Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
28-06-2012, 13:34   #46
Zascar
Moderator
 
Zascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 10,242
Sorry forgot to ask aperture also? Seems like there is too much depth of field almost! Cool shots though, keep us update on your progress, I might get one myself!

Can you link to what you bought on Amazon?
Zascar is offline  
Advertisement
28-06-2012, 14:06   #47
Goolay
Registered User
 
Goolay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 522
Yeah, they're all wide open at 1.8. Once you go above f4 they're completely overexposed. This particular set of extension tubes require lenses with apeture rings. I think the main problem (if there is one) here is that I'm using all the tubes together at once so it's crazy-magnified to use the correct scientific terminology. Going to experiment with different combinations.

The set I got was: This one

Add £3 GBP for shipping
Goolay is offline  
28-06-2012, 14:38   #48
pixbyjohn
Registered User
 
pixbyjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greystones area
Posts: 5,271

1cent by pixbyjohn, on Flickr
pixbyjohn is offline  
(4) thanks from:
28-06-2012, 14:52   #49
DaireQuinlan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goolay View Post
Yeah, they're all wide open at 1.8. Once you go above f4 they're completely overexposed.
That's probably because you're setting the aperture on the body. These tubes don't have the little lever necessary to transmit the set aperture to the lens to stop it down, so if the lens is wide open at f/1.8 and you set f/4 on the body it'll overexpose by two stops. You're better off setting the camera to use the aperture set on the lens (if you can do that with your camera body) and use aperture priority, metering stopped down, or just use manual and chimp.

Most macro I've done has been just using TTL flash to provide the illumination, with the shutter speed set to sync speed or less, and the aperture set to f/16 or so to get some DOF.

The reason TTL metering (either straight metering or flash) is useful in macro is because you get quite dramatic fall off as you approach 1:1. At 1:1 the lens is extended to twice its focal length away from the sensor, so you're losing 2 stops or so. You have to compensate for this yourself if you're metering externally and shooting manually.
DaireQuinlan is offline  
(3) thanks from:
28-06-2012, 15:10   #50
Goolay
Registered User
 
Goolay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 522
Thanks Daire.

Meant to say underexposed! Yes that's it, have to set aperture on the lens as on the D90 I don't think I can change on the body. In manual or A mode I'm just getting "f.EE" where aperture would normally be on the LCD
Goolay is offline  
Advertisement
28-06-2012, 20:11   #51
af_thefragile
Registered User
 
af_thefragile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,035
I got myself the kenko extension tubes today!

Now can't wait to take some nice close up macro shots!

Although I'm a little worried if the weight of the 70-300mm lens + the extension tubes would damage the camera when its on the tripod??... Mines only a plastic bodied Canon 600D...
af_thefragile is offline  
28-06-2012, 20:16   #52
Professey Chin
Riddly Diddly
 
Professey Chin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New New Boards
Posts: 44,951
id say youd need some support anyway. I always have my lens supported even with just the 50mm
Professey Chin is offline  
28-06-2012, 20:23   #53
Nforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,404
This thread encouraged me to get off my behind and to dust off my macro lens (not literally,thankfully).

Anyhow, this is the result..





My lens is fully manual and I was holding the camera(rather shakily),instead of mounting it on a tripod which would have helped immensely with the focusing .
Nforce is offline  
28-06-2012, 21:19   #54
af_thefragile
Registered User
 
af_thefragile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Great Chinholio View Post
id say youd need some support anyway. I always have my lens supported even with just the 50mm
How would you support it on a tripod?
af_thefragile is offline  
Advertisement
29-06-2012, 10:51   #55
dinneenp
Registered User
 
dinneenp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: First Life in Galway
Posts: 4,308
some recent enough ones:


dinneenp is offline  
(4) thanks from:
27-09-2012, 20:18   #56
af_thefragile
Registered User
 
af_thefragile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 7,035
Finally got CS6 so here's a pic I took a few weeks ago... Hopefully there should be more to come soon!

af_thefragile is offline  
27-09-2012, 23:04   #57
Faing
Registered User
 
Faing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: N69 Wesht
Posts: 187
a fellow boardsie is getting me a set of tubes (thankyou pixbyjohn) so I have been wondering, is a lightbox necessary for doing some of tthe incredible macro shots that you guys do? I have been looking to make one tonight and they seem easy enough. In the meantime I took a couple of pics of a toy car on the kitchen table.

Faing is offline  
(2) thanks from:
28-09-2012, 00:03   #58
pixbyjohn
Registered User
 
pixbyjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greystones area
Posts: 5,271
Buy a white laundry basket >

Pop_Up_Laundry_Basket Image from the web
Makes a nice light box
pixbyjohn is offline  
(3) thanks from:
28-09-2012, 12:59   #59
SuperWoody101
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,601
Tips for first time macro shooting

I would also like to try out macro, would I be better off buying a marco lens or the tube? I use the d90 and have a 18 - 50mm, 18 -105mm, 50 - 200mm & the 70 - 300mm. Photography is still very new to me so any help would be great.
SuperWoody101 is offline  
28-09-2012, 14:57   #60
dinneenp
Registered User
 
dinneenp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: First Life in Galway
Posts: 4,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixbyjohn View Post
Buy a white laundry basket >

Pop_Up_Laundry_Basket Image from the web
Makes a nice light box
Great tip. I know nothing about light boxes.
Would you just use it for a white background or shine a light against it with object inside etc.?
dinneenp is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet