Only BBC channels not coming in properly? - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
16-01-2013, 22:35   #1
Buttonftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,597
Only BBC channels not coming in properly?

Got a new TV last week, Samsung Plasma, and connected it up and tuned it. Everything's fine, all the Saorview and Freeview channels except the BBC channels, both radio and TV. On the other TV in the house they're perfect, is there any common issue that could be causing this?
Buttonftw is online now  
Advertisement
16-01-2013, 22:51   #2
STB
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buttonftw View Post
Got a new TV last week, Samsung Plasma, and connected it up and tuned it. Everything's fine, all the Saorview and Freeview channels except the BBC channels, both radio and TV. On the other TV in the house they're perfect, is there any common issue that could be causing this?
You are near the border. My only guess not knowing your cable runs and set up is that the cable run to the room where the Samsung is, is longer which would indicate a degrading of the signal by the time it gets to the Samsung. What do the signal bars say on the samsung for the other Freeview Channels ?
STB is offline  
18-01-2013, 15:34   #3
borderfox11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
I had some problems with 1 tv versus other TVs, one of them was not picking up the HD channels, turned out i had to set the tv to "UK mode" and that did the job, maybe something similar?
borderfox11 is offline  
18-01-2013, 15:52   #4
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
It's likely all the OP's channels (UK anyway) are borderline & the BBC mux. would only have to be slightly worse at this particular tv point to lose it completely.
Peter Rhea is offline  
18-01-2013, 19:26   #5
Buttonftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,597
All the other Freeview channels are perfect, it's just the BBC channels giving guff. On our other TV we could get them even before the DSO. I switched to UK and all it did was change the channel order in the EPG. It's not really me who's worried but as I'm sure you will all understand it's a lot worse when someone who can barely work the remote wont leave ya alone to fix something that's likely unfixable. Still, would be nice to know if another TV would fix the problem.
Buttonftw is online now  
Advertisement
18-01-2013, 23:05   #6
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
Is the aerial feed to the problem tv looped through something with an RF modulator, like a Sky box or VCR?
Peter Rhea is offline  
19-01-2013, 06:25   #7
Buttonftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Rhea View Post
Is the aerial feed to the problem tv looped through something with an RF modulator, like a Sky box or VCR?
No, straight in.
Buttonftw is online now  
19-01-2013, 11:02   #8
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buttonftw View Post
All the other Freeview channels are perfect, it's just the BBC channels giving guff. On our other TV we could get them even before the DSO . . . Still, would be nice to know if another TV would fix the problem.
Highly unlikely the tv is causing the problem.

BBC started full power Freeview transmissions on Oct. 10th (switchover stage 1), 2 weeks before the other channels. Did the other tv have Freeview reception before then, with the low powered transmissions?
Peter Rhea is offline  
20-01-2013, 16:50   #9
Buttonftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Rhea View Post
Highly unlikely the tv is causing the problem.

BBC started full power Freeview transmissions on Oct. 10th (switchover stage 1), 2 weeks before the other channels. Did the other tv have Freeview reception before then, with the low powered transmissions?
Yeah it did.
Buttonftw is online now  
Advertisement
20-01-2013, 19:59   #10
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
It was already asked in post #2, what the signal bars are showing. Maybe list the UHF channels the muxes are on at each tv.

Maybe you have too much amplification in your system, or something. You won't get anything other than speculation on the cause of the problem, with the information so far provided.
Peter Rhea is offline  
21-01-2013, 14:50   #11
The Clone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Hi,
I have a similiar problem to Buttonftw except that my TV isnt new. I have a Sony Bravia which I have about 6 years or so. It has Freeview built in, I live close to the border, and for quite a which I could access UK FTA through that. That access ceased some time prior to the DSO.
I got a Technomate combo box at the time of the DSO which provided UK and Irish channels seamlessly. More than enough for me. However, recently, all the BBC channels, and only the BBC channels, and only for a while, become unavailable. Sometimes I get an error message in the middle of the screen telling me that I have no signal (when I obviously have, if only the message would go away!!) and at other times the signal deteriorates to the point that the signal does actually go altogether.
I may be wrong on this but it seems to happen more often late in the evening, say after 9pm and especially when I trying to watch Match of the Day!. I was watching a programme last week up to 9 and it was fine. At 9 the message appeared and picture became unstable and shortly afterwards it disappeared altogether.
Other UK channels such as ITV, Ch 4, Ch 5 etc are unaffected as are the Irish channels. All BBC (1,2,3,4, CBBC, Parliament, News, red button etc) fail simultaneously. would appreciate any help/guidance. I wonder if a Freesat service would improve things but I dont want to try that in case its no better!
The Clone is offline  
21-01-2013, 15:02   #12
Ronnie Raygun
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,299
Combo box, as generally understood, means a box with a combination of terrestrial & satellite tuners. In ROI, in most cases, they would be used by those who have no UK terrestrial reception & the UK channels would be delivered via satellite, with the Irish via Saorview terrestrial.

Are you only using the terrestrial tuner on yours, or is it also connected to a satellite dish?
Ronnie Raygun is offline  
21-01-2013, 15:37   #13
The Clone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Apologies for my misuse of the term. I have an external TV aerial with no satellite dish. When I used the term I intended to explain that it is accessing both the UK Freeview channels and the Irish Saorview channels with no switching required between them.
The Clone is offline  
21-01-2013, 16:30   #14
Ronnie Raygun
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,299
There's no reason for the BBC services to be particularly affected. Your aerial system in general probably needs attention.

Might be worth posting the UHF channel nos. the various groups of services are being received on, in case you're picking up signals from more than 1 transmitter. Post your location too.
Ronnie Raygun is offline  
Thanks from:
21-01-2013, 16:34   #15
The Clone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks. I will check out the uhf channel nos and post. I live outside Clones, Co Monaghan. When I got the box I had the aerial checked and it worked fine for a while. Maybe it has shifted with the recent high winds.
The Clone is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet