Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
04-12-2013, 15:26   #1
Zuzi
Registered User
 
Zuzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Best broadband in Herons wood, Carrigaline

Hi all guys,
I'm moving in Herons wood, Carrigaline.
I'm struggling to find a good broadband offer for the area.
At the moment I'm in Blackrock, and I've UPC which is great.
Can anyone help me to find which is the best provider in Herons Wood, Carrigaline?
thanks a lot!!!
Zuzi is offline  
Advertisement
07-12-2013, 17:23   #2
kaerobe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuzi View Post
Hi all guys,
I'm moving in Herons wood, Carrigaline.
I'm struggling to find a good broadband offer for the area.
At the moment I'm in Blackrock, and I've UPC which is great.
Can anyone help me to find which is the best provider in Herons Wood, Carrigaline?
thanks a lot!!!
If your house in Herons Woods has been enabled for efibre, Id go with that.
kaerobe is offline  
07-12-2013, 20:40   #3
mikeym
Registered User
 
mikeym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cork
Posts: 1,322
FYI Theres no UPC broadband in Carrigaline.
mikeym is offline  
03-01-2014, 11:24   #4
gemini_girl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 227
Hi ya,
I'm in Herons wood & we have vodafone fibre broadband & are getting 67mbs. Set rate of 37 euro a month including 100 free minutes for phonecalls
gemini_girl is offline  
Thanks from:
03-01-2014, 12:50   #5
Zuzi
Registered User
 
Zuzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Hi thank you!
I've signed for Vodafone as well.
Zuzi is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
07-01-2014, 23:13   #6
dhaumi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oran...mmmm...more
Posts: 111
Hi,

I am moving to that same estate, so I am going to make the same decision. When I look online on bonkers.ie it shows UPC as a possible provider for carrigaline.
I was wondering if this is a new thing or if UPC does broadband via phone line?
dhaumi is offline  
08-01-2014, 01:42   #7
SpaceTime
Registered User
 
SpaceTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,002
There were a few older areas of Carrigaline that were cabled way back in the Cork Multichannel era, but I have no idea if there's broadband on that system or if it's even maintained anymore, or if it's just getting an MMDS feed.

It definitely included Glenwood and possibly Wesley and parts of Waterpark.

UPC really should cable some of these areas though. It's a bit ridiculous to leave them off grid.

They just used MMDS all over the place in the 1990s when they should have put cable into housing estates.

eircom's e-fibre (and all the versions from Vodafone, Digiweb, UTV, Magnet etc) are available throughout Carrigaline though.

It is available in Glanmire, Riverstown, Ballincollig, and possibly a few other spots not in Cork City itself.

Last edited by SpaceTime; 08-01-2014 at 01:51.
SpaceTime is offline  
Thanks from:
08-01-2014, 08:45   #8
gemini_girl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 227
We rang upc recently to see if things had changed & basically we were told there are no cables to service carrigaline :-(
gemini_girl is offline  
(2) thanks from:
08-01-2014, 13:23   #9
Zuzi
Registered User
 
Zuzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhaumi View Post
Hi,

I am moving to that same estate, so I am going to make the same decision. When I look online on bonkers.ie it shows UPC as a possible provider for carrigaline.
I was wondering if this is a new thing or if UPC does broadband via phone line?
Hi there, happend the same to me, but infact when I called the UPC they said there is no coverage for internet here, only TV.

And one more thing don't believe to SKY they are a slower internet connection here, I've got the vodafone now I've just done a speed test: download is nearly 18mbps.

Anyway how are you getting in here? We've just moved and I love the place.
Zuzi is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Advertisement
08-01-2014, 20:17   #10
SpaceTime
Registered User
 
SpaceTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,002
If you're in Carrigaline go for a fibre-to-cabinet based service!

Eircom EFibre
Vodafone Fibre
UTV Fibre
Magnet Fibre
Digiweb Fibre

All essentially the same access product.

You'll get up to 70mbit/s at present (depending on how far you are from the cabinet) and speeds will increase to around 100mbit/s (max) when a technology called vectoring is rolled out.

Those services should be available to most lines in Carrigaline as the whole town was upgraded.
SpaceTime is offline  
(2) thanks from:
09-01-2014, 23:26   #11
dhaumi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oran...mmmm...more
Posts: 111
Thanks for your answers. I tried the check availability when you proceed with UPC online. Definite discard the broadband option...
I'm with UTV at the moment. Fairly happy with them. I will probably transfer t account.
Zuzi
I'm surprised you're "only" getting 18mbps out of the theoretical up to 70Mbps speed promised by the fibre.
You might be in the "up to 24mbps", ie DSL 2, at least I hope.
I would be fine with 18mbps though!

Wait and see, I haven't moved in yet. Of all places un Ireland, it was lucky to find that thread!
dhaumi is offline  
Thanks from:
10-01-2014, 06:05   #12
Zuzi
Registered User
 
Zuzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Yes I think depends on the area, a friend of mine, living in Curra na carrigh, the estate just before our, is getting 40mbps checking the speed with vodafone...
I guess so, I'm not a technical person
Zuzi is offline  
10-01-2014, 08:46   #13
dhaumi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oran...mmmm...more
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuzi View Post
Yes I think depends on the area, a friend of mine, living in Curra na carrigh, the estate just before our, is getting 40mbps checking the speed with vodafone...
I guess so, I'm not a technical person
Interesting. Curra na carrigh is only 1km away from our estate but closer to Cork.
I will be moving to Ridgewood, so further away from the main road...
Will see
dhaumi is offline  
10-01-2014, 11:40   #14
SpaceTime
Registered User
 
SpaceTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,002
Your location in the town won't actually impact your e-fibre speed as the service doesn't come from the exchange.

What eircom are using is known as FTTC (fibre to the cabinet). Basically, there's a green coloured cabinet sitting on the street which contains the equipment your phone line's connecting to for broadband. That's connected back to the exchange with a number of fibre optic cables.

You then connect to the cabinet using a very high speed version of DSL called VDSL2.

The distance between you and the cabinet is what matters as the technology being used over the phone lines is very distance sensitive. If the cabinet's extremely near by, you'll get close to 70mbit/s (and beyond when vectoring gets switched on this year).

If you're further away it drops back to maybe more like 40-50 mbit/s

There's a crowd-sourced map on boards.ie's broadband forum

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2056919149

Check it out and you'll be able to figure out the exact locations of the cabinets in Carrigaline and then decide where you want to rent/buy, if broadband speed is a deciding factor.

The only thing I would warn though is the wiring doesn't always take the most direct route back to the cabinet. So, even if it's near by, you might find the wires don't run the way you'd expect and could be much longer / shorter than you'd think!

It looks like there are two cabinets in Herron's Wood area, so I'd be surprised if you didn't get good speeds.

I'm not sure how accurate that map is either, so just look out for the cabinets (There's a pic of them on the link above) and they're all exactly the same. So, you'd be looking for a smallish green cabinet with some distinctive features.

Bear in mind that the rollout's still ongoing, so even in areas that are marked as 'complete' they are continuing to add new cabinets and also 'vectoring' is being switched on which will see speed increases across the board. This is a noise-cancelling technology that allows them to squeeze more bandwidth out of the copper phone lines from the cabinet to your house. Giving you speeds of more like 100mbit/s or so.

Last edited by SpaceTime; 10-01-2014 at 11:48.
SpaceTime is offline  
Thanks from:
11-01-2014, 10:24   #15
Zuzi
Registered User
 
Zuzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Oh thank you for your explanation.

In fact Vodafone said that my area could get maximum 40mbit/s....
Zuzi is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet