Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

30-05-2012, 13:49   #46
Squiggler
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoes34 View Post
I live in a small estate where I know everyone and there are a few kids. Now some of her friends drive boy racer cars and one of the neighbours said that you can hear her friends coming in late in the evening/night and its always when I am away.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky the tree View Post
No one said anything about the kids being in danger.
I took it as implied from the above.
30-05-2012, 14:23   #47
Danniboo

OP,

I'm wondering based on the fuss you've made about the girl having her bf over being such a big deal if the issue with your house being like "Grand Central Station" is as bad as being made out??? Did this neighbour approach you out of the blue saying X had such and such over? Or have you asked them to keep an eye. As someone else said if you didn't want to watch TV every weekend or had your own bf would this be an issue??? If you were my landlady i'd be out of there quicker than you could say PRTB if this was your attitude. As for the legal stuff about no rights etc that's been posted, if an owner occupier is making more than 10k a year from rental income they actually do have to register with the PRTB.

Last edited by Danniboo; 30-05-2012 at 14:51.
30-05-2012, 14:32   #48
can't log in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danniboo View Post
OP, As for the legal stuff about no rights etc that's been posted, if an owner occupier is making more than 10k a year from rental income they actually do have to register with the PRTB.
Care to link to the correct legislation stating as such. According to the PTRB's own website a dwelling in which the landlord is also resident does not need to register with the PTRB. The 10K limit regarding the rent a room scheme is in connection with room relief not registering with the PTRB as how can you register with the PTRB is you are not covered by the 2004 residential tenancy act?

Prob better to move this thread to the accommodation and property forum TBH

Thanks from:
30-05-2012, 14:45   #49
shoes34

Quote:
OP,

Did this neighbour approach you out of the blue saying X had such and such over? Or have you asked them to keep an eye.

As for the legal stuff about no rights etc that's been posted, if an owner occupier is making more than 10k a year from rental income they actually do have to register with the PRTB.

I have never asked anyone to keep an eye on my house, my neighbour said it me when we were chatting at the weekend, I hadn't seen her in a few weeks.

I don't get more than 10k a year on rental income and I also don't sit in watching TV all weekend, I do have other stuff to do in the house. I understand I am renting my home and she has as much entitlement to it as i do but sometimes it just frustrates me.
30-05-2012, 14:49   #50
Danniboo

Quote:
I have never asked anyone to keep an eye on my house, my neighbour said it me when we were chatting at the weekend, I hadn't seen her in a few weeks.

I don't get more than 10k a year on rental income and I also don't sit in watching TV all weekend, I do have other stuff to do in the house. I understand I am renting my home and she has as much entitlement to it as i do but sometimes it just frustrates me.

Well plenty of stuff in life is frustrating, that's part of being an adult and making compromises, you just have to get on with it. You have a choice you can accept that by sharing with people they are going to have people over occasionally or you can live alone and pay your own mortgage. As for the boy racer car comment, what have your housemates cars got to do with the situation. Unless they are rallying around the estate????
(2) thanks from:
30-05-2012, 15:41   #51
djimi

Quote:
As for the legal stuff about no rights etc that's been posted, if an owner occupier is making more than 10k a year from rental income they actually do have to register with the PRTB.
Whether or not the place is registered with the PRTB does not change the fact that a licensee has very few rights and can be asked to leave without reason.
30-05-2012, 19:04   #52
Ickle Magoo
Ach, stick it up yer trakkens

Send a message via MSN to Ickle Magoo
Moved from PI

Hey OP,

As there seems to be some confusion over the legalities of your rights as live-in landlord, this seems a more appropriate forum for getting the right information/qualified advice.

All the best.
Thanks from:
30-05-2012, 20:50   #53
smccarrick

Send a message via Yahoo to smccarrick Send a message via Skype™ to smccarrick
Quote:
Originally Posted by mewriti exam View Post
Are they renting a room, or paying to share a house? i.e Do they have use of the kitchen, living room etc or is their agreement based on some sort of reduced rent to limit their access? When you decided to have them pay part of the mortgage, you lost the right to call it "your house" for the duration of their tenancy. I'm sorry that this isn't how you want it to be, but at least you get to keep the house afterwards - they get nothing but a rent book showing them how much of your mortgage they paid.
Yuo're factually incorrect. The OP has stated that he is letting the room in his house, of which he (or she) is the owner. There is no indication that they are paying the mortgage- while the OP can use any funds he gets from them towards their mortgage (or indeed any other bills that they may have)- that is entirely their perogative. It is *not* a tenancy- they are living with the owner in their property under licence, and are not afforded any of the rights a tenant has (as prescribed in the 2004 Residential Tenancies Act). They do not get a rent book- they are entitled to a receipt for any monies paid- it is not rent however, they are not entitled to a rent book, and they are not tenants. Please stop spreading misinformation.
30-05-2012, 20:55   #54
smccarrick

Quote:
Originally Posted by eadire View Post
The thing is you are renting two rooms and unless you put in their contract they could not have guests over they have ever right to invite people over. Especially if they are not causing trouble such as fighting or ruining the house. They are paying you rent to stay their and they have rights too. I understand where you are coming from but from being on the other side I know exactly what this is like. It is horrible to be told you cant stay over with your boyfriend because the owner of the house doesnt want it. If they don't pay their rent on time then you can fight them on it but if they are no problem as tenants then you cannot argue with them.
Once again- they are not tenants- they are living with the owner under licence. They have no rights- and can be asked to leave for any reason by the owner (its good manners to give reasonable notice- however this is at the discretion of the owner as to what this entails). They are not paying 'rent', they are not 'tenants', they do not have the same rights as they would have in a house share- and they most certainly could not have guests stay over, without the prior consent of the owner.

You really need to look at the difference between a tenant- and someone living with an owner occupier under a licence arrangement (such as the rent-a-room scheme). It is erroneous in the extreme to presume they are a tenant and have rights as a tenant- quite simply, they are not, and they do not.
30-05-2012, 21:17   #55
smccarrick

Quote:
Originally Posted by can't log in View Post
Care to link to the correct legislation stating as such. According to the PTRB's own website a dwelling in which the landlord is also resident does not need to register with the PTRB. The 10K limit regarding the rent a room scheme is in connection with room relief not registering with the PTRB as how can you register with the PTRB is you are not covered by the 2004 residential tenancy act?

Prob better to move this thread to the accommodation and property forum TBH
You're 100% correct.
Where the owner occupier is letting a room (or rooms) in their own house, they are not covered under tenacy law. The 10k limit relates to Revenue's rent-a-room scheme (and covers absolutely all income- aka if they are paying a share of electricity or other bills- it is also factored in the 10k limit).

You do not register a tenancy with the PRTB, irrespective of income- if you are an owner occupier- because tenancy law does not apply, period.
30-05-2012, 21:22   #56
riclad

YOU should simply say, in a nice way ,i,d prefer if your boyfriend stayed once a month.its compromising my privacy or living space,i,m sure
he,s nice but staying every week, is absolutely ,out of the question.
i decided to rent to 2 tenants not 3.i have no wish to offend you or your
partner ,but i feel its not fair,
ie its like i have an extra tenant on weekends ,who pays no rent.
IF they are working at some point they can rent out a larger flat and move in together.
MY friend has 2 female tenants age 20-24,he makes it clear ,a boyfriend might stay
one night ,now and again,no subletting,
a boyfriend might stay 2nights, if The landlord is NOT There,or gone away on holidays.
Theres no complaints,or awkwardness ,as the rules are discussed in the interview ,before the tenant moves in.

So 85 PER cent of the time theres ,just 2 tenants ,landlord
there.
Landlord lives on ground floor extension,2tenants upstairs.

The problem is yer man comes over next week,
before you know it ,he,ll be there 3 days a week.
You have to be nice,diplomatic but firm,
maybe say he can stay,3days a month ,thats it.
Some people take advantage,or he may not know ,hes causing
you stress ,or annoyance.

Last edited by riclad; 30-05-2012 at 21:24.
30-05-2012, 22:05   #57
riclad

WELL in dublin it would take 2 or 3 single persons to get together,
we,ll rent a house, large deposit needed, plus you have to sign a lease for 12 months.
SO most people ,single people end up renting a room ,or small flat.
D0 you know 3 people,who have money, are looking for accomodation at the same ,time.And they are happy to stay in the same place,
that requires,lots of co ordination,planning for 3 people.
SO most people say,feck it, i,ll rent 1room,or flat.
theres no so many empty houses in dublin.
30-05-2012, 22:28   #58
goat2

Quote:
Originally Posted by riclad View Post
WELL in dublin it would take 2 or 3 single persons to get together,
we,ll rent a house, large deposit needed, plus you have to sign a lease for 12 months.
SO most people ,single people end up renting a room ,or small flat.
D0 you know 3 people,who have money, are looking for accomodation at the same ,time.And they are happy to stay in the same place,
that requires,lots of co ordination,planning for 3 people.
SO most people say,feck it, i,ll rent 1room,or flat.
theres no so many empty houses in dublin.
i dont remember dublin being mentioned, also nama have alot of houses on their list, can a person go down that road to finding a place to rent.
o do know that it is crazy trying to find acommodation in dublin, and most of them are way over anyones pursestrings which is terribly unfair on people
30-05-2012, 22:35   #59
goat2

Quote:
I have written here prevoiusly but can't find the thread. I know I probably don't have a leg to stand on and mostly just venting but having a bit of an issue with one of the girls in my house. I own it and she rents a room.

Besides her boyfriend being there at weekends which I realise I can't do anything about I have found out that when I am away my house is like Grand Central Station and her friends are over constantly. I live in a small estate where I know everyone and there are a few kids. Now some of her friends drive boy racer cars and one of the neighbours said that you can hear her friends coming in late in the evening/night and its always when I am away. Do I say something to her or I guess I just grin and bear it.

Last week she said to a mutual friend that she rents the house so she can have her boyfriend there all the time if she wants. Which I guess she can. This friend said to imagine if she was in my position having to rent a room out in the house she owned and then to have someone there every weekend when she is off work.

Also I don't mind her boyfriend coming over but I don't like people letting themselves into my house. I didn't realise she left the door open for him on Friday and he just rang the bell and let himself in. I prefer if the door is locked at all times I know it may sound silly but she knows I prefer the door locked.

Sorry just needed to vent and before anything nasty is said I don't make her feel I don't want her there or him there. I am always nice and polite never make him feel he is not welcome.
now that i read this post i think i am sorry for what i have already said, you should give her notice to leave, more so that, when you leave your house for a night or two, there is alot of activity going on and the neighbours may not be too happy with this,
one of your neighbours mentioning it to you means that it is disturbing their peace, this girl will be the cause of you being blamed for this, as you are the person who have rented out to her,
next time you take in someone, make sure you ask the appropriate questions to satisfy you, so this does not happen again
30-05-2012, 23:10   #60
odds_on

A lodger/licensee who rents a room in an owner occupied home is in a similar situation to someone staying in a B&B/guest house/hotel. They are there only by license of the owner and the owner/landlord sets the rules. If the licensee does not like the rules then s/he may leave.
However, the rules should be set/shown to the prospective licensee before they take up occupation.
There are extremely few B&Bs/guest houses/hotels that will allow visitors overnight, let alone permitted to visit a guest in their rooms during the day. And in a B&B etc, you pay much more than you do when living in someone's house under the rent a room scheme.

OP, I have sent you a PM.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion