Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

05-09-2012, 21:18   #31
MrStuffins

Quote:
Originally Posted by therewillbe View Post
Spain.It has 800000 from a single other country who are unemployed.Has anyone any proof of this?
What country?
05-09-2012, 21:27   #32
eth0
Banned

In 20 years time Chinese bastards and robots will be doing 100% of the world's work while we'll all be unemployed
05-09-2012, 21:30   #33
jam_mac_jam

Quote:
Spain.It has 800000 from a single other country who are unemployed.Has anyone any proof of this?
Jesus, What country? how can you have proof when you don't even say what you are on about.
05-09-2012, 21:34   #34

Here's proof that you're wrong: http://www.thejournal.ie/eu-allows-s...99812-Aug2011/

In the first 3 months of 2011, 191,400 Romanians were unemployed in Spain. Unless the other 650,000 got fired over-night, your "neighbour" is talking complete bullshit

Last edited by 28064212; 05-09-2012 at 21:50.
Thanks from:
05-09-2012, 23:25   #35
Calibos

When you add the unemployed Polish Roma, Czech Roma, Slovak Roma, Hungarian Roma, Albanian Roma and Bulgarian Roma in Spain to the 191,000 Romanian Roma, does that add up to 800,000 though?I'd say the OP, his friend and/or you are making the classic mistake of thinking Roma=Romanian, hence him/his friend describing this grouping of people (lets be honest, we were all thinking Roma) as coming from a single country and yet the statistic not backing it up.
Thanks from:
05-09-2012, 23:39   #36
MrStuffins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calibos View Post
When you add the unemployed Polish Roma, Czech Roma, Slovak Roma, Hungarian Roma, Albanian Roma and Bulgarian Roma in Spain to the 191,000 Romanian Roma, does that add up to 800,000 though?I'd say the OP, his friend and/or you are making the classic mistake of thinking Roma=Romanian, hence him/his friend describing this grouping of people (lets be honest, we were all thinking Roma) as coming from a single country and yet the statistic not backing it up.
So what you're saying is............ the OP is ignorant and has no idea what he's on about?
Thanks from:
05-09-2012, 23:49   #37

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calibos View Post
Except there are not 191,000 unemployed Romanian Roma. And the total number of unemployed Roma in Spain would not come anywhere near to 800,000, given that there are less than a million in the country, and that would include children and anyone else who is not part of the labour force.

It would also be pretty stupid to consider foreign Roma, given that the majority of Roma in Spain are in fact Spanish. Flamenco, which is a deeply Spanish tradition, comes from the Roma in Spain
06-09-2012, 00:13   #38
boneyarsebogman

Send a message via MSN to boneyarsebogman
I saw on a billboard somewhere that there are up to 5,000 people homeless. With over 4,000,000 and the numbers of unemployed that we have, that isn't too bad. Of course it would be much less if they used the thousands of empty houses, but that's another story.
06-09-2012, 00:41   #39
looder

Quote:
Originally Posted by starbelgrade View Post
The Catalan News Agency had the same figures in July :

Link : http://www.catalannewsagency.com/new...r-and-set-2095
Have ye all missed this?

A lot of the people of Catalonia claim to not be Spanish but instead to be Catalan.

I'm presuming this is where the stat came from.
06-09-2012, 00:59   #40
Zab

Quote:
If the "single other country" is Catalonia then you do realize that Catalonia is currently part of Spain, right? If the "single other country" is Romania (or anywhere else for that matter) then the statistic is incorrect.
06-09-2012, 10:40   #41
therewillbe

No not Catalonia.It is one of the Eastern bloc countries.
06-09-2012, 10:45   #42
stmol32

I'm guessing it has to be Ireland, the bunch of scrounging feckers.

Either that or the OP's friend could maybe... possibly... just putting out there... spouting out of himself without reading the full article.
06-09-2012, 10:47   #43

Quote:
No not Catalonia.It is one of the Eastern bloc countries.
FFS, just say Romania. Stop dancing around it like a coward. You've already had it proven to you that youyour neighbour was talking utter bollocks
06-09-2012, 10:48   #44
therewillbe

Quote:
Originally Posted by stmol32 View Post
I'm guessing it has to be Ireland, the bunch of scrounging feckers.

Either that or the OP's friend could maybe... possibly... just putting out there... spouting out of himself without reading the full article.
I like it,How many of Us has left over the past 4/5 years? Yes maybe lost in conversation.I will check with him later and ask for some proof.
06-09-2012, 11:20   #45
holystungun9

Lads, what are ye beating about the bush for? Ye think it's travelers don't ye?

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion