So, Overclockers ****ed up my OC - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-02-2013, 21:37   #1
Logical Fallacy
Registered User
 
Logical Fallacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Praying for rain...praying for tidal waves.
Posts: 5,869
So, Overclockers ****ed up my OC

Computer arrived today from Overclockers. Went to power it on, got about 10 seconds of power then it shut down. Rang them and they asked us to check it without the GPU (did, same failure) and then remove the CR from the motherboard. We replaced the CR and got about 15 minutes power until it shut down again.

I left it sit, as was worried it might be a heat issue, fired it up and managed to get Core Temp dl'd and running before it shut off again.

Temps were show at 90 with a Tj.Max of 91.

So it's looking like a heat problem.

Tried to reset the defaults in the BIOS, and was getting the temp down to about 70 at times (which is still ****ing nuts for an idle, new build). When I would fire up even a small program like the browser or Steam id see a temp jump close 20 degress back up to 90 again.

Even sitting in the BIOS trying to check settings sees the comp just switch off.

I have no idea what else try before calling them tomorrow and really cant see any other course of action than losing my ****ing **** with them.

Anyone have any advice?
Logical Fallacy is offline  
Advertisement
07-02-2013, 22:23   #2
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: D14
Posts: 13,393
CPU cooler came lose in transit. I'd put money on it.
ED E is offline  
(4) thanks from:
07-02-2013, 22:27   #3
Logical Fallacy
Registered User
 
Logical Fallacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Praying for rain...praying for tidal waves.
Posts: 5,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED E View Post
CPU cooler came lose in transit. I'd put money on it.
Damn, the mount doom is a ****ing animal of a thing, this is gonna get awkward. lol
Logical Fallacy is offline  
07-02-2013, 22:32   #4
Logical Fallacy
Registered User
 
Logical Fallacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Praying for rain...praying for tidal waves.
Posts: 5,869
Holy ****.

Figured the easiest way to check if it was the cooler was to lay the PC on its side, fired it up real quick, ran the damn Core Temp and getting 30's.

Time to open this bitch up.

ED E, thank you, you saved a ****ing horrible day for me dude.
Logical Fallacy is offline  
07-02-2013, 23:01   #5
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: D14
Posts: 13,393
No worries.

This is a big thing with buying prebuilt. Massive CPU coolers and large GPUs arent so good with Mr UPS Worker throwing the box around.

I'd remove it completely and check for any signs of stress or damage on the mobo just in case. You're probably fine but its best to find out now if you're not.
ED E is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
08-02-2013, 13:15   #6
SpannerMonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Co.Clare
Posts: 1,237
just a thought , but why are you doing any of this , feck it back to them and let them sort it out , its not acceptable that you need to do any of this on a new pc
SpannerMonkey is offline  
08-02-2013, 15:36   #7
marco_polo
Moderator
 
marco_polo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin (Clare)
Posts: 9,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpannerMonkey View Post
just a thought , but why are you doing any of this , feck it back to them and let them sort it out , its not acceptable that you need to do any of this on a new pc
In principal I suppose but as it is such a simple job he is probably as well off to sort it out himself TBH, no point being without the PC for a week or two just so they can do exactly what he would get done in a half an hour anyway, and then there risk of it happening in transit all over again when they send it back(Have you seen the size of the cooler).

I would take photos and evidence (keep any emails /call records times etc) all the same just in case any real damage has been done, and give it a very thorough stability test.
marco_polo is offline  
Thanks from:
08-02-2013, 15:51   #8
Patrick 1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Clare
Posts: 152
Definetely keep track of it, similar thing happened to myself transporting the PC, heatsink got loose, but not loose enough to cause shutdowns, just hot enough to stop the processor being able to do anything intensive, drove me up the wall only to discover that the heatsink had got loose.
Patrick 1 is offline  
08-02-2013, 19:18   #9
SpannerMonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Co.Clare
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco_polo View Post
In principal I suppose but as it is such a simple job he is probably as well off to sort it out himself TBH, no point being without the PC for a week or two just so they can do exactly what he would get done in a half an hour anyway, and then there risk of it happening in transit all over again when they send it back(Have you seen the size of the cooler).

I would take photos and evidence (keep any emails /call records times etc) all the same just in case any real damage has been done, and give it a very thorough stability test.
ya i suppose and ya i know the cooler they are big alright i have a similar size (but not as big cooler ) in my pc
SpannerMonkey is offline  
Advertisement
10-02-2013, 22:08   #10
Macker1
Registered User
 
Macker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ballivor, Co Meath
Posts: 1,135
A lot of online PC Builders states that the don't attach large coolers in case of potential damage in transit for this very reason. Hope it works out.

IMO If they shipped it it that manner then they have to stand over it.
Macker1 is offline  
10-02-2013, 23:18   #11
CrinkElite
Banned
 
CrinkElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Galway 11.187 km/s
Posts: 870
I had this happen with my first PC, I ordered prebuilt
the gpu came loose in transit and must have collided with the ram, I had 6 months of random bluescreens until I finally figured out the the ram was bad.
CrinkElite is offline  
13-02-2013, 17:13   #12
Wossack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 5,393
think it might be worthwhile letting Overclockers know about this anyway - even if you're going to sort it yourself. Just if there are further issues down the line, there'll be some record of it not originally working.

Possibly shoot you some free bumf too
Wossack is offline  
10-04-2013, 04:12   #13
tuxy
Registered User
 
tuxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macker1 View Post
A lot of online PC Builders states that the don't attach large coolers in case of potential damage in transit for this very reason. Hope it works out.

IMO If they shipped it it that manner then they have to stand over it.
Yeah agreed shipping with coolers that size is crazy. It's just lucky that no damage was done to the motherboard.
tuxy is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet