Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

29-05-2012, 14:40   #421
RedXIV

Send a message via MSN to RedXIV
Ok so last we left, Tifa and Barret were being marched to their deaths and we rejoin them as Scarlet shoves Tifa into the gas chamber to be executed. As Tifa is strapped in and the key falls from one of the guards, she gets excited as she knows the key means something but she can't tell what yet. Just then, Weapon attacks and as the FMV plays showing Weapon's approach, she notes "This must have been amazing back in 1997", her understanding for my nostalgic love for the game is obviously starting to grow

So as we watch Weapon attack and Barret has resigned himself to following Cait Sith (incidentally, this is the first time she has used Cait Sith and actually liked his rather simple Limit Break, still hates him as a character though) we are left with Tifa to try and wriggle her way to to get free. As the buttons appear on screen to highlight the buttons that control each body part, she begins a button bashing spree, worthy of any street fighter competition. After a few frenzied seconds of this and just seeing Tifa squirm basically she stops and realises that she needs to take her time with this. Once the calm hits she manages this little puzzle quite easily (thanks to the tips that also appear on screen) and manages to shut off the gas. As Weapon then blows a chunk out of the building she climbs down and heads out onto the sister ray. While this is happening, she watches as Barret and Cait Sith run into Yuffie and her dismay as she's stuck with the two characters she hates the most is clearly evident. As she gets to the airship and Barret pulls off his heroic pose, We are whisked back to Tifa who has been cornered by Scarlet on the Sister Ray. After the slapping match (which has slammed for being stupidly girly) the subsequent rescue on the highwind, we are off for the next adventure!

As we got on the airship, the usual excitement took place, as we explored our new base of operations. Although, every so often she'd run into Yuffie getting sick and a new tirade of abuse would appear ("Who even wants you here?! get off if your sick!"). Eventually after talking to everyone bar the pilot about 3 times, she found the pilot who let them set off towards the "Southern Isle". This was completely overshadowed by the ability to fly around with funky music playing which we did for approx 10 mins before going back to finding the island we were supposed to. After a brief hiccup while trying to land (can't land on forest, only on grass, now she knows) we got to Mideel. She actually said as she went in, "I'm not supposed to be here am I", just as Tifa overheard about Cloud being in the hospital. As she went in she spotted Cloud almost immediately behind the nurse but her suspicious mind immediately thought that this was an ambush and appeared actually disappointed when it didn't happen. Seeing Tifa stick with Cloud was very much an "Awwww" moment and then as the rest of the team decide to elect a leader, she was convinced Barret would get it and was taken aback when Cid got the vote of confidence. She believes this is the section where I fell for Cid's lovable roguish charm. Who knows, she could be right?

By this stage we've seen how Shinra are after the "Huge" materia, and are aiming towards Corel and Fort Condor. Not remembering where Fort Condor was, we spent an entertaining few minutes flying through the world until she saw the "Eagle statue" and parked up beside it. I won't bore you with the details of her tower defence game but suffice to say that her tactics could use some work. It ended up with Cid going out to save the day and to her utter dismay, she watched as the condor died. Since the date night incident in the Gold Saucer, she isn't sure what events are scripted to happen and which she has control over so I had to reassure her that this would always happen and restarting her game would not solve anything. Content in this, she proceeded towards Corel to complete the mission involving the train. This I was looking forward to as I remember the TV advert for FF7 had the train crashing FMV sequence and I hadn't seen it actually happen in the game and I will admit, I was confident I was about to see it. As she started the second train, she seemed to take a little while to get used to the alternating levers, and when she saw the 10 min countdown, she got a bit peeved at the idea of doing it for a full 10 mins. Thankfully after a few seconds she reached the other train and hopped over to begin the series of fights on the train.

The first two fights presented no difficulty, taking off 500-700HP per hit, she quickly dispatched the first two. She did have a slight hiccup with the iron giant as she had equipped RedXIII with a reflect ring and every time she cured all, she was curing the iron giant also but she took him out with a series of limit breaks with 4 minutes to spare for the final fight. Here she started to worry and after two rounds of physical attacks, cast Bolt3 twice to a devastating 6000 damage a piece, taking him out in less than 2 minutes. The last fight with the soldier was started and ended with Barret's Hammerblow limit break and to my surprise she actually managed to stop the train. Little bit disappointed but you can't have everything. When the kid then handed her the "Ultima" materia, her eyes lit up, "Ultima is better than huge right?!" and was very unimpressed with the fact you need to level up Ultima before you can use it.

After this we zoomed back towards Mideel to check on Tifa and the vegetable, just as Ultimate Weapon decided to make an appearance. Getting far too cocky, she hadn't saved in a while (just after getting Ultima) when she ran straight into him and within minutes, she had been wiped out. Shooting up from her relaxed position on the sofa, we were in vendetta mode as we spent about 10 mins preparing her battle array and sure enough, when prepared, there is very little she can't take on. Ultimate Weapon flew off leaving her very confused but not nearly as confused as she was about to get with the Zack/Cloud episode.

So Cloud and Tifa fell through the lifestream and we're at the part where most of the twists and tangles in the plot become uncovered. Before we went in, Zack was still "Evil Cloud", Cloud was a creation of Hojo, a failed Sephiroth clone, and Tifa was a messed up goodie two shoes who loved him enough to cover up the truth. As more and more of the plot became clear she began to get closer to the truth but not actually getting it until Cloud took his actual mask off. Right up until that point, she still was convinced that Cloud was in some way, a version of Zack, which is true in a way. She was also disappointed in hindsight with Aeris and Tifa's actions in Gongaga with Zack's parents. Although after some thought, she is slightly more forgiving towards Tifa as its almost stated that Tifa was completely unaware of Cloud's presence there 5 years ago. She was slightly more confused when Cloud manages to survive being impaled on the Masamune and this sparked another "is he human or what" thing but we have left that as pure adrenaline. She's also asking what happened to Zack and because its slightly more tricky to find that in the game, I'm not sure what to tell her. She does seem interested in as much of the storyline as Square can feed her so maybe Crisis Core will be another game for her to try.

So thats pretty much this week, we have just brought Cloud back on board the Highwind who has succinctly described everything in the lifestream so she's got a better understanding. She also, as she was turning it off, noted she has clocked up 40 hours of gameplay so far. Very happy with her progress and she seems to be back to the engrossed in the game state (we played for the guts of 4 hours yesterday).

Hopefully we'll have another update soon!
29-05-2012, 14:48   #422
noodler

God I love Disc 2!

The disc of fun.
29-05-2012, 14:49   #423
Retr0gamer

Nobody needs to play Crisis Core. It adds nothing to the story and she'll get everything she needs from revisiting Nibelheim.
Thanks from:
29-05-2012, 14:53   #424
RedXIV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retr0gamer View Post
Nobody needs to play Crisis Core. It adds nothing to the story and she'll get everything she needs from revisiting Nibelheim.
Quite possible she'll be bored of the FF7 universe before she finishes the game, she has the guts of another 20 hours I'd say before she beats the game, and thats ignoring things like chocobo breeding so by that stage she could be all for packing it in and, hopefully, trying a new game with a better story. But if she's still in love with FF7 world, i'll have to let her try it, better Crisis Core than Dirge of Cerebus
29-05-2012, 15:04   #425
Retr0gamer

She's going to hate chocobos before she reaches Sephiroth.
29-05-2012, 15:06   #426
MitchKoobski

Send a message via AIM to MitchKoobski Send a message via MSN to MitchKoobski Send a message via Skype™ to MitchKoobski
"Tifa and the vegetable"

I laughed. I really shouldn't have.
11-06-2012, 21:15   #427
_AVALANCHE_
Closed Account

Weeks Later, No Updates!!! Thread ruined!!!!!!!!! RUINEDDDDDDDD!

Even made the little girl cry Red, hope you're happy.
(3) thanks from:
11-06-2012, 22:18   #428
RedXIV

Was actually just coming in to update this thread!!!

No more tears!!!!

So we left last time after we had reunited Cloud with the party and he had explained the back story, whats what and why he was crazy etc. When we left we knew we had to go to Junon and thats where we headed again. After getting to Junon and entering a fight (Argh!! stupid Cait Sith has our materia!) we stop and reorganise who has what. Her standard party has seemingly always consisted of her favourite comrades, Barret and Tifa. As such, both of these have also unlocked their 3rd level limit breaks but she has not yet realised or perhaps forgotten about setting the limit level to 3 to access these. I'm sure this is particularly more devastating for Tifa but I've decided to keep quiet. These kind of things I have explained before and she understood so its her lack of attention to detail that has left her without these. She has also in the last while unlocked a ton of more advanced magic and barely a fight goes by without her receiving a new ability. As expected, some of them have gone unnoticed, in particular, the ones that don't have an immediate and obvious award i.e. HP plus but others have been thoroughly examined. None as much as the magic ability of "Death" which has yet to be successfully applied to an enemy.

Anyways, in Junon and she is trying to find the underwater reactor. Having spent a good bit of time up above, buying all the stuff she wanted last time and couldn't afford, she eventually stumbles upon the door leading towards the underwater reactor. Trying to remember this part of the game before she does it reveals very little to me bar one thing. Carry ****ing Armor. That bastard boss of a crane machine that left me in tears as a 12yr old after days of unsuccessful attempts. For those who weren't as anal as me about remembering names you may remember this instead:

This prick can pick up TWO of your characters while fighting and used to always kill me by doing this. When Mrs. RedXIV finally got here, she fought gallantly but in the end she suffered the same fate as I did for so long. With two of her characters picked up, she Cast Ice3 on all but she ended up hitting her allies and wiped them out before getting picked up as the survivor and getting killed. The second attempt was very similar. On the third attempt, the correct strategy dawned on her, approximately 6 days before I'd have the same realisation, all those years ago, she focused on the arms and on the third attempt, she wiped the floor with Carry Armour. As usual my ego took a bit of a battering after her not-so-humble "How long did he take you to beat?" "Was he hard for you on your first time?" and "Does this make me a better gamer than you?".

To my surprise, after the boss fight when Reno launches into the sub, the hurry music doesn't incite her to race after him and she calmly explores and finds all the items, including the Leviathan Scales, an object I would miss regularly on my attempts. Once in the Sub, she graciously allowed the sub staff to surrender before launching into the sub mini game. As noted previously, she does not like the mini games and this was no exception. After a few mins of driving into one of the walls, she proceeded to drive into mine after mine. As expected with such a strategy, it didn't take long for her to end up with the "Misson Failed" screen.

From here she went towards Rocket Town with the intentions of getting the last Huge materia. Heading towards the rocket itself in Rocket town, as she's constantly getting ambushed, she gets to the point where Cid insists on joining the party. At this stage, she no longer has the disgust she initially had for Cid, having enjoyed the variety when Cid was leader. And then as she flew through the fights (The Rude fight was literally a 2 min walkover) she watched as they got ready to launch into space. Expecting the same as last time, when the rocket actually launched she was bit taken aback. Was a nice moment though as you watch Cid finally realise his dreams. As an aside, the launch FMV always reminds me of the trailer for FF7 so I put it on for her to look at, something which I remember downloading over 40 mins back in the dial-up era. She lost interest fairly rapidly.

When brought up to the holding area for the huge materia I watched her put in her first attempt only to be told it was incorrect. I wasn't present for the next part but she admitted afterwards she googled the code. Thats fair enough in my books, I'm 90% sure I had been told the code as well. After she returned to earth, she headed towards Cosmo Canyon, and it was here I discovered that she may have googled more than just the code. Distressed she started to ask where was the rest of it and understanding dawned on me. She had 3 of the 4 pieces of huge materia and the lack of the 4th meant she couldn't get the last bahamut summon. She told me at this point she strongly considered starting again to get it but I told her there would be more powerful ones to see throughout the game so she is holding out for them.

After Bugenhagen decides to join them and they head back towards the forbidden City, the stumble onto the writing that says they need the "key". At the moment of writing this, this is where we stand. Our biggest problem is that having never lost the sub mission, I'm used to the sub just being parked at Junon when I finish that mission but on her game I can't find it. She's currently investigating Junon itself, hoping to find answers in the underwater reactor. I am somewhat impressed that the clue "where not even the sun can reach" lead her straight to underwater. She did follow this up with "or a very deep forest" but the fact that she had the right answer from the start was encouraging. She has also at this stage managed to level up Ultima and every fight she's in I keep hearing the sound effects for the spell hitting. Overkill will be a popular feature if she goes for FFX by the sounds of it

And as of JUST now she's found the sub ...........hope she has saved before she runs into Emerald weapon

Will update ye more regularly from now on, since we're all on hols from next week and she's sure to take advantage of the free time to finish the game once and for all.

Till next time!
11-06-2012, 22:54   #429
_AVALANCHE_
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedXIV View Post
"Does this make me a better gamer than you?".
lol

vvvv

Quote:
And as of JUST now she's found the sub ...........hope she has saved before she runs into Emerald weapon
You can let on you beat him first try for revenge!!
11-06-2012, 23:09   #430
_AVALANCHE_
Closed Account

Quote:
Was actually just coming in to update this thread!!!

Thanks from:
12-06-2012, 00:15   #431
ride-the-spiral

Am I the only one who remembers Carry Armour as being called Dock Loader?
12-06-2012, 00:18   #432
frisbeeface

I really, really hated Carry Armour the first time through. Took great pleasure in wiping the floor with it on subsequent playthroughs
12-06-2012, 11:52   #433
ghostchant

Don't forget that you can dig up Bahamut Zero in Bone Village if you missed it. That's what I did on my first playthrough, best surprise ever!
Thanks from:
12-06-2012, 12:58   #434
ride-the-spiral

Isn't it a really low chance though? And considering she was willing to restart the game to get it then it looks like Red is in for watching a lot of digging.
12-06-2012, 18:05   #435
ancapailldorcha

Send a message via Skype™ to ancapailldorcha
It's about 4%. Here's a link that shows where to dig if she missed it:
http://www.gamefaqs.com/ps/197341-fi...vii/faqs/57001
It's probably not worth getting as damage dealt is capped at 9,999 per hit and physical attacks should be hitting for most of that. And there's 2x cut, quadra magic, etc...

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion