Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

30-05-2012, 23:21   #1
Oasis678

Scangers Stealing Iphones in Dublin City Centre

Hi Guys Just want to give ye the heads up in case there is anyone that isnt aware of it.
My wife got her iphone robbed this evening on Gardiner Street. While she was talking on it a scanger came up behind her took the phone and ran off.
Annoyingly she saw this happening someone else a few weeks ago except the guy that took it was on a bike.
Probably not a good idea to be on your iphone in the city centre these days.
Thanks from:
30-05-2012, 23:24   #2
skimpydoo
Skimpydoo

That happened to me before. The best way to stop this is by using your headset and having your phone hidden. I hope she was insured.
30-05-2012, 23:28   #3
Oasis678

She was insured and thankfully was not hurt which is the main thing. Still real annoying though.
30-05-2012, 23:36   #4
bryaner

And I hope you have it IMEI blocked now to stop the dirty rotten ********************************************** from getting any gains, hope the wife is ok..
30-05-2012, 23:52   #5
Oasis678

yeah blocked it straight away shes grand just annoyed at herself for getting caught out when she could have prevented it. she loved that iphone more than she loves me
31-05-2012, 12:43   #6
Blazer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oasis678 View Post
yeah blocked it straight away shes grand just annoyed at herself for getting caught out when she could have prevented it. she loved that iphone more than she loves me
must be the vibrate function
31-05-2012, 13:38   #7
Savman

Any joy with the 'Find my iPhone' tool?
31-05-2012, 13:43   #8
spoonface

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oasis678 View Post
Hi Guys Just want to give ye the heads up in case there is anyone that isnt aware of it.
My wife got her iphone robbed this evening on Gardiner Street. While she was talking on it a scanger came up behind her took the phone and ran off.
Annoyingly she saw this happening someone else a few weeks ago except the guy that took it was on a bike.
Probably not a good idea to be on your iphone in the city centre these days.
We caught a guy lately around Capel st who had grabbed and ran with one of those white iphones. And then a couple of weeks later I saw a guy on a bike cycling along slowly on the pavement behind a girl on her phone who didnt even see what was about to happen. Luckily for her, he changed his mind last minute and she never even knew.

So yeah I totally agree, don't walk down the street with your mobile on your ear or trouble may find you.

I think they're targetting women in particular, from these 3 cases.
31-05-2012, 15:50   #9
fjk49er

My brother had his robbed at one of the Luas stops. He had his earphone in so when they grabbed it, it snagged and he was able to catch the guy with his two hands. The thief was yelling at him to let him go but he said he wouldn't until he got his phone back. My brother is well built so had him caught until an accomplice came up behind him and stabbed in the shoulder from behind. He felt the blood and quickly realised it wasn't worth the risk so released the guy, and they both absconded. Thankfully, he wasn't seriously injured but easily could have been.
31-05-2012, 17:48   #10
Oasis678

thanks for the replies guys

I think you're right blazer
Unfortunately she didnt have the findmyiphone tool. I will put it on her new one when she gets one.
Bad news is insurance wont cover her because she never updated the imei when she got the iphone 4.

fjk49er sorry to hear that, thats terrible what happened your brother.
After hearing that Im relieved that my wife just let the guy go. At the end of the day a phone can be replaced.

Dont know is it just me being paranoid or is the city centre getting a lot rougher these days?
31-05-2012, 17:54   #11
Arciphel

My wife had hers snatched out of her hand at the bus stop on Suffolk Street (opposite Avoca there) and some absolute legend of a guy chased after the guy who stole it and brought it back to her. Kind of strange to have your faith in humanity shaken and then restored again inside 60 seconds... I reckon if the guards put more heat on the shops buying these robbed phones, like they should be doing with all the gold shops, the robberies would probably subside a bit. Incidentally, I walked from O'Connell St to Smithfield this afternoon and the amount of scumbags and hapless junkies I saw floating around was absolutely incredible - but I suppose that's for another thread!
Thanks from:
31-05-2012, 22:37   #12
The Mad Hatter

Mine was stolen too, while I was on the commuter train from Maynooth to Dublin. The kid who took it (he couldn't have been more than 15) stood behind me as the train pulled into (surprise, surprise) Broombridge, then when the doors opened he grabbed it and ran.

I'd suggest using hands-free wherever possible and keeping your phone in your pocket, especially in stations and on the street.
31-05-2012, 22:48   #13
spoonface

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arciphel View Post
My wife had hers snatched out of her hand at the bus stop on Suffolk Street (opposite Avoca there) and some absolute legend of a guy chased after the guy who stole it and brought it back to her. Kind of strange to have your faith in humanity shaken and then restored again inside 60 seconds... I reckon if the guards put more heat on the shops buying these robbed phones, like they should be doing with all the gold shops, the robberies would probably subside a bit. Incidentally, I walked from O'Connell St to Smithfield this afternoon and the amount of scumbags and hapless junkies I saw floating around was absolutely incredible - but I suppose that's for another thread!
It's just possible I was that guy. It's over 5 years ago now but while coming to Suffolk St I heard a commotion and saw a guy run off and a girl run after him, so I chased the 2 of them and passed her out and eventually caught up with the guy at the old bank on college green ; I didn't even have to say anything to him to get it back, he was knackered out after the chase (I run for sport so it didn't bother me) and just handed it to me and said "Here take it, I'm wrecked". There's a lot of chancers out there and where possible they needed to be challenged so they know they'll end up with a criminal record for stealing.
01-06-2012, 10:13   #14
kaizersoze

I'm not having a go at any of the above posters who had their phones robbed by scumbags. It's a terrible thing to happen but people really need to be more careful and aware when out n about.
I see it everyday. People walking along chatting away on their phones or with headphones in and music blaring, completely oblivious and unaware of who or what is going on around them. They appear to be in a world of their own.

It's a sad state of affairs but we really need to be more careful.
01-06-2012, 10:51   #15
biko
Percolator

Been going on a while http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/g...rs-499594.html

The cowards that do this pretty much only target women and then they sell the phone off to phone shops that don't care that they fence stolen goods.
I think they get a couple hundred for each phone and the shop sells it on for +300 or more.

More threads
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2056557884
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2056228599

They also use ebay/donedeal etc to sell the phones.

Maybe a two pronged attack on these thieves would work, firstly crack down on these shops and secondly have bait phones with small colour bombs on them that you can set off remotely.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion