Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
21-05-2012, 15:05   #1
TheDoc
Registered User
 
TheDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 14,556
Worth giving this an OC?

Wondering if there is any benefit of having a crack at Oc'ing this for a little extra juice?

CPU :
AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 955 Black Edition "125W Edition" 3.20GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail

RAM :
Corsair XMS3 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (CMX4GX3M2A1600C9)

GPU :
Asus GeForce GTX 560Ti DirectCU II TOP 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

Motherboard :
ASRock 970 Extreme3

HDD :
500GB
1TB

SSD :
OCZ Agility 3 60GB 2.5" SATA-3 Solid State Hard Drive (AGT3-25SAT3-60G)
Bought with mobo Crucial M4 128GB SSD 6,4cm (2,5")

PSU :
650watt ( I think )

Case :
Antec 300 Gaming Case

Have some additional fans and a new heatsink on the CPU which runs at about 30-40 on load, so my temps are pretty low while on load.

Just always read about people talking about OC'ing potential for parts, but never bothered looking into it.

Cheers,
Dan.
TheDoc is offline  
Advertisement
26-05-2012, 22:46   #2
Monotype
Registered User
 
Monotype's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Krakatoa
Posts: 6,364
Yeah, I don't see why not. You should easily manage 3.6GHz-3.8Ghz without too much difficulty or temperature change with that CPU. After that, I find that you have to start putting in a lot of voltage to get the higher numbers.
Not an enormous overclock but it would help things along a little.
Monotype is offline  
Thanks from:
30-05-2012, 14:39   #3
uncle_sam_ie
Registered User
 
uncle_sam_ie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cork
Posts: 2,682
You can use this first to see what your CPU can do. http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa.../overview.aspx
Then after, OC it in your BIOS.
uncle_sam_ie is offline  
31-05-2012, 22:02   #4
Eboggles
Registered User
 
Eboggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,598
@TheDoc Do you mind me asking how you find that motherboard? It's just I was able to pick up a bundle on the cheap for my brother's ageing Athlon X2 6000+ consisting of that motherboard, 4GB of RAM and a Phenom X4 965. It seems pretty decent (Sata3, Usb 3.0 etc.) and I love the black PCB .
Eboggles is offline  
01-06-2012, 11:51   #5
TheDoc
Registered User
 
TheDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 14,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eboggles View Post
@TheDoc Do you mind me asking how you find that motherboard? It's just I was able to pick up a bundle on the cheap for my brother's ageing Athlon X2 6000+ consisting of that motherboard, 4GB of RAM and a Phenom X4 965. It seems pretty decent (Sata3, Usb 3.0 etc.) and I love the black PCB .
Well I'm actually getting rid of it. I'm upgrading to a new one, so mine is actually up for a new home.

Granted I'm waiting for a RMA on the new one I got : /
TheDoc is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet