Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-08-2012, 18:38   #1
Ctrl Alt Del
Registered User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 262
Switch - VLANs ,DHCP and Default Gateway

Hello,
Working on a project and i need your advise:

I have 20 Wireless Access point devices with cca 30 mobile clients on each WAP
I want to create a VLAN dedicated to each WAP.
I need to create a unique IP address network range
No communication Layer2 or Layer3 between VLANs.
I need ALL WAPs to have static IP address ,based on VLAN assignment
I need ALL WAPs clients to get DNS and DG as well,via DHCP running on a Server 2008.
Same DG for all VLANs and WAP and Wireless clients
A single DG on a dedicated xDSL router

What i'm doing so far:

-set static IP addresses for each WAP
-get WAP IP network same as VLAN IDs:WAP10 in VLAN10 has x.x.10.254
-set IP network same as VLAN/WAP in x.x.10.0/24
-get a switch with Layer 3 static IPv4 routing
-get all VLANs configured associated with various ports
-enable IP helper,forward to Server 2008 IP for DHCP traffic
-configure various DHCP scopes on Server 2008,based on IP address requester
-enable a default gateway in IP Routing table,on switch ,to router's IP address

Questions:
-the router needs connected to a port that is member of all VLANs or that is L3 routing job??
-do i really need a switch Layer 3 to do it ?
-if i enable DHCP server on a switch,does that eats lot of resources off switch CPU / RAM ?
-can i do a "IP routing table" Layer 2 VLANs to DG' router without too much of a Layer 3 switch functions ?
-sen advertised Layer 4 switches...what's the difference between L3 and L4 ?


Does that makes sense !?

The one i look at comes at around €1500.

Thanks in advance...
Ctrl Alt Del is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2012, 19:28   #2
UDP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,092
Not sure what your budget is but I just deployed something similar but it cost something in the region of €40k just for the wireless kit. That's a pretty big project you are taking on. Maybe you might need to use pvlans for that setup. Would recommend using enterprise wireless equipment for this though or it will be a nightmare to manage.
UDP is offline  
10-08-2012, 17:28   #3
Zab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,859
I think he has the WAPs but is looking to choose a router or L3 switch?
Zab is offline  
15-08-2012, 23:54   #4
Ctrl Alt Del
Registered User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 262
Thanks...

Got all the WAPs in place.Using UniFi WAPs ,with a dedicated PC as a controller.

Just looking at options re the switch.
Found an HP L3 and another HP L4 and wondering what is the difference between them...

I reckon i'll go for this one:
HP A5120-48G EI Switch - Switch - L4 - Managed - 48 x 10/100/1000 + 4 x SFP - rack-mountable


Ports: 48 x 10/100/1000 + 4 x SFP
Routing Protocol: Static IPv4 routing, static IPv6 routing
Features: Flow control, routing, Layer 3 switching, Layer 2 switching, DHCP support, ARP support, VLAN support, auto-uplink (auto MDI/MDI-X), IGMP snooping, sFlow, Access Control List (ACL) support, Quality of Service (QoS), Committed Access Rate (CAR), Jumbo Frame
RAM: 128 MB - SDRAM
Flash Memory: 16 MB Flash
Manufacturer Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty


Any opinions !?

Thanks in advance.
Ctrl Alt Del is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet