Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

27-04-2012, 16:11   #1
El Spearo

Send a message via MSN to El Spearo Send a message via Skype™ to El Spearo
Scanlon Park 9-a-side

Just thought I'd try here for the craic...

hoping to get a weekly game going for the summer months as im finished college...

preferably 18 regular lads who want to play at least once a week...

im a keeper so my team gets the whole game out field

but yeah...would there be any interest?

literally spur of the moment post...
27-04-2012, 21:04   #2
S28382

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldwaro View Post
Just thought I'd try here for the craic...

hoping to get a weekly game going for the summer months as im finished college...

preferably 18 regular lads who want to play at least once a week...

im a keeper so my team gets the whole game out field

but yeah...would there be any interest?

literally spur of the moment post...

Yeah man sounds like a good idea I'd be up for that
27-04-2012, 21:26   #3
El Spearo

already had some interest!

would actually love to get a boardsie game going...that would be ideal

but im sure we'll get something together...keep the posts coming and we'll see what numbers we get
27-04-2012, 21:27   #4
Captain Havoc

I'd say we'll be needing players over the summer, I'll keep ye posted. Would anyone reckon there'd be enough interest in a regular 5 a side in the cage?
Thanks from:
27-04-2012, 21:28   #5
El Spearo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Havoc View Post
I'd say we'll be needing players over the summer, I'll keep ye posted. Would anyone reckon there'd be enough interest in a regular 5 a side in the cage?
much easier get a definite cage game going...

plus is sounds manly as hell
27-04-2012, 21:31   #6
Captain Havoc

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Havoc View Post
much easier get a definite cage game going...

plus is sounds manly as hell
Just think about that old Nike/ Cantona ad
Thanks from:
27-04-2012, 22:27   #7
Jimmy Iovine

I've played in the cage before. It's tough going. The ball is in play the whole game long. You get used to it after a while though.

I'd be interested in a game. I really need to get fit over the summer.
27-04-2012, 22:28   #8
El Spearo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Iovine View Post
I've played in the cage before. It's tough going. The ball is in play the whole game long. You get used to it after a while though.

I'd be interested in a game. I really need to get fit over the summer.
4 years of college life have taken their toll on me!

fags need to go bye bye, beer getting cut back and wanna get fit for the grad in september...so the cage sounds good...

i know im a keeper, but still work up a sweat!
28-04-2012, 00:27   #9
rayc

Yep I'd definitely be on for that depending on the night, move back up from Waterford last year where I used to play 2 or 3 5-a-side games a week, only picking up the odd one up now and really missing it, so always on the look out for a game!
28-04-2012, 00:42   #10
Jimmy Iovine

Quote:
4 years of college life have taken their toll on me!

fags need to go bye bye, beer getting cut back and wanna get fit for the grad in september...so the cage sounds good...

i know im a keeper, but still work up a sweat!
I was the same only replace the fags with pizzas and chicken fillet rolls. Being a poor student was brutal. Pizzas from Dunnes were the only option. Always had money for 6 cans of Druids though.

You'll be kept on your toes in the cage anyway. As long as the teams are fair enough you'll be stopping shots the whole time. It's so small that you can take a shot from anywhere on the pitch.

Oh and another thing beware if it's very warm out. That cage gets ridiculously warm if the sun is shining. It's like a greenhouse. The air is fairly thin in there as well. We were playing at 3 in the day though so it mightn't be as bad this time round.
28-04-2012, 00:50   #11
El Spearo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Iovine View Post
I was the same only replace the fags with pizzas and chicken fillet rolls. Being a poor student was brutal. Pizzas from Dunnes were the only option. Always had money for 6 cans of Druids though.

You'll be kept on your toes in the cage anyway. As long as the teams are fair enough you'll be stopping shots the whole time. It's so small that you can take a shot from anywhere on the pitch.

Oh and another thing beware if it's very warm out. That cage gets ridiculously warm if the sun is shining. It's like a greenhouse. The air is fairly thin in there as well. We were playing at 3 in the day though so it mightn't be as bad this time round.
im sure in the evenings itll be grand enough..

no harm in a bit of sweating! get the underarmour on and hydrate before i go...

well hopefully the interest keeps going...be cool to get a boardsie game going...we can try be honest on here and maybe even have teams someway even before we even go...can jerryrig it as we go along.
28-04-2012, 10:14   #12
aidankkk

im in for a game early in the week
Thanks from:
29-04-2012, 23:36   #13
barneygumble99

what day are u thinking of playing??
29-04-2012, 23:40   #14
El Spearo

Quote:
Originally Posted by barneygumble99 View Post
what day are u thinking of playing??
well i'm still in college for two weeks, and then the missus is visiting...so anywhere from may 21st on i should be up for it.

if anyone else wants to kick start it before then ill gladly join in when its going.

otherwise ill try get numbers and that later on
29-04-2012, 23:47   #15
barneygumble99

i play monday nights at the moment and if one or two are interested , they're welcome?? tuesday is the only other night i could play as i work wed to sunday at night.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion