Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

02-05-2013, 20:44   #1
glicster

Fix for airy draw on kanger protank

hi guys,im new to vaping and from reading some threads here and youtube reviews the protank seemd to be what my first upgrade was to be.
i ordered one and a twist battery and they arrived Tuesday mornin.

the airy draw,lack of flavour and tinny taste burst my bubble straight away.so i looked around the web to see what others were doing to rectify this and nothing came up but blocking holes and rewicking.blocking holes i could do but rewicking,i havent got to that road just yet.

i spent the last two days overdosing on nic trying to sort it out but nothing i tryed worked.just tonight after reading somewhere i boiled it clean to try to get rid of the tinny taste but it didnt work. after cleaning and with no coil or bottom screwed on i sucked through the empty tank and got the tinny taste so i figured it was the steel tube inside the tank that was producing the taste i was getting,so i set to work...

i have some shrink tubeing i use for small electrical jobs and thought id try find some way to use this inside the steel tube to see what happened.

i cut a piece the same lenght of the tube and shrunk it onto the post over the coil and then shrunk the rest of it so it would fit up into the tube.
after doing this and putting the rig back into the protank there was no clearance for it to fit with the extra thickness of the shrink tubeing so i had to take it off,screw in the base/coil assembly and then insert the tube through the mouthpiece.

not one for blowing my own trumpet but the airy draw is now gone,the flood of flavour im getting is moreish and more so the tinny taste is gone.

hope yous followed that guys,heres some pics....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-05-02 19.20.14.jpg (1.12 MB, 673 views)
File Type: jpg 2013-05-02 19.21.02.jpg (1,019.2 KB, 637 views)