger
- Hollister
- Marks & Sparks
Thanks from:
04-07-2012, 17:54   #15
D'Agger

- Next (Jeans, Jocks & the odd tee)
- Topman (Mainly tees)
- H&M (Plain tees & shirts, jeans too)
- Pull & Bear (Hoodys - love them)
- Urban Outfitters (Penguin tees, limited selection in Cork )

After that Pennys & Dunnes for plain tees, shorts etc.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion