Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

27-02-2012, 11:56   #76
44leto
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderpick View Post
Newry .......free health service,free prescriptions for everyone.no hosterity measures,cheaper food and beer(If you dont shop where the freestaters shop where you are being ripped of)
You can be Irish or British.
You can buy a house and get a mortgage for it.
But it is an awful looking place, a kip and a traffic noisy mess if you ask me. That place would be my nightmare. Its would be like living in the middle of a bizarre.,
27-02-2012, 12:26   #77
fenderpick

Send a message via AIM to fenderpick
I totally agree Newry is rising from from a low and the only way is up and the furture looks bright even with the resession there is a real feeling of moving on not only in Newry but all of the north, looking south we have a sense of releaf, there by the grace of god go I.
Regeneration has started on the town centre just last week and the council iare spending Millions .We need to listen to people like you and take heed.
to get our tourism up and running.
27-02-2012, 12:50   #78
AeoNGriM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Foreigner View Post
Where is the best place in Ireland to live?
Positive answers only please, no negative vibes or slagging.
I am looking for reasons why you think somewhere is a good place to live.
Personally I always thought Salthill in Galway would be a nice place to live as its scenic, and Galway city centre has a good night life.
Australia or Canada tbh

27-02-2012, 13:04   #79
Paparazzo

The expensive areas.
Rathmines/Ranelagh would be great, handy for the city centre and loads of pubs/shops/restaurants.
If money was no object, Ballsbridge or around Donnybrook road. If you want the sea, Dalkey or Howth
27-02-2012, 13:08   #80
Phenomenally Phrank
Banned

Blackrock, mt merrion or even most of rathfarnham's grand.
28-02-2012, 17:17   #81
Straight Talker

Cork the nicest and most scenic city in ireland,it's not too big and it's not too small.And then there's the lovely countryside,country towns and villages.It's also the sporting and cultural capital of ireland.Dublin imo is the second best part of ireland after Cork.
28-02-2012, 17:19   #82
Straight Talker

Quote:
Originally Posted by KKkitty View Post
Haha very funny. Jealous much. When did Tipp do 4 in a row last. Mmmmm that's right. NEVER muahahahaha
At least Tipp are a proper GAA county in the sense that there making a decent fist of the football.
Thanks from:
28-02-2012, 17:25   #83
Teyla Emmagan

Newry!!!! LOL.
28-02-2012, 17:36   #84
44leto
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teyla Emmagan View Post
Newry!!!! LOL.
Funny alright but to fenderpick they are regenerating the town centre, so there, its going to be the best place to live in all Ireland.

Again according to fenderpick they value the "freestater" input. I suggest they could start with a fire or even consult their local expertise in demolition, sure they have nothing better to be doing these days, or even a small atomic device.

Anyway,,I like Raheny a beautiful park and with-in walking distance to bull Island and Dollymount which I sometimes think is unappreciated in Dublin, it is a beautiful walk, I just don't understand why they let cars up on that beach. They have confined them to small sections, but still, get them off the beach entirely, they crack me up.
28-02-2012, 17:36   #85
dhayashi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Foreigner View Post
I think now is a good time to buy with cash.
Mortgages are a thing of the past in Ireland.
Renting is dead money (unless you are receiving it).
Renting is dead money? That pretty much goes without saying. I would say if people had the money to shell out all at once, they would always choose to own something over having to scrape together a month's rent every month. Even if you decide you don't want to keep the property, you can always sell it or rent it to someone else.

I wouldn't pay rent if I could afford to do otherwise!!
28-02-2012, 18:20   #86
KKkitty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straight Talker View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKkitty View Post
Haha very funny. Jealous much. When did Tipp do 4 in a row last. Mmmmm that's right. NEVER muahahahaha
At least Tipp are a proper GAA county in the sense that there making a decent fist of the football.
Haha Kilkenny is and always be a historic hurling team. Haters keep on hating
28-02-2012, 22:58   #87
FoxT
Progress is a fine thing...

HMod: TCH
The best place in Ireland to live would be...

In a house by the sea. In a mobile phone black spot. With an open fire, a small jetty, a sailboat, a few islands nearby, and the woman I love.

OMG its AH...Sorry lads.
I really meant - top floor of a brothel, pub next door, chipper across the street, 50Mb broadband, and a sitting room big enough for my 50" plasma TV ( Thats a television, not a fecking transvestite) , and a jacuzzi big enough to fit a combine harvester

Last edited by FoxT; 28-02-2012 at 23:01.
28-02-2012, 23:03   #88
Katgurl

Sandymount - combo of: close to Dublin city centre, by the sea, leafy safe suburb, community.

Pricey though...
28-02-2012, 23:27   #89
fitzeyboy.

Dunmore East Co. Waterford.
Thanks from:
29-02-2012, 00:04   #90
lecker Hendl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straight Talker View Post
Cork the nicest and most scenic city in ireland,it's not too big and it's not too small.And then there's the lovely countryside,country towns and villages.It's also the sporting and cultural capital of ireland.Dublin imo is the second best part of ireland after Cork.
Cork is nice, but it's very boring of late. Well that's what I find anyway. I've been living in Dublin for 2 years now and I don't think I would have interest in heading back to Cork anytime soon.

Dublin has it all really. The city always has something on, and the country is not too far away either. I'm in Rathgar and it's a nice area.

However, I suppose I only enjoy it because of the people I am spending my time with. If those people were in Cork I could be saying the exact opposite.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion