Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-03-2005, 22:08   #1
The tax man
Registered User
 
The tax man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin.
Posts: 3,469
More http://192.168.1.254 woes

I'm another Eircon BB user having trouble accessing this page.
Now I've searched Boards and found many helpfull replies to the same problem that others were having. I've tried about all the advise given and still I can't get that page to show up.
I've pressed the reset button on the modem,(Cayman 3347w)I've downloaded that software fix Eircon gave on their site.(pretty useless seeing that I can't open the page to install the fix ).
Did the ipconfig,came up fine with the correct IP.
I can ping the router fine.
I've messed around with all the settings on IE6.I even put in all the IP addresses,gateways,dns etc... manually still no joy.
Someone else here having the same problems reinstalled windows and it worked,so I bit the bullet and spent most of the evening reinstalling my complete system and the FÚCKIN' page still won't load for me.
Anything thing else I do on the net works 100%.
Some details for you:
Address type Assigned by DHCP
IP address 192.168.1.x
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
default gateway 192.168.1.254
DHCP server 192.168.1.254
DNS server 192.168.1.254
The above is from the details tab of my connection.
I've no spyware or similar stuff on my pc(fresh reinstall)
Does anyone out there have anymore ideas to solve my problem??

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Last edited by The tax man; 24-03-2005 at 22:55.
The tax man is offline  
Advertisement
24-03-2005, 23:20   #2
causal
Registered User
 
causal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NullPointerException Location: NullPointerException Posts: 0,000
Posts: 1,183
Can you just clarify what the problem your having is:
Are you saying that everything works fine with your interent connection (web browsing, email, messagin, whatever) - but the problem is you can't access the web interface to your eircom modem?

causal
causal is offline  
24-03-2005, 23:38   #3
dingding
Registered User
 
dingding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sligo
Posts: 3,455
You may have disabled web access. You could telnet into it

Start
Run
Telnet 192.168.1.254

configure

servers

web-http

web-http 80

(This should turn on the web access)


dingding is offline  
25-03-2005, 10:52   #4
JoyPad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingding
You may have disabled web access.
That shouldn't be the case. He said he reset the modem to factory settings, and the webserver is running on port 80 by default.
However, the telnet test is definitely worth trying.

Cheers,
JP
JoyPad is offline  
25-03-2005, 11:01   #5
Chalk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3,223
wired or wireless connection?

try the wired option if using wireless
Chalk is offline  
Advertisement
25-03-2005, 15:50   #6
The tax man
Registered User
 
The tax man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin.
Posts: 3,469
Wired connection at the moment.
I didn't reinstall my wireless card yet,just in case.
casual>> yeah everything thing to do with online is working fine.
Its just that damn netopia page that won't work. I want to change a few settings for torrents etc.
I'd had a go at that telnet thing last night.Didn't really understand it too much. I typed help and it gave me some options. Don't know what I should have done to see if it saw or talked to the modem but it failed and said something to do with port 23???

ding ding>>> Just tried your way of the telnet thing.
All goes fine till I type in web-http 80
it comes up with error; invalid command 80.
(tried 80 on its own,tried with no space between http+80)
I tried telnet from a dos window and went blindly through some of the options and I mainly got not connected as the reply.
This has me stumped TBH.
Thanks for those replies folks,any more tips throw them this way.
The tax man is offline  
25-03-2005, 16:23   #7
causal
Registered User
 
causal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NullPointerException Location: NullPointerException Posts: 0,000
Posts: 1,183
Port 23 is the port that telnet uses, port 80 is for http (web).

It seems most likely that the problem lies with your modem:
- maybe it's disallowing LAN side remote access (but if you reset it this presumably isn't the factory setting)
- or maybe there's a hardware failure in the modem.

Did you power-cycle the modem - switch it off, unplug it from the mains supply and leave it for a few minutes. Do the same for all your equipement - PC, any router switch. Then switch on your network stuff (modem, router.switch) - when it's good and ready - then boot up your PC.

What firewall software are you running? zonealarm, XP firewall?
Are you using a router of any kind - actually what way is your network physically wired: phone - dsl splitter - modem - PC ?

causal
causal is offline  
25-03-2005, 16:34   #8
The tax man
Registered User
 
The tax man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin.
Posts: 3,469
I've no firewalls on the pc at the moment.
As for the wiring phone socket>>dsl splitter>>>modem>>>pc(via yellow cable).
I'll try powering it all off for a while and see what happens.
I think it's time to give Eircon a ring. 33c a minute robbin' @$%&s
The tax man is offline  
25-03-2005, 16:39   #9
causal
Registered User
 
causal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NullPointerException Location: NullPointerException Posts: 0,000
Posts: 1,183
eircom recently sent a mailshot about their new online support - it might be worth a shot to save € on the phone bill. But I've never used it so it may be great or, eh, or it may not be great.

causal
causal is offline  
Advertisement
25-03-2005, 17:42   #10
The tax man
Registered User
 
The tax man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin.
Posts: 3,469

Well after nearly a week of pulling my hair out over this and it all sorted itself out by....wait for it.....unplugging the modem for a few mins. FFS
(never unplugged the mains for the modem,just switched it off/on as needed)
To all I thank you for your advice.
To Casual thanks for the advice and the highly technical advice about unplugging things .


Cheers, TTM
The tax man is offline  
25-03-2005, 18:02   #11
causal
Registered User
 
causal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NullPointerException Location: NullPointerException Posts: 0,000
Posts: 1,183
Great. Glad it's sorted. Enjoy the Easter weekend
causal is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet