Your booze limit

• 03-04-2015 11:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭

What's your booze limit?

With wine, I can only really have one bottle; it used to be two but now I'm getting older, I can't tolerate it anymore and I get tired.
    If it's lager or cider, I can drink five cans and I'm full. Same with pints.
    What about you?

Are you a bottomless pit when it comes to booze or are you p*ssed after two glasses of sherry?
    Or do you just get tired/emotional?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

A dozen pints is the tipping point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jazzdude18

ewww cider, I drank that and it gives me no happy feeling. its just a drunk all over the place, come on. apples are great, but cider? come on youtube.com/watch?v=HApMhqwaI10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I used skull back 10 pints and the like, now I'd cradle 2 or 3 drinks for the night. Prefer it that way. I enjoy the taste of drink and can get into a good zone fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

If I'm drinking beer or cider, I reach a point after about five or six where I just feel too 'full' to drink anymore. It's annoying because I wouldn't even be that drunk after that many. I can tolerate about a naggin and a half of well diluted vodka. I simply can't tolerate shots of tequila. Immediate vom anytime I've done them. Sambuca or Jagerbombs don't have much of an effect on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Tonight, it's two cans. Mainly as we have some right throwback licencing laws. And I forgot about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I used skull back 10 pints and the like, now I'd cradle 2 or 3 drinks for the night. Prefer it that way. I enjoy the taste of drink and can get into a good zone fairly quick.

Aye, pretty much the same as myself, I never really count the drinks, but it depends upon my mood whether I want to just get merry and let my hair down for a bit, or just mellow out. Merry would usually mean a few pints and a chat, mellow would be spirits and solitude.

I could never drink wine, any time I so much as take even a sip, it's just horrible tasting and dry, and cider? Rip the stomach out of ya, violent throwing up and I wouldn't even be finished a longneck. Bulmers is vicious for it, but bourbon on the other hand - could drink it all night. That, and Baileys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Varies depending on form. Last weekend stopped at 8 pints, some nights might nurse 2-3. Average would be about 5. Even then i notice it for most of the next day. 10 years ago I could do the 8 pints, plus vodkas and red bull/coke no problem, try that now and i would be dieing the next day, and the second day possibly written off as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've cut down a bit recently.

Apparently you only have a drink problem if you sup more than your doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I try to take it easy. There's better things in life than alcohol.

Just that alcohol kinda compensates for not having them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 jamesoneill

5-6 pints 2 nights a week

Was hospitalised more than once and spent time in treatment centre in my younger days

Stubbornly rejected AA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Depends,can go on an all day session including night club or sometimes 6 or 7 pints will have me heading home.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I couldn't tell you an amount off hand, but I know when I've enough. Generally it's when I go quiet. Then it's time for bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I'd say around 12 pints, more than that and it's a very thin line between being drunk and barely able to function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

It usually depends on how I'm feeling on a particular day.

There's times when I could have a rake of drink, be drunk (not messy) and other times I could have 4-5 pints and I'd be away home for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

8 to 16 pints depending on time of day, food taken in, water aboard. Sometimes I surprise myself with what I can or can't take in a session.

I hardly ever drink, the cost/benefit analysis is clearly in favour of avoidance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

5-6 pints 2 nights a week

Was hospitalised more than once and spent time in treatment centre in my younger days

Stubbornly rejected AA

No going off the deep end again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The limit is directly linked to the money in wallet index.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭AndThatsAFact

Skies the limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Candie wrote: »
    I hardly ever drink, the cost/benefit analysis is clearly in favour of avoidance.

Usually anything that's fun has a horrendous cost/benefit analysis.

But your 100% right it's a ****ing waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 jamesoneill

No going off the deep end again?

Never say never again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

That's the nature of it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Back when I was 19-22 I used to put away a 70cl of vodka and then some beers after. Well and truly trashed at that stage. Yeah. Had a bit of an issue with drink. But anyway nipped it in the bud pulled back on drink giving up spirits and now I drink 5 or 6 beers on the session! That said generally the beers are of the crafty kind and mostly over 5%. Very happy now with my relationship with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Depends on the drink. Used to drink Beer, Cider, Stout and Wine most of my life and to be honest I couldnt really handle it.. Random blackouts and messiness were a common theme. Moved on on to Gin and Tonic about a year ago (exclusively) and I can drink doubles all night and be fine and suffer very little hangover the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I never acquired a taste for alcohol, or a fondness for its effects, thankfully. After two pints of anything, I just feel 'full'. I don't think I've ever really been properly drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

If it's at a gaff party I'd put away 20 bottles and whatever else I can get my hands on

Down the pub 4 pitchers would be my limit, that's about 16 pints

I tend to stay away from spirits, drink them too fast and get way too fúcked up too fast. They also don't mix too well with other.. ahem..recreational substances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Mostly drink spirits so a full bottle of cheap vodka would be standard enough practice plus numerous shots after. If I had to go pub drinking anywhere from 10-16 or so. Not a one for pint drinking for long periods though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

Yeah I think about 16 pints is roughly a standard night out.
    Sounds like a lot really saying I had 16 pints but it's not really considering the time frame. A pint every 30 mins or so on average I'd say would be the norm for a lot of young lads anyway.
    Monday to Thursday I wouldn't have a drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

After about 10 Bourbons I'm quite happy to go asleep.....like right now!

Pints are fine but boy do I get a Hang over!! Rarely have a hangover from Bourbon or Rum thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

RayM wrote: »
    I never acquired a taste for alcohol, or a fondness for its effects, thankfully. After two pints of anything, I just feel 'full'. I don't think I've ever really been properly drunk.

Sorry but anything?? You have two pints of all pintable drinks? No you haven't and I don't get this I've never acquired a taste for alcohol!! What drinks were you having, everything isn't pints you know!! Holier than thou attitude right there!!