Mux 2 Launched / Saorview Rescan Required - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
21-10-2013, 07:50   #1
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,547
Mux 2 Launched / Saorview Rescan Required

Brian Geraghty on Morning Ireland discussing this now, all Saorview boxes will require a retune in the coming weeks for RTÉ1 HD which he said will be coming in the new year.

http://www.rte.ie/news/morningirelan...8134,flash,232

Quote:
SAORVIEW RE-SCAN OCT 21ST 2013

Due to technical enhancements to the SAORVIEW service, as part of the ongoing process of expanding the platform, viewers are required to carry out a rescan of their SAORVIEW television or set-top box from Monday 21st October. Failure to re-scan will result in eventual loss of service.

Re-tuning is simple, go to the menu on your tv or set top box and find the option to re-tune, scan or search for channels.

Instructions will be found in your TV or set-top box manual or for more information about how to re-tune, click on our
Guide to Re-Scanning SAORVIEW APPROVED Equipment.

There is also an information helpline available, call 1890 222 012

http://www.saorview.ie/news/saorview...oct-21st-2013/
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/consu...vice-1.1568163
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakin...ce-610757.html
http://www.newstalk.ie/reader/47.301/15698/0/
http://www.tv3.ie/entertainment_arti...article=116606

Last edited by The Cush; 21-10-2013 at 15:55.
The Cush is offline  
Advertisement
21-10-2013, 08:38   #2
marclt
Moderator
 
marclt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Across the pond..
Posts: 704
Changes have already happened/happening from Mt L. A retune shows RTE one and RTEjr/one+1 is in the second multiplex
marclt is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:45   #3
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,547
Saorview Multiplexes this morning

Multiplex 1
LCN
Channel
 
11no channel name (RTÉ 1 simulcast)SD
02RTÉ TwoHD
03TV3SD
04TG4SD
053eSD
06RTÉ News NowSD
17no channel name (RTÉjr simulcast)SD
18no channel name (RTÉ1 +1 simulcast)SD
200RTÉ Radio 1 
201RTÉ Radio 1 Extra 
202RTÉ 2FM 
203RTÉ Lyric FM 
204RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta 
205RTÉ Pulse 
206RTÉ 2XM 
207(not used**) 
208RTÉ Gold 
209RTÉ Junior/RTÉ Chill 
** previously RTÉ Choice

Multiplex 2
LCN
Channel
 
01RTÉ OneHD
12(no channel name***)HD
13(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Lyric FM audio
14(no channel name***)HD
15(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
16(not used) 
07RTÉjr*SD
08RTÉ One +1*SD
211-212(no radio channel names)no audio
213(no radio channel name)RTÉ Lyric FM audio
214(no radio channel name)RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
215-217(no radio channel names)no audio
218-219(no radio channel name)RTÉ Gold audio
220(no radio channel name)no audio

***No HD testcards on LCNs 12 and 14 this morning
* RTÉjr 0700-1845 approx / RTÉ One +1 1900-0100/0200 approx. Not timesharing on Mux2, static on-air caption on RTÉ1 +1 "This channel is currently off air"

Last edited by The Cush; 21-10-2013 at 08:55.
The Cush is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:53   #4
channelsurfer2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
Saorview Multiplexes this morning

Multiplex 1

LCN
Channel
 
11no channel name (RTÉ 1 simulcast)SD
02RTÉ TwoHD
03TV3SD
04TG4SD
053eSD
06RTÉ News NowSD
17no channel name (RTÉjr simulcast)SD
18no channel name (RTÉ1 +1 simulcast)SD
200RTÉ Radio 1 
201RTÉ Radio 1 Extra 
202RTÉ 2FM 
203RTÉ Lyric FM 
204RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta 
205RTÉ Pulse 
206RTÉ 2XM 
207(not used**) 
208RTÉ Gold 
209RTÉ Junior/RTÉ Chill 
** previously RTÉ Choice

Multiplex 2

LCN
Channel
 
01RTÉ OneHD
12(no channel name***)HD
13(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Lyric FM audio
14(no channel name***)HD
15(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
16(not used) 
07RTÉjr*SD
08RTÉ One +1*SD
211-212(no radio channel names)no audio
213(no radio channel name)RTÉ Lyric FM audio
214(no radio channel name)RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
215-217(no radio channel names)no audio
218-219(no radio channel name)RTÉ Gold audio
220(no radio channel name)no audio
* RTÉjr 0700-1845 approx / RTÉ One +1 1900-0100/0200 approx
***No HD testcards on LCNs 12 and 14 this morning
is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?
channelsurfer2 is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:56   #5
irishfreeview
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by channelsurfer2 View Post
is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?
Its either upscaled or HD, vast improvement on the SD channel which is still broadcasting.
irishfreeview is offline  
Advertisement
21-10-2013, 08:57   #6
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by channelsurfer2 View Post
is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?
Upscaled HD 1440x1080i, same as RTÉ2.
The Cush is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:57   #7
channelsurfer2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,316
and more importantly is the DOG back? lol
channelsurfer2 is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:58   #8
formerly scottish paddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishfreeview View Post
vast improvement on the SD channel which is still broadcasting.
Yes indeed!!
formerly scottish paddy is offline  
Thanks from:
21-10-2013, 09:00   #9
Elmo
Registered User
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 17,087
Where are we living? On the day of the re-tune they announce the re-tune?

In relation to the few channels available there are a number of Irish services that could have launched on Soarview had they been given some support and appeared on other platforms. IMO at least 15 new services. Even for a small country Soarview is bad IMO.

In relation to my figures I quickly said to myself that RTÉ TV had 6 out 9 SD spaces, TV3 had 2 and TG4 had 1 and I divided by 9 to give me the figures I got for the example. Either way any spare capacity is paid for by the broadcasters and 2RN are paid in full for Mux 1 and 2, which was the real point.

Last edited by Elmo; 21-10-2013 at 09:04.
Elmo is offline  
Advertisement
21-10-2013, 09:08   #10
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by channelsurfer2 View Post
and more importantly is the DOG back?
No DOG on display on Morning Edition.
The Cush is offline  
21-10-2013, 09:12   #11
Elmo
Registered User
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 17,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
No DOG on display on Morning Edition.
News programming never has a DOG/BUG on RTÉ, except Prime Time but I think that is because its Current Affairs!
Elmo is offline  
Thanks from:
21-10-2013, 09:17   #12
RonanAnthony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
Don't see the point. One in HD. I New there wundt be much on offer
RonanAnthony is offline  
21-10-2013, 09:17   #13
mickeyboymel
Registered User
 
mickeyboymel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mullingar
Posts: 771
Send a message via MSN to mickeyboymel Send a message via Skype™ to mickeyboymel
Notice the New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?
mickeyboymel is offline  
Thanks from:
21-10-2013, 09:21   #14
Elmo
Registered User
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 17,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonanAnthony View Post
Don't see the point. One in HD. I New there wundt be much on offer
Ah now that's not quite fair we got a.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyboymel View Post
.... New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?
Elmo is offline  
21-10-2013, 09:31   #15
irishfreeview
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyboymel View Post
Notice the New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?
I wonder why they cant actually broadcast RTE+1 24 hours now that they have the space?
irishfreeview is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet