Replacing 64gb ssd with > 100gb - uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-05-2012, 16:33   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 661
Replacing 64gb ssd with > 100gb

Im going to buy a Crucial M4 100gb or greater Im just wondering what steps to do with my current SSD as my operating system is on it.

Could I install a fresh copy of windows onto it and then port over my current windows via a backup ?

Also I have 2 HDD running in raid 1 what steps do I have to do to add them to a fresh operating system ?

stylie is offline  
20-05-2012, 12:15   #2
Registered User
Monotype's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Krakatoa
Posts: 6,514
You could just clone your existing setup directly over to the new drive, since it's SSD->SSD. This is Windows 7, yeah?
A few pieces of software will do this - e.g., clonezilla or acronis (you can get a free version of this on the western digital site).
Monotype is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Remove Text Formatting

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Share Tweet