Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

11-03-2012, 16:00   #1
cynder

Off topic chat...

Thought it would be nice to have a general chat area about our teens/ per teens something's don't merit a thread of their own.

Here is my first imput.

Went to get my daughter a nice pair of heals for a wedding she is attending (without us) she is a size 6.5 to me that's big for a 12 year old but the lady in the shop said she is getting kids come in for their conformation shoes and they are a 8 or 9. I got talking to her school mates and some of the girls have size 7 and 8 feet. Years ago I never heard of girls having size 8 feet.

Wow are our girls getting big feet. My daughters dad is a size 12 so I hope her feet stop growing soon. my feet are 6.5 -7 depending on the shoe.
Thanks from:
11-03-2012, 21:28   #2
msthe80s

Good idea Grindelwald- it's good to talk.

My oldest girl has had size 7 feet since she was 12- she's 17 now and 5ft9.

On another note- she's dyed her hair a horrible blonde colour.
We're all naturally dark blonde but this is something else and she's pale whereas the rest of us have sallow skin- strange to watch your baby turn a whiter shade of pale
I await the horror of the roots growing out.........
Thanks from:
11-03-2012, 21:34   #3
deisemum

Feet sizes seem to be getting bigger alright. My 16 year old son wears 10.5 or 11 and has been that size since primary. When the teenage girls call round and take off their shoes on wet days (their own decision) their shoes look tiny next to the teenage boys.
11-03-2012, 23:32   #4
liliq

I've had size 9 feet since I was around 14... they're almost a size 10 now since being pregnant! When I was in school years ago it used to be awful, there was no such thing as big sizes in girls shoes so I had to wear mens shoes to school!

Now though, it's a lot easier... barretts do upto size 11, cinderella shoes are an irish business that do big shoes, simply be.ie, even debenhams and M&S do bigger sizes!
12-03-2012, 09:59   #5
cynder

Liliq, your username should be BIGFOOT :O

I can only imagine growing up with big feet in the 80s or 90s it was hard to get a 7 let alone a 9. There are a few places now that do bigger sizes.

Sounds like my daughters feet aren't going to grow much more.

She is delighted with her new hair style, you can see any pink in it when she has her hair down. She off sick from school a the moment, says her tummy is at her but was well able to make herself a cappuccino....
Thanks from:
12-03-2012, 10:06   #6
cynder

Quote:
Originally Posted by msthe80s View Post
Good idea Grindelwald- it's good to talk.

My oldest girl has had size 7 feet since she was 12- she's 17 now and 5ft9.

On another note- she's dyed her hair a horrible blonde colour.
We're all naturally dark blonde but this is something else and she's pale whereas the rest of us have sallow skin- strange to watch your baby turn a whiter shade of pale
I await the horror of the roots growing out.........

Does she like the colour herself? I remember going red when i was 14 and i loved it everyone else hated it.... I've only been red once since then and now at 31 im my natural colour for the first time since i was 12. (i went black when i was 12 because a boy i liked, liked a girl with black hair) i looked like an eejit....

My lady wanted to go white blond and i said 'no' told her she could get a few white blond highlights done so it looks more natural. So that's what she did and added the flash of pink underneath. The salon was great with her, there was a woman about 80 sitting next to her, she reached over grabbed my daughters arm and said 'all the boys will be after you' and started giggling like a school child... My daughter went bright red....
12-03-2012, 10:58   #7
KittyeeTrix

My ternagers have pretty small feet. My 2 teenage lads 15/17 only wear size 8 like their dad and my daughter aged 13 wears a 4 like myself.

Very handy for swaps with her

Last edited by KittyeeTrix; 12-03-2012 at 11:01.
Thanks from:
12-03-2012, 12:37   #8
cynder

Quote:
Originally Posted by KittyeeTrix View Post

Very handy for swaps with her
My daughter nabs my shoes sometimes, cant wait to get my hands on her new heals, the wedding is in august so i have to wait until she has worn them first.

linky - http://www.itsshoetime.ie/Product/32...-et206-fuschia

Last edited by cynder; 12-03-2012 at 13:04.
12-03-2012, 15:02   #9
KittyeeTrix

Quote:
My daughter nabs my shoes sometimes, cant wait to get my hands on her new heals, the wedding is in august so i have to wait until she has worn them first.

They are gorgeous
Thanks from:
12-03-2012, 21:51   #10
msthe80s

Quote:
Originally Posted by grindelwald View Post
Does she like the colour herself?
Yes- but every day she washes it,& it looks blonder- I mean whiter

She dyed it dark brown before despite hairdresser advising against it.Then spent months saying she regretted it as the roots were so fair against the dark.
Ah sure ,there's worse things they could be experimenting with.

(msthe80s starts praying.....again )

We share shoes sometimes too- or I should say,my shoes make their own way upstairs and aren't as quick at coming back!

Last edited by msthe80s; 12-03-2012 at 21:56.
Thanks from:
13-03-2012, 10:08   #11
deisemum

Those shoes are gorgeous and I like the matching bag.

My 16 year old lad came home from his foroige group last night and said he's volunteered to act as MC at the annual foroige awards night where there'll be 10 foroige groups in attendance. I'm impressed that he's got the balls to stand up in front of so many teenagers and some adults, I don't think I'd be able to do it myself.
(2) thanks from:
13-03-2012, 16:53   #12
m'lady

Hey I'm throwing this in here because I know its been discussed before and its not a problem, just me being curious!

I was chatting to a friend recently who told me her 11 and 12 year old go to bed at 6.30pm in the evening and read till 7pm... Personally I was shocked! sometimes we would only be having dinner at that time!
My lady goes to bed at about 9 and reads till 9.30.. sometimes if I feel she is tired it will be a half hour earlier..

Anyway what time do ur kids go to bed at??!
13-03-2012, 16:59   #13
Daisy M

Whats your friends reasoning behind this m,lady, do they have to get up early? Personally I think its far too early, I cant imagine getting away with this without a major battle.
Thanks from:
13-03-2012, 17:04   #14
RedXIV

Send a message via MSN to RedXIV
Quote:
Originally Posted by m'lady View Post
Hey I'm throwing this in here because I know its been discussed before and its not a problem, just me being curious!

I was chatting to a friend recently who told me her 11 and 12 year old go to bed at 6.30pm in the evening and read till 7pm... Personally I was shocked! sometimes we would only be having dinner at that time!
My lady goes to bed at about 9 and reads till 9.30.. sometimes if I feel she is tired it will be a half hour earlier..

Anyway what time do ur kids go to bed at??!
My 1yr old goes to bed at 7

jesus I'd hate to think what time they are waking up at???
Thanks from:
13-03-2012, 18:33   #15
cynder

My 12 year old goes to bed at between 9.30 and 10.00, weekends 10.30-11.00 (depending on her/our humour) she has to eat a big snack (2 toast and beans, or something of simular carbohydrates) at 9PM and take insulin.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion