http://www.ipchicken.com/ - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-12-2002, 17:40   #1
theciscokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 999
http://www.ipchicken.com/

http://www.ipchicken.com/

edit: its shows a diff. ip to my machine ..hmmm suspicious

Last edited by theciscokid; 01-12-2002 at 17:45.
theciscokid is offline  
Advertisement
01-12-2002, 17:45   #2
ecksor
Puppy Shotgun
 
ecksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10,092
Mod: Mustard
Send a message via MSN to ecksor
Uh?
ecksor is offline  
01-12-2002, 17:56   #3
theciscokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 999
does anyone know why one's ip's differ from the actual readings some sites give off?
theciscokid is offline  
01-12-2002, 18:02   #4
ecksor
Puppy Shotgun
 
ecksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10,092
Mod: Mustard
Send a message via MSN to ecksor
You may be configured to use a proxy, or a gateway between you and the Internet at large could be configured to redirect web requests through a proxy, or some sort of NAT could do it, or ... *shrug*

It shows the correct IP for me (the IP of my gateway).
ecksor is offline  
02-12-2002, 12:56   #5
flamegrill
Beardy Mod
 
flamegrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ireland somehwere
Posts: 1,778
Send a message via ICQ to flamegrill
Cisco are you on UTV?

They use a transparent proxy for all web activity, so an ip like 195.x.x.8 may be the ip showing up.

As thats there transparent cache ip, I cant recall it off hand but those are the starting and ending numbers.

hth,

Paul
flamegrill is offline  
Advertisement
02-12-2002, 20:17   #6
theciscokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 999
correctamundo
theciscokid is offline  
02-12-2002, 22:01   #7
flamegrill
Beardy Mod
 
flamegrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ireland somehwere
Posts: 1,778
Send a message via ICQ to flamegrill
proxy ip is 195.218.116.8

for future reference.

its only used for port 80 (http) traffic and nothing else, and there is no way around it that i am aware. I've asked to be taken off it, but was told it was impossible.

No matter

Paul
flamegrill is offline  
02-12-2002, 22:31   #8
ecksor
Puppy Shotgun
 
ecksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10,092
Mod: Mustard
Send a message via MSN to ecksor
Considering that you have ssh access to external servers (I assume), you could set up your own proxy on the internal interface of one of those servers, and use an ssh tunnel to access it. Turning on compression should help to minimise any slowdown.
ecksor is offline  
03-12-2002, 19:57   #9
theciscokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 999
http://www.http-tunnel.com/
theciscokid is offline  
Advertisement
03-12-2002, 20:01   #10
ecksor
Puppy Shotgun
 
ecksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Seattle
Posts: 10,092
Mod: Mustard
Send a message via MSN to ecksor
In your situation, that will tunnel *all* traffic through the proxy, not just web traffic.
ecksor is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet