Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
View Poll Results: Will you miss phone boxes when they are gone?
Yes, its really really sad! :-( 28 28.87%
No 52 53.61%
ehhhh, ok! 17 17.53%
Voters: 97. You may not vote on this poll

07-03-2012, 15:18   #31
Mickey H

Quote:
Originally Posted by DEFTLEFTHAND View Post

I also want the green buses and orange trains back, and the Gardai to drive blue ford cortinas.
Ah, back in the day when the "Blue Squad" were the local fellas and if you seen the "White Squad", you knew something serious was going down.
(2) thanks from:
07-03-2012, 15:21   #32
mikemac1

Sure lets change FÁS back to ANCO

In Limerick people still call the centre the ANCO building
07-03-2012, 15:22   #33
EL_Loco

How am I supposed to drop a dime now to inform the local cool detective that Joey the hatchet is back on the streets.
07-03-2012, 15:30   #34
Funglegunk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spunge View Post
I cant wait for them to invent those CRT video pay-phones they have in blade runner.
And you can write numbers on the screen in marker. It's going to be great!
07-03-2012, 16:05   #35
Stiffler2
Banned

I used to rub my anus on the mouthpiece of these phones.
Where will I rub my anus now ??
Thanks from:
07-03-2012, 16:09   #36
readygo

I will miss them, they are still in
in the north
08-03-2012, 00:24   #37
Capt'n Midnight
00:00

Bloody heavy things, back in the day you'd only see vandalised ones in Dublin.

Used to pick up the radio on them, southside it was Radio Dublin and a different station northside , suppose it was which ever transmitter you were near.
08-03-2012, 01:34   #38
uch

Yep, no where to piss in private on the way home
08-03-2012, 02:49   #39
OneArt

No, just got myself a flash new Telex machine.
(2) thanks from:
08-03-2012, 02:51   #40
stovelid
Closed Account

Yes I will.
08-03-2012, 03:37   #41
emigrate2012

I live on the the Northside and there's plenty of them around still 2 in santry village,2 in larkhill,2 in beamount.Bloody handy if you need to make a call & yiv no credit & not enough money to top up. If there's one within sight of work/school etc take the no. down and ring it,you'd be suprised how many people will anwser.......then ye can mess with them.Great craic!Always handy for a slash aswell.
Thanks from:
08-03-2012, 05:25   #42
DonQuay1

Quote:
Originally Posted by py2006 View Post
When was the last time you used a public telephone? I think phone boxes are pretty much an endangered species on the verge of inevitable extinction.

Will you miss them? Does it bring a tear to your eye?

I don't believe I ever used them much even before my mobile phone days!

Here is something to bring back the memories

My dog will miss them. He always preferred them to a bollard or wall.
09-03-2012, 12:15   #43
harney

Quote:
Originally Posted by py2006 View Post
Here is something to bring back the memories
Well, there's 30 seconds of skimming I'll never get back (or so I'm told)
09-03-2012, 12:20   #44
thomasm

I assume someone using a phonebox is getting instructions on where to drop the ransom money
09-03-2012, 12:24   #45
harry Bailey esq

they still have one of the old style blue and white wood panel ones up by gormanstown college.i might nick it,and make my bedroom en-suite...

Last edited by harry Bailey esq; 09-03-2012 at 12:28. Reason: ****e spelling.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion