Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-10-2012, 22:50   #1
Bob Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,183
tv star 1020

is it any good?

http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Sao...t-top-box.html

its not saorview approved. does that matter much?
Bob Z is offline  
Advertisement
25-10-2012, 22:58   #2
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Z View Post
http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Sao...t-top-box.html

its not saorview approved. does that matter much?
Works OK with the Saorview channels but no digital text.
The Cush is offline  
25-10-2012, 22:59   #3
AlarmBelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Z View Post
is it any good?

http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Sao...t-top-box.html

its not saorview approved. does that matter much?
you won't get digital text as it says, if that is important to you? Don't know any more sorry
AlarmBelle is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:04   #4
Bob Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,183
i suppose not but will there other features missing in the future? could it go out of date or not pick up new channels?
Bob Z is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:07   #5
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Z View Post
i suppose not but will there other features missing in the future? could it go out of date or not pick up new channels?
Should be OK for new channels but won't work with any future interactive services as they will use the same software as digital text.
The Cush is offline  
Advertisement
25-10-2012, 23:23   #6
AlarmBelle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
Should be OK for new channels but won't work with any future interactive services as they will use the same software as digital text.
is there any possibility it could be updated to have that software?
AlarmBelle is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:25   #7
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Limerick, Mullaghanish Tx
Posts: 8,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlarmBelle View Post
is there any possibility it could be updated to have that software?
Don't think so.
The Cush is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:29   #8
winston_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to winston_1
Why not buy an approved model and have all the facilities and none of the worries?
winston_1 is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:33   #9
Bob Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,183
because i am getting that one a bit cheaper from someone who doesnt need it
Bob Z is offline  
Advertisement
25-10-2012, 23:33   #10
Bob Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,183
will the pricees drop much in a few weeks?
Bob Z is offline  
25-10-2012, 23:54   #11
winston_1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to winston_1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Z View Post
because i am getting that one a bit cheaper from someone who doesnt need it
A bit cheaper and a lot worse. Are you that short of money, an approved model costs around the same as a tank of petrol?
winston_1 is offline  
26-10-2012, 00:12   #12
Bob Z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,183
its smaller too stuck for space but it only has one scart so i cant it up to a dvd recorderand a tv at the same time(my tv doesnt have hdmi)
Bob Z is offline  
26-10-2012, 00:36   #13
seanpjs93
Registered User
 
seanpjs93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cavan
Posts: 56
I have the TV Star 1010, I got it for about €40 in a Supervalu store, it works great, high picture and sound quality. I only got it so I could record on a pvr, I do have a digital tv, but it wasn't capable of accepting a USB. Apart from not being able to the digital text services it's a good box.
seanpjs93 is offline  
Thanks from:
29-10-2012, 20:40   #14
MartyM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Z View Post
is it any good?

http://www.satellite.ie/acatalog/Sao...t-top-box.html

its not saorview approved. does that matter much?
Hi all, my father in-law was sold a TV Star T1020 from an installer/store in County Wicklow for €64. I really don't understand why installers are selling non approved STBs to an unsuspecting public.

Anyway, rant over.

Now that he has the box, I was wondering could he daisy chain it with a Sky+ box (non sub) and receive both Saorview and Free to Air satelite channels?

He has a relatively old Philips TV, no HDMI connection and only one Scart connection. I was thinking he might be able to run a Scart from the T1020 to the VCR Scart on the Sky box and then another Scart from the TV Scart on the Sky box to the TV?

Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
MartyM is offline  
29-10-2012, 22:26   #15
jonnygee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 501
Yes, you can do that.
jonnygee is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet