RTPI being wrong! - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-03-2012, 20:37   #1
Posy
Warm and cosy
 
Posy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 17,930
RTPI being wrong!

Waiting for a bus today at at stop with RTPI.
There was one bus at 3pm and another at 5pm.
Due in..... 8 minutes
Due in..... 4 minutes
Due in..... 2 minutes
Due in..... 1 minute
Bus Due ..............








No bus came. What is the point of a GPS real time info system!!???

And the other day, a different stop said '8 minutes' when the bus came. Good thing I didn't run into the shop to get something when waiting!

Has this happened often to other passengers?
Posy is online now  
Advertisement
24-03-2012, 21:03   #2
lxflyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7,240
It can happen for several reasons, but in order to explain why, it's helpful to know where you were and what route you were waiting for?
lxflyer is offline  
24-03-2012, 21:04   #3
noelfirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 351
For whatever good it might do...

http://www.transportforireland.ie/send-feedback
noelfirl is offline  
(3) thanks from:
24-03-2012, 21:48   #4
AltAccount
Registered User
 
AltAccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by lxflyer View Post
It can happen for several reasons, but in order to explain why, it's helpful to know where you were and what route you were waiting for?
What difference would it make?
AltAccount is offline  
24-03-2012, 21:48   #5
n97 mini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,956
This isn't really a case of the RTPI being wrong, it's a case of DB not running buses they are supposed to be running. This happens to me now and again, where a bus that is supposed to be hourly doesn't show up.

Don't let your annoyance be misguided!
n97 mini is offline  
Advertisement
24-03-2012, 22:01   #6
lxflyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltAccount View Post
What difference would it make?
If the OP were at the terminus it could have been displaying scheduled times. If for whatever reason the bus was cancelled, either it broke down or something happened at the last minute then the display would have been displaying the scheduled departure.

If it were beyond the city centre on a cross city route, and the bus was curtailed to the city centre for whatever reason, the on street displays, unlike the DB app appear unable to cope with short workings. The bus then vanishes mysteriously from stops beyond the city after it arrives there.
lxflyer is offline  
24-03-2012, 23:22   #7
Posy
Warm and cosy
 
Posy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 17,930
No, it was midway through the route, not one that goes anywhere near town.. it showed the bus leaving the terminus (due), and I had checked it a couple of times at home where it had been due in 50 minutes, 30 minutes, 20 minutes etc..
At least if I'd known there would be no bus I could have made alternate arrangements! I thought the Dublin Bus RTPI worked off GPS so I don't get how it can go from a bus being due to vanishing off the radar!

Ah well, I'll try emailing DB to find out where my bus went but I don't know if I'll get anywhere!

Last edited by Posy; 24-03-2012 at 23:25.
Posy is online now  
24-03-2012, 23:55   #8
AltAccount
Registered User
 
AltAccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by lxflyer View Post
If the OP were at the terminus it could have been displaying scheduled times. If for whatever reason the bus was cancelled, either it broke down or something happened at the last minute then the display would have been displaying the scheduled departure.

If it were beyond the city centre on a cross city route, and the bus was curtailed to the city centre for whatever reason, the on street displays, unlike the DB app appear unable to cope with short workings. The bus then vanishes mysteriously from stops beyond the city after it arrives there.
But surely it's tracking a physical bus, and if it counts down to 2 or 1 minute left, then it surely hasn't become victim to short running.

What's the point of a system that tracks phantom busses?
AltAccount is offline  
25-03-2012, 04:43   #9
ArmaniJeanss
Registered User
 
ArmaniJeanss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Looking for an important part of my brain somewher
Posts: 7,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Posy View Post
Waiting for a bus today at at stop with RTPI.
There was one bus at 3pm and another at 5pm.
Due in..... 8 minutes
Due in..... 4 minutes
Due in..... 2 minutes
Due in..... 1 minute
Bus Due ..............








No bus came. What is the point of a GPS real time info system!!???

And the other day, a different stop said '8 minutes' when the bus came. Good thing I didn't run into the shop to get something when waiting!

Has this happened often to other passengers?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Posy View Post
No, it was midway through the route, not one that goes anywhere near town.. it showed the bus leaving the terminus (due), and I had checked it a couple of times at home where it had been due in 50 minutes, 30 minutes, 20 minutes etc..
At least if I'd known there would be no bus I could have made alternate arrangements! I thought the Dublin Bus RTPI worked off GPS so I don't get how it can go from a bus being due to vanishing off the radar!

Ah well, I'll try emailing DB to find out where my bus went but I don't know if I'll get anywhere!
It could be a driver error - if your bus is 50 minutes from the terminus when its midway through the route then it must be one of the more exotic suburban services. Maybe the driver took a wrong road and bypased your stop. The RTPI system can't account for this.
ArmaniJeanss is offline  
Advertisement
25-03-2012, 05:09   #10
copacetic
.
 
copacetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14,817
I've had this issue where some bus routes going to a stop appear on the system and other routes don't. Made me miss a bus a couple of times as indication there wasn't one coming was of course incorrect. Pretty annoying.
copacetic is offline  
26-03-2012, 08:48   #11
bk
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 10,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lxflyer View Post
If it were beyond the city centre on a cross city route, and the bus was curtailed to the city centre for whatever reason, the on street displays, unlike the DB app appear unable to cope with short workings. The bus then vanishes mysteriously from stops beyond the city after it arrives there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by copacetic View Post
I've had this issue where some bus routes going to a stop appear on the system and other routes don't. Made me miss a bus a couple of times as indication there wasn't one coming was of course incorrect. Pretty annoying.
I've suffered instances of both of these and it really makes the RTPI feel less accurate.

I think it exposes the inner workings of DB more then anything else, however they should really be resolved our it might lead people to become unhappy with using RTPI.
bk is offline  
26-03-2012, 11:35   #12
Boulevardier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 909
I was waiting yesterday (Sun) for a 145 to Bray from the Leeson St/Appian way stop.

The real time display firstly said there was no 145 for 40 minutes. Then that suddenly changed to 18 minutes. A minute after that, a 145 showed up.

I told the driver that his 145 was not registering on the RTPI, and he said it was nothing to do with him, it is all down to the National Roads Authority.

Is this correct? Do DB not have any responsibility for seeing that their buses are linking to the real-time displays?
Boulevardier is offline  
26-03-2012, 13:39   #13
KD345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltAccount View Post
But surely it's tracking a physical bus, and if it counts down to 2 or 1 minute left, then it surely hasn't become victim to short running.

What's the point of a system that tracks phantom busses?
For the most cases it is tracking a physical bus, but not always. For example, some buses operate from the depot to the terminus to begin service. In the hour leading up to that bus entering service, the screens will show that the bus is due. This is a scheduled time rather than an actual bus time (because the bus is not in service yet). If that bus should break down or need to be changed in the depot, then this will affect the real time accuracy of the display.

Quote:
I told the driver that his 145 was not registering on the RTPI, and he said it was nothing to do with him, it is all down to the National Roads Authority.

Is this correct? Do DB not have any responsibility for seeing that their buses are linking to the real-time displays?
The screens are the responsibility of the national transport authority.

Quote:
Originally Posted by copacetic View Post
I've had this issue where some bus routes going to a stop appear on the system and other routes don't. Made me miss a bus a couple of times as indication there wasn't one coming was of course incorrect. Pretty annoying.
Did you report this to Dublin Bus or the NTA? There could be a problem with that specific stop.
KD345 is offline  
26-03-2012, 13:50   #14
ixoy
Moderator
 
ixoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Clontarf
Posts: 13,580
Send a message via MSN to ixoy
Quote:
Originally Posted by KD345 View Post
If that bus should break down or need to be changed in the depot, then this will affect the real time accuracy of the display.
How quickly would the RTPI display be updated? Could it not say "Cancelled"?
If there's a delay can they not put that up too if the delay is over say 10 minutes?

How does the system work anyway - how much is estimates based on the schedule, timings taken from the bus's position and using real time traffic data?
ixoy is offline  
26-03-2012, 14:00   #15
KD345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixoy View Post
How quickly would the RTPI display be updated? Could it not say "Cancelled"?
If there's a delay can they not put that up too if the delay is over say 10 minutes?

How does the system work anyway - how much is estimates based on the schedule, timings taken from the bus's position and using real time traffic data?
The control centre can update the information straight away, but if a bus breaks down then the chances are that the next departure will be dropped. I agree it would be helpful if it could display canceled, as at least passengers cold then make other arrangements. If a bus is delayed, this is displayed on the Dublin Bus RTPI online with a delayed symbol. If a bus is running only part of the route then this can also be displayed online and on the app. You will see this happen regularly on routes like the 46A and 145 where buses sometimes only run to the city centre etc.

The system itself is pretty accurate, but problems arise when there is a driver handover and the bus can be sitting idle for a period of time, or when there is a breakdown or diversion.
KD345 is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet