Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

07-03-2012, 17:10   #166
token101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friel View Post
Probably up there with the stupidest comparisons I've come across. Robbing a bank and hacking a website with credit card details aren't even remotely similar. One is significantly easier, exactly why security should always be a priority for online services, and in Sony's case, it wasn't. Like I already said, I don't agree with them stealing the info they found.

And yes, unless 3,474,254,621 (as of 18:31:13) people support Anonymous, I'll be in the minority.

Also, US Special Forces have no reason to be in Syria. Maybe they should sort their current f*ck ups before they begin another. People in the US have a right to know where their money is going.

Do you think Wikipedia replacing their homepage with a page directing it's users towards a site aimed at airing their grievousness against SOPA/ACTA is enough to halt the treaties? You my friend, are the delusional one. Like I said, it was a number of factors, and I believe that Anonymous' actions were one of those reasons.
So because it's easier and online that makes it different? Robbing a bank is fairly easy, you walk in with a gun you steal what you can. Hacking, you come up with a script and steal what you can. Theft is theft. If anything, they strengthened the case for tighter internet security by showing that there are cnuts out there who will just steal for the hell of it.

And the 3.5 billion, they'll all join you on your protest march will they? Send me a photo of the 3.5 Billion of ye and I'll believe you!

Most of what I've read seems to be of the opinion that these lads deserve to be charged, albeit not the prospective sentences. These lads were doing this long, long before SOPA or ACTA became the dominant issue. They were doing it for the craic and the excitement, don't fool yourself into believing otherwise. They hacked Fine Gael long before any of that. Wikipedia, Boards, etc made thei own, legal protest; there's no comparison there. These guys are hardly Bond villains, but they still commited a crime and should be punished.
07-03-2012, 17:19   #167
GombeanMan
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by token101 View Post
So because it's easier and online that makes it different? Robbing a bank is fairly easy, you walk in with a gun you steal what you can. Hacking, you come up with a script and steal what you can. Theft is theft. If anything, they strengthened the case for tighter internet security by showing that there are cnuts out there who will just steal for the hell of it.

And the 3.5 billion, they'll all join you on your protest march will they? Send me a photo of the 3.5 Billion of ye and I'll believe you!

Most of what I've read seems to be of the opinion that these lads deserve to be charged, albeit not the prospective sentences. These lads were doing this long, long before SOPA or ACTA became the dominant issue. They were doing it for the craic and the excitement, don't fool yourself into believing otherwise. They hacked Fine Gael long before any of that. Wikipedia, Boards, etc made thei own, legal protest; there's no comparison there. These guys are hardly Bond villains, but they still commited a crime and should be punished.
Agreed. Just because you don't agree with a company, that does not give you the right to break into their systems and cause absolute havoc on a global scale over a petty "wrong" in this case for instance, the refusal of paypal to process wikileaks credit cards as one example. It's criminal trespassing and damage. Had they just broken in and not caused any damage, little would have come of this. They didn't have that foresight though. Idiots.

It's not an excuse WHATSOEVER. It's no different to breaking an entering in a physical location. Anytime you access remote servers on the private side, not the public facing port 80 side, you are infact within their jurisdiction as far as I am concerned. These lads knew well what they were doing was highly immoral. The book will be thrown at them I am afraid. The FBI takes this **** very seriously.

Last edited by GombeanMan; 07-03-2012 at 17:22. Reason: Spelling
Thanks from:
07-03-2012, 17:29   #168
MadYaker

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/fbi-i...rs-186280.html

I know one of those guys vaguely. Im in NUIG as well. Bit surprised to say the least...
07-03-2012, 17:33   #169
GombeanMan
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadYaker View Post
http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/fbi-i...rs-186280.html

I know one of those guys vaguely. Im in NUIG as well. Bit surprised to say the least...
Good article. With that number of accounts stolen along with the criminal damage, I fail to see how the Judge won't screw them over. These guys are looking at serious jail time. I just hope they aren't sent to guantanamo for their own sake. Bad thing here, is that there are no excuses/ real mitigation for what they did. They should have fled long before the **** hit the fan.
07-03-2012, 17:36   #170
Solair

Considering the FBI / CIA etc caught them, I'd wonder why they would even need them. They clearly have quite a big talent pool already!

The Gardaí could definitely do with some IT gurus though!
07-03-2012, 17:41   #171
GombeanMan
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solair View Post
Considering the FBI / CIA etc caught them, I'd wonder why they would even need them. They clearly have quite a big talent pool already!

The Gardaí could definitely do with some IT gurus though!
US Judges won't see it that way. I can assure you of that unfortunately. Real Security experts don't go around breaking into systems and causing havoc. I would not classify these "hacks" as real skill either. If they are so confident in their programming ability, they could have just hacked legally on projects and uploaded to the web. Real Hackers don't do this kind of crap. It's not advanced enough. If they are so great, why didn't they hack the Linux kernel or develop an advanced Computer Algorithm Instead? This is not genuine talent I am afraid. They even got caught!

Last edited by GombeanMan; 07-03-2012 at 17:43.
07-03-2012, 17:53   #172
Friel

Quote:

What are you talking about 3.5 billion people and me going on a protest? Can you read? You said I'm in the minority. I said of course I am, unless 3.5 billion people support anonymous.

They may of been doing this long before SOPA/ACTA, but I didn't support what they were doing then. I support them because of what they do to retaliate against SOPA/ACTA. That alone. I don't agree with everything they do, especially not when it's for the "lulz".

And yes, robbing a bank is "fairly easy". Spot on.
07-03-2012, 17:57   #173
token101

Quote:
Originally Posted by GombeanMan View Post
Good article. With that number of accounts stolen along with the criminal damage, I fail to see how the Judge won't screw them over. These guys are looking at serious jail time. I just hope they aren't sent to guantanamo for their own sake. Bad thing here, is that there are no excuses/ real mitigation for what they did. They should have fled long before the **** hit the fan.
They aren't poor Muslims. That won't happen. They'll do 5/6 years I would say, if they're extradited at all. It's not all cut and dry that these things will just happen either. I'd say this will take years and years to play out.
07-03-2012, 18:06   #174
token101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Friel View Post
What are you talking about 3.5 billion people and me going on a protest? Can you read? You said I'm in the minority. I said of course I am, unless 3.5 billion people support anonymous.

They may of been doing this long before SOPA/ACTA, but I didn't support what they were doing then. I support them because of what they do to retaliate against SOPA/ACTA. That alone. I don't agree with everything they do, especially not when it's for the "lulz".

And yes, robbing a bank is "fairly easy". Spot on.
Well it's hardly difficult is it? It doesn't require an in depth knowledge of code! Criminals who don't generally hold PHDs are able to do it regularly enough! You walk in, show a gun, scream for money, walk out. If I was a criminal I'd imagine I'd have more luck robbing a bank than stealing credit card details with scripts, being that I'm not a hacker.
07-03-2012, 18:17   #175
Friel

Quote:
Well it's hardly difficult is it? It doesn't require an in depth knowledge of code! Criminals who don't generally hold PHDs are able to do it regularly enough! You walk in, show a gun, scream for money, walk out. If I was a criminal I'd imagine I'd have more luck robbing a bank than stealing credit card details with scripts, being that I'm not a hacker.
Well I'm not a hacker either, but I'd give myself a better chance of successfully hacking a website than I would robbing a bank. But if you find robbing a bank a walk in the park, then hats off to you, Mr. Ocean.
07-03-2012, 18:21   #176
Solair

Eh, there's nothing to rob in most Irish banks

They were cleaned out several years ago.
Thanks from:
07-03-2012, 18:27   #177
GombeanMan
Closed Account

Quote:
They aren't poor Muslims. That won't happen. They'll do 5/6 years I would say, if they're extradited at all. It's not all cut and dry that these things will just happen either. I'd say this will take years and years to play out.
My hole. Muslim or not, the Federal USA Government considers them as Terrorists for all the wrong reasons. The USA isn't like Ireland, when you commit a crime, you actually serve a full prison sentance! None of this suspended sentance crap. With that amount of evidence, a plea bargain is probably out of the question too. They don't take kindly to foreigners compromising their Federal national security, among other crimes.
07-03-2012, 18:29   #178
lividduck
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by GombeanMan View Post
My hole. Muslim or not, the Federal USA Government considers them as Terrorists for all the wrong reasons. The USA isn't like Ireland, when you commit a crime, you actually serve a full prison sentance! None of this suspended sentance crap. With that amount of evidence, a plea bargain is probably out of the question too. They don't take kindly to foreigners compromising their Federal national security, among other crimes.
Wrong, as usual, The USA has suspended sentences, parole, probation etc.
But sure if the truth won't fit...just make something up!
07-03-2012, 20:17   #179
Solair

it also has the highest incarceration rate per 100,000 people on the planet.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...rceration_rate
07-03-2012, 20:44   #180
squod
Banned

Quote:
Documents filed in court in New York allege that the hackers:

· Compromised an FBI computer

· Hacked US security firm HB Gary Inc and stole confidential data relating to thousands of users

· Stole confidential data on over 70,000 potential X Factor contestants in the US

· Attacked the website of US network PBS and stole personal information of 2,000 employees

· Attacked finegael2011.com hosted in Arizona and uploaded code that defaced the website
Wondering how serious this is. Anyone else reading this thinking sofa king what? Put the words ''hacked'' and ''attacked'' into a sentence in the news in Ireland generally means something like this.........

Quote:
Hundreds of people, including children, attending a confirmation ceremony in Co. Mayo were confronted with scenes of violence today when a group of men carrying slash hooks stormed the church.
Federal bureau for over reaction me thinks. Save yourselves a fortune America. Ring Donncha's Da and tell him to kick him in the hole!
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion