no power to oil burner - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-06-2012, 17:32   #1
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
no power to oil burner

since the hot weather arrived i have not needed to use my heating but went to turn it on today and there is no power going to it..(red reset light is not on)

all trip switches are up so i am lost ...any ideas?
kend805 is offline  
Advertisement
03-06-2012, 17:58   #2
.243
Registered User
 
.243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
either the thermostat on your boiler has tripped out,or you have a wall stat in the house turned down too low
.243 is offline  
Thanks from:
03-06-2012, 18:44   #3
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
wall stats are both up to normal temp 25 degrees..how do i know the thermostat is tripped and how do i reset it.. it is making a really really low sound as if its on but the light is still off
kend805 is offline  
03-06-2012, 19:21   #4
.243
Registered User
 
.243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by kend805 View Post
wall stats are both up to normal temp 25 degrees..how do i know the thermostat is tripped and how do i reset it.. it is making a really really low sound as if its on but the light is still off
turn both wall stats up full,the stat on the boiler has a small grommet beside the dial (make sure the dial is not set too high) unscrew the grommet and press the small spring loaded button inside
.243 is offline  
03-06-2012, 21:50   #5
JohnnieK
Registered User
 
JohnnieK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,437
That low noise you are hearing is the circulating pump so power is present. Has the pressure dropped on the system? There might be a pressure gauge somewhere on the system at the boiler or in the hotpress.
JohnnieK is offline  
Advertisement
04-06-2012, 15:01   #6
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
@.243... the stat on the boiler is at 3.5 and the only thing to unscrew is the screw to adjust the dial.. is this what you mean as the grommet.

@johnniek.. the pressure gauge reads 0 but if i switch on the heating it rises to 25 psi and has stayed at that pressure since i switched it back off..(approx half an hour now)
kend805 is offline  
04-06-2012, 17:33   #7
.243
Registered User
 
.243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by kend805 View Post
@.243... the stat on the boiler is at 3.5 and the only thing to unscrew is the screw to adjust the dial.. is this what you mean as the grommet.

@johnniek.. the pressure gauge reads 0 but if i switch on the heating it rises to 25 psi and has stayed at that pressure since i switched it back off..(approx half an hour now)
Is there any way you could post a pic of the boiler
.243 is offline  
04-06-2012, 18:30   #8
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
http://www.google.ie/imgres?q=warmfl...:10,s:19,i:130

cant get a picture to upload but thats what it looks like
kend805 is offline  
04-06-2012, 19:56   #9
jimmyw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,730
Send a message via Skype™ to jimmyw
Did you try resetting the boiler itself.There is a button on the boiler.

Oh you said the reset button/light is not on.Have you a switch on the wall with a light ? (main)

Last edited by jimmyw; 04-06-2012 at 20:00. Reason: not reading the OPs post correctly
jimmyw is offline  
Advertisement
04-06-2012, 20:03   #10
meercat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cul an ti
Posts: 2,800
http://www.heating-parts.co.uk/Product.asp?Prd=236403

the high limit stat is behind the black knob
unscrew it off and push the button
meercat is offline  
04-06-2012, 20:18   #11
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
switched on at the mains

hit that reset button but still nothing
kend805 is offline  
04-06-2012, 20:34   #12
jimmyw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,730
Send a message via Skype™ to jimmyw
Try to see if there is a firevalve near your burner, it might have been tripped.It happened to me the other day after we had our summer.

thread here similar too.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2056658779
jimmyw is offline  
04-06-2012, 22:15   #13
kend805
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 27
i looked at that other thread and the pictures are the same as mine except i have no red valve near my boiler only the reset button which you circled blue in the pictures,, not sure what you mean about firevalve either
kend805 is offline  
04-06-2012, 22:58   #14
jimmyw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kilkenny
Posts: 2,730
Send a message via Skype™ to jimmyw
Quote:
Originally Posted by kend805 View Post
i looked at that other thread and the pictures are the same as mine except i have no red valve near my boiler only the reset button which you circled blue in the pictures,, not sure what you mean about firevalve either
If you have a look on that other thread,you will see what I have anyway.Its a valve to shut off the fuel flow if there is a fire, so it should be somewhere on the line from the tank to the burner.Of course it may vary from model to model.Its a possibility anyway.

The way I reset it is to pull up on the valve, reset at the burner and viola! off she pops.(make sure there is power going to the burner first)

So you should have 3 resets, one inside the burner housing (Thermostat), one on the burner, the firevalve.

Last edited by jimmyw; 04-06-2012 at 23:17.
jimmyw is offline  
04-06-2012, 23:10   #15
Billy Bunting
Registered User
 
Billy Bunting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Climbing my mountain
Posts: 2,660
If the red reset button on the burner is not lite then you have no power getting to the burner, forget the fire valve. If the pump is running and you have pushed the reset on the high limit stat and still have nothing then you need a service call, i suggest an Oftec registered Engineer is the way to go.

As for the other thread that run for some time on the Appliances forum, if the OP of that thread had posted it here, or indeed the Mod had moved it here, then the OP would have had the right people reading it and may of saved themselves that service call.
Billy Bunting is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet