|
|
|
|
| 21-07-2012, 12:18 | #17 |
|
![]() |
Ah right thanks for the info. Still though the case does raise good points about Treatys being adhered to. If quotas on produce and such as so strictly enforced then why aren't we able to get the benifits of the Union?
In America (which I know has a much more connected Federal Gov) you can buy a car from anywhere and bring it to any other part. So either way it seems like it's only a matter of time before VRT is gone from imports within the EU. |
|
|
| 21-07-2012, 15:32 | #18 |
|
![]() |
Not gonna happen any time soon. It's not illegal (against the spirit of free movement of goods yes, in violation of the letter of the law no). But how in the name of jaysus is the Troika ever going to agree to the government getting rid of a substantial source of income like VRT, especially with motor tax revenues down?
|
|
|
| 21-07-2012, 15:32 | #19 |
|
![]() |
This again.
VRT doesn't affect movement of goods, you can happily buy thousands of cars and import them into and out of Ireland. But if you want to drive the car on public roads as a resident of this country, you have to register the car and pay the VRT. It restricts you driving the car, not purchasing or moving it. |
|
|
| Thanks from: |
| 21-07-2012, 16:53 | #20 |
|
![]() |
That article says feck all.
Fixed penalties don't rob you of your right to a fair trial. You have the option of paying the fine OR going to court, so I don't see how that needed to be ruled on. Otherwise, he seems to have got some minor charges overturned by quoting some impressive sounding legal documents. Nowhere does it say that he has now registered his car in the republic without paying any VRT, or will at any point in the future. If these particular charges are dropped now, and not appealed to a higher court, he'll be back in court soon enough on the same or similar charges brought by a Garda who is just doing the job he was told to do. |
|
|
| Thanks from: |