Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

30-04-2012, 21:35   #61
Nissan doctor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary ITR View Post
Would ye not tell the wives to feck off?

It's hard to sell a performance car when it's being replaced with something 'normal'

To be fair, I certainly couldn't blame her for making me sell mine.

Its strange, when you've had modified/show/performance cars for years, it's almost refreshing to have a normal car that you don't panic about getting dirty, speed ramps, stone chips etc etc

Last edited by Nissan doctor; 30-04-2012 at 21:42.
(3) thanks from:
30-04-2012, 21:37   #62
Nissan doctor

BTW, anyone watching Ireland's worst roads on tv3?
30-04-2012, 21:39   #63
BX 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissan doctor View Post
Blue Bloods is on.. Feck. It will be up on 3player soon enough I would imagine.
30-04-2012, 21:42   #64
dgt

Quote:
Originally Posted by superstoner90 View Post
Transmission starts to slip (flare), there is a low "boom" from the tranny, and a "bing" from the dash.
Transmission locks in "limp" mode - 3rd gear so you can "limp" home or to your nearest dealer.
Message on Dash "TRANS PROGRAM - Consult Owners handbook".
NOTE: This only happens once the car has warmed up - usually after 15-30 minutes of good driving.
Ah but this is from cold, in 3rd an aggressively goes into reverse...

Anyone know a common cause?

If all else fails, we might be saying hello to a manual 525i in the future....
30-04-2012, 21:44   #65
ShadowHearth

Quote:
To be fair, I certainly couldn't blame her for making me mine.

Its strange, when you've had modified/show/performance cars for years, as I have, it's almost refreshing to have a normal car that you don't panic about getting dirty, speed ramps, stone chips etc etc
I actually loved my being ruff, if that makes any sence. My front bumper was quit bad shape with chips and cracks in it. I put a sticker on it "every now and them I fall apart". It looked quite funny ( for me ), got good few smiles at lights or petrol station too.

As much as I don't want to air, she is right. I just can't justify spending so much on car. We are planing to get back I to buying house again ( failed twice last year, thanks to time wasting sellers ). So every penny counts. After its sold I will be able to find something sensible. There is nothing worse to drive to work in 500eu mondeo knowing you got a 400hp monster sitting idle. I will try to get some middle ground now.

Edit: sorry, damn iPhone spellchecker is worse then grammar nazi.

Last edited by ShadowHearth; 30-04-2012 at 21:54.
30-04-2012, 22:11   #66
superstoner90
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgt View Post
Ah but this is from cold, in 3rd an aggressively goes into reverse...

Anyone know a common cause?

If all else fails, we might be saying hello to a manual 525i in the future....
Thats what I got off google. Its all japanise to me.
Thanks from:
30-04-2012, 22:21   #67
superstoner90
Closed Account

Quote:
My dad was on that.
30-04-2012, 22:22   #68
challengemaster
Subscriber

Quote:
Did they dedicate an entire day to that show or what? I don't think they could do an adequate job otherwise...

30-04-2012, 22:24   #69
MetzgerMeister
...zum Schlachten

Quote:
I was wondering how we got a technical reply from you
30-04-2012, 22:26   #70
dgt

Quote:
Did that too but no one has a generic "I was driving along and... I think it was caused by.... In by doing this..."

It's all from simple earthing issues all the way to bands in the gearbox coming apart, hard to know what to listen to, different cars different situations!
Thanks from:
30-04-2012, 22:41   #71
galwaytt

Send a message via Skype™ to galwaytt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary ITR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowHearth View Post
Hey again lads!!! Which ever mod took ban off - thank you!

Anyway, motor related: my skyline went in donedeal tonight and fella is coming to have a look at it tommorow. I have mixed feeling, sort of happy and sad at the same time
Quote:
I understand your pain
Would ye not tell the wives to feck off?

It's hard to sell a performance car when it's being replaced with something 'normal'
Well my SO didn't want to sell either of ours, either. But there's no fuggin way I was paying the cartax they wanted (1400). Thieving B'stards.

No, a spell in a plain Jane is cleansing, sometimes.
Thanks from:
30-04-2012, 22:46   #72
BX 19

Ireland's most dangerous roads....

Fecking TV3. Rakes of adverts even on the web...
30-04-2012, 22:46   #73
Jemmy

Quote:
Originally Posted by galwaytt View Post
Well my SO didn't want to sell either of ours, either. But there's no fuggin way I was paying the cartax they wanted (1400). Thieving B'stards.

No, a spell in a plain Jane is cleansing, sometimes.
Not sure I could go back to a plain car now :-/

Off out for a good long spin now, its been awhile

Last edited by Jemmy; 30-04-2012 at 22:52.
30-04-2012, 22:54   #74
superstoner90
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by BX 19 View Post
Ireland's most dangerous roads....

Fecking TV3. Rakes of adverts even on the web...
Look out for a funny looking buck, called gerald mullaney. He will be talking about the N4.
Thats my dad. . But his name is gerard, they spelt his name wrong.
(2) thanks from:
30-04-2012, 22:57   #75
unkel
ˇVámonos!

Quote:
Originally Posted by conzymaher View Post
That Maserati Club meet stopped in Kilkenny over the weekend
There's a thread dedicated to it in Classic Cars. Would you mind adding your pics there too?

It was the Maserati UK Club celebrating their 40th anniversary. The cars were on display in Wexford. Would have loved to see them!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voodoomelon View Post
I've an overwhelming urge to get a Quattroporte as my next car.
Go on, go for it! A 7-series is a car for a boss, a Quattroporte is a car for a king
(3) thanks from:
Thread Closed