Gas boiler not igniting - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-10-2005, 19:09   #1
bofarr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Gas boiler not igniting

Hi,
Our gas central heating boiler recently stopped igniting - it sparks but doesn't ignite. I rang Bord Gais and was told to try pressing the reset button - when I informed him that there was no such button, I was told by the dolt that "every boiler in the last 20 years has one", however I can find no sign of one on or inside my bolier.

Anyone got any suggestions that will save me having to call out a service engineer? I'm reluctant to mess around with it too much without a fair idea of what I'm doing.

thanks,
BOF
bofarr01 is offline  
Advertisement
03-10-2005, 23:32   #2
beolight
Registered User
 
beolight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 502
what make is it?

volkera is known to have this problem may need new ignition module fitted or simply take out existing one leave it on stainless steel sink and somehow or another it works when put back in

reset button may involve removing knob and pressing red piece under it
beolight is offline  
03-10-2005, 23:36   #3
stag39
Registered User
 
stag39's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: kilkenny
Posts: 316
mine too....not igniting... its a glowworm ultimate....red reset/thermal trip button is pushed in!!??
stag39 is offline  
04-10-2005, 09:24   #4
garyh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Navan
Posts: 555
Just change the Ignition PCB.
garyh3 is offline  
05-10-2005, 09:52   #5
bofarr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Extra info to my original post: like stag39, my boiler is a Glowworm Ultimate, model 50FF. I've looked on the Glowworm UK site for the manual but no luck.

Garyh3: what does change the ignition PCB mean??
bofarr01 is offline  
Advertisement
05-10-2005, 10:16   #6
garyh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Navan
Posts: 555
The ignition PCB is the Ignition Printed circuit Board.... the ignition brain. We have a Volkera and would not spark as it was new the Volkera engineer came out and said that 90% of the time he just changes the Ignition Printed circuit board. On our Volkera is about the size of a match box.

Changed it and the problem was gone. Took about 5 mins for him.
garyh3 is offline  
05-10-2005, 15:46   #7
bofarr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
OK, I found the manual at http://www.glow-worm.co.uk/epower/gw...mate-50-FF.pdf so I know where the reset button is. Presumably I press that while trying to ignite as normal?? I'll try this tonight.
bofarr01 is offline  
05-10-2005, 16:11   #8
garyh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Navan
Posts: 555
I also did that as the manual suggests but on the Volkera it just on the Knob on the front. The knob says re-set then on. I did that and it worked for a couple of times then it went back to diplaying 01 error on the screen....

Garyh3
garyh3 is offline  
05-10-2005, 17:22   #9
pipers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 176
It always amazes me why people contact the gas company when gas appliances give trouble, do people contact Esso or Statoil when oil fired boilers break down?

I am not a fan of gloworm boilers and i do suspect the PCB is faulty. If you can afford it, replace the boiler with a Pottorton Suprima.

My last contact with a glowworm boiler is as follows.

Its about 18 months old, and PCB is faulty. I suggested to the homeowner that it may be more economical to replace rather than repair. Homeowner insists on a repair (replace PCB). 18 months later same fault, replace PCB.
4 months later the Fan seizes, at that stage the homeowner replaces the boiler.
pipers is offline  
Advertisement
05-10-2005, 21:19   #10
beolight
Registered User
 
beolight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 502
sorry for tardiness in replying

my experience relates directly to volkera but i suspect the glo worm is the same

gary the reset button on the volkera wont solve the problem you need to remove the white cover on the other knob and press the red button in to manually ignite your boiler, i have permanently removed it at this stage

if this doesnt get you up and running, remove ignition pcb board you can locate it in manual leave it on metal counter for a few minutes and then replace it, this will hopefully recharge the board (dont ask me how)

i have done this countless times now

if all else fails contact volkera directly and get them to send a replacement pcb board, try warrranty claim first tell them boiler less than a year old

keep us posted on how you get on
beolight is offline  
06-10-2005, 10:14   #11
garyh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Navan
Posts: 555
like I said it was a new boiler so the Ingnition PCB was changed and have had no problems since.

Garyh3
garyh3 is offline  
14-10-2005, 07:51   #12
stag39
Registered User
 
stag39's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: kilkenny
Posts: 316
for future clean the sparking electrodes....this worked for me...no problemns since...

stag
stag39 is offline  
14-10-2005, 14:58   #13
kiss103
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 50
[QUOTE=pipers]It always amazes me why people contact the gas company when gas appliances give trouble, do people contact Esso or Statoil when oil fired boilers break down?

I work for one of the other majors and the answer is yes, they normally are helped through there problems also , even though the guy that handles these calls has a real job to do also!
kiss103 is offline  
08-01-2010, 16:31   #14
Bebop
Registered User
 
Bebop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 234
[QUOTE=kiss103;3483180][QUOTE=pipers]It always amazes me why people contact the gas company when gas appliances give trouble, do people contact Esso or Statoil when oil fired boilers break down?

Most of the service people in the golden pages seem to be cowboys who are not interested in a small job; in the UK you ring your local Gas board; why not in Ireland?
Bebop is offline  
01-02-2010, 10:58   #15
murser
Registered User
 
murser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
HI would you know where I would get a PCB for a Lamborghini gas boiler. I have tried Dublin Providers and Heat Merchants and neither have any in stock. Need it in a hurry!!
murser is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet