Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

09-03-2012, 12:54   #46
DracusWlf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Det Somerset View Post
Can I make a suggestion here?

The original M-RC league idea seems to have been lost a little during the fun of racing this week. Also the track a day might prove to be quite awkward. So how about we keep racing Mixing Bowl until Sunday night and then take the top 15 times (seemingly the most we can see in one screenshot) and award points for each place. Then we choose another track for next week and race to secure the best times there keep racing a track a week for as long as there is interest, updating the points table as we go.

So in short, we race a track a week, with this weeks Mixing Bowl being week one, and ending on sunday night with points awarded when someone can be bothered on monday. How does that sound?

If others like that idea, I would suggest the following 'rules' for initial consideration ...
  • A race time is only valid/official if it is posted in a screenshot (by anyone, not necessarily the racer themselves) in this thread before the deadline for the week (23.59 on Sunday night makes sense). for example, any times that are shown in any screenshot already are now 'official' times until they are bettered by another screenshot time.
  • To keep it simple and competitive, 1st gets 15 points, and each position after that gets one point less down to 1 point for 15th.
  • We must race a different track each time, ie we won't race Mixing Bowl again during this league.
  • Everybody can suggest what the next track should be, but Padair (Original idea man, and thread starter) will have the final say on which track is raced next, before announcing it either sunday or early monday preferably.
  • only racers who have 'declared' their PSN on this thread before this weeks deadline will be part of the league (or is that too harsh? it just keeps )
  • If there is any point of dispute, Padair's decision is final.
Doesn't bother me if the majority vote against the above, but I'd just love to get some sort of boards league going in this thread, so if there are better ideas lets hear them.

Thoughts?
I agree with this. I will post my time tonight and add the rest of the PSN id's as well.
09-03-2012, 13:08   #47
padair

Quote:
Originally Posted by DracusWlf View Post
I agree with this. I will post my time tonight and add the rest of the PSN id's as well.
Can we not do the same track with another car?
09-03-2012, 13:27   #48
Det Somerset

Quote:
Originally Posted by padair View Post
Can we not do the same track with another car?
Wouldn't it get boring racing the same track every week? In addition those who know and can consistently follow the best racing lines on Mixing Bowl will continue to thrive whether we change cars or not so it essentially won't be much of a difference to this week.
09-03-2012, 14:03   #49
padair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Det Somerset View Post
Wouldn't it get boring racing the same track every week? In addition those who know and can consistently follow the best racing lines on Mixing Bowl will continue to thrive whether we change cars or not so it essentially won't be much of a difference to this week.
:-)

Indeed it would get boring. What I meant that it is a compleatly different experience in a supercar compared to the supermini. There are not hundreds of tracks so at some point we will be using the same track again.
09-03-2012, 14:13   #50
Det Somerset

Quote:
:-)

Indeed it would get boring. What I meant that it is a compleatly different experience in a supercar compared to the supermini. There are not hundreds of tracks so at some point we will be using the same track again.
I don't know if I'd agree it's a completely different experience. Different, yes, but once you got used to the different handling, it's the same figure 8 course.

There are apparently 16 tracks, which if we race one of those a week, that's four months, and I expect that would be long enough of a commitment for most people, and keep people interested if they could see a definitive end on the horizon. At that point, those who are still interested can start racing the tracks a second time or whatever they wish.

That's just my take on things though, so maybe i'm in the minority.

Last edited by Det Somerset; 09-03-2012 at 16:32. Reason: spelling typo
Thanks from:
09-03-2012, 15:49   #51
Helix
Closed Account

too late to join this? PSN is ClydeRadcliffe
09-03-2012, 15:59   #52
padair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helix View Post
too late to join this? PSN is ClydeRadcliffe
Its never too late. I will post an updated list now and a bit.
Thanks from:
09-03-2012, 16:00   #53
Darksaga87

Im finding it difficult keeping up with the new players adding their PSN, can we update the original list?

Anyone not on the original list copy and paste and add your name?

Ill try add a few more today.
09-03-2012, 16:03   #54
padair

Updated list , Can you quote this list and then add your name to the bottom of the list .

PSN names
1. padair
2. caspa307
3. dyasmurphy
4. Desecrator666
5. LazyBaker
6. MaC-IE
7. Big Knox (I am assuming is interested)
8. colmise
9. Mugz-870
10. NotorietyH
11. redxiv2
12. phoniexknight
13. lamboz
14. fruitshophero
15. Serpheus
16. Philamental
17. jonneymendoza
18. mondo83
19. Dracuswolf
20. SpeckyNodge
21. cartman91
22. captainkrusty
23. ComeraghBlue
24. livelyjojo
25. LONO52N
26. Valleyoftheunos
27. Gamer7746
28. EvilWonka
29. Thorn19
30. johnnyc299
31. SilentBobIrl
32. ClydeRadcliffe

Last edited by padair; 09-03-2012 at 16:06.
(3) thanks from:
09-03-2012, 16:18   #55
Det Somerset

Quote:
I really love how this is never edited no matter how many times the list is revised!
09-03-2012, 17:20   #56
Grahamer666

Those rules sound great to me. Fair play !!
09-03-2012, 18:33   #57
johnpatrick81

Can I get in on this lads?? Just bought it so might be a bit off the pace!! Guess I'll try and add ye now

PSN names
1. padair
2. caspa307
3. dyasmurphy
4. Desecrator666
5. LazyBaker
6. MaC-IE
8. colmise
9. Mugz-870
10. NotorietyH
11. redxiv2
12. phoniexknight
13. lamboz
14. fruitshophero
15. Serpheus
16. Philamental
17. jonneymendoza
18. mondo83
19. Dracuswolf
20. SpeckyNodge
21. cartman91
22. captainkrusty
23. ComeraghBlue
24. livelyjojo
25. LONO52N
26. Valleyoftheunos
27. Gamer7746
28. EvilWonka
29. Thorn19
30. johnnyc299
31. SilentBobIrl
32. ClydeRadcliffe
33. Brin8
10-03-2012, 13:14   #58
LauraW7746

I just can't do any better on mixing bowl :/
10-03-2012, 13:40   #59
Grahamer666

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraW7746 View Post
I just can't do any better on mixing bowl :/
I think it really just comes down to luck and being lucky in avoiding the back markers when you get to the third lap.

I have to play this on my PS3 as i'm afraid i'll fling the Vita against the wall while playing it
Thanks from:
10-03-2012, 14:03   #60
johnpatrick81

you really dont step off the gas all the way round, and yeah there's a bit of luck with the backmarkers, but it requires some fair smooth flickin of that analagoue switch.

How in the feck are the best in the world gettin 30odd seconds?! Shortcut?? And am I still number 1?! Nearly broke my wrist edging dylasmurphy out. How do ye take screenshots on the ps3?

A couple of peeps I tried adding had full friends lists.
(2) thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion