Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
View Poll Results: Arkle Winner 2012
Sprinter Sacre 42 45.65%
Peddlers Cross 15 16.30%
Al Ferof 24 26.09%
Menorah 6 6.52%
Other (please specify) 5 5.43%
Voters: 92. You may not vote on this poll

01-03-2012, 22:49   #61
hucklebuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by eoghan_85 View Post
Just put on multiple bets of €100 if you want to bypass that rule!
"Max refund: e100/£100 per customer.
Applies to bets placed on the Arkle Chase from 8am 28th February.
Applies to win (and win part of each way) single bets only placed before the start of the race.
The customer's selection must run for the refund to apply.
Does not apply to extra markets.
Does not apply to Tote bets."
01-03-2012, 22:57   #62
premierstone

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie1977 View Post
Powers would prefare if Pedlers Cross ran its not in their favour they want the fav beat.

Premierstone 2 years ago it was €100 max bet if Dunguib won not 200
I dont know about last year tho I was away for cheltenham.
Infact it was €300 on Dunquib, had to google it because I didnt avail of it, thought he was a moral certainty and €200 last year, dont remember Cousin Vinny.
Thanks from:
01-03-2012, 23:01   #63
premierstone

Quote:
Originally Posted by hucklebuck View Post
Was it a vote or suggestions?

You know George W Bush was "elected" don't you
I suppose, they did advertise it as a vote but we have no way of knowing I guess, but lads the reality is they dont ''know'' anything when doing these promos, they pick the first hotpot of the festival and take it on, it gets the casual punters in the door and most will stay for the 4 days, ask yourself why they never have a money back special in the last couple of races of the festival, is it not just as likely they would ''know'' something about these races??
01-03-2012, 23:04   #64
hucklebuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by premierstone View Post
I suppose, they did advertise it as a vote but we have no way of knowing I guess, but lads the reality is they dont ''know'' anything when doing these promos, they pick the first hotpot of the festival and take it on, it gets the casual punters in the door and most will stay for the 4 days, ask yourself why they never have a money back special in the last couple of races of the festival, is it not just as likely they would ''know'' something about these races??
Suppose that's possible alright. You can't seriously believe that trainers don't give info to bookies?
01-03-2012, 23:09   #65
robbie1977

Quote:
Originally Posted by premierstone View Post
Infact it was €300 on Dunquib, had to google it because I didnt avail of it, thought he was a moral certainty and €200 last year, dont remember Cousin Vinny.

Your right premierstone I would of bet 100 with ya that it was only 100 I was that sure.

I backed the field in PP that day, why oh why did I drive around lots of PP's when 2 or 3 would of done
02-03-2012, 07:03   #66
newuser89

Peddlers drifted on the exchanges
Nothing has come out of it to say why
So it's probably mccains "plan b is the jewson comment"
If the horse is at his best he will be in the arkle regardless.
Huntley you haven't been vindicated just yet lol
02-03-2012, 10:57   #67
ipitydafool

Quote:
Suppose that's possible alright. You can't seriously believe that trainers don't give info to bookies?
Id say the chances of D McCain giving info to PP in this instance are 0. It hasn't even been confirmed Peddlers Cross is not in the race yet.Also in reality regardless of the poll on their site what other race could PP have offered a money back special to get punters betting with them? The liability on a HF special in CH would be too big for any bookie to offer and a money back in Mares Hurdle or X Chase wouldn't motivate casual punters enough.
02-03-2012, 11:13   #68
FortuneChip

Quote:
Paddy said Saturday morning at the preview night.

****ing **** must have known about the Peddlers doubts, special announced the day before Mc Cain comes out with the Jewson.
I don't think there's any conspiracy here. PP have done a similar special for the last 3/4 years. It's usually in the Supreme Novice (probably to get punters in by the first race), but no doubt people on here would be complaining if PP offered money back if an 8/1fav wins that, so they took the next available Fav. And from what I've seen of Sprinter Sacre, this special is far better than Cue Card last year, or Dunguib the year before.
Thanks from:
02-03-2012, 17:10   #69
Slozer

The Arkle is looking like one of the more competitive races at the festival this year and should shape up to be a good race. While SS looks very impressive I have a few concerns over this horse.

1. He has not won a race further than 17f. Typically 2 mile chasers who win at cheltenham have the ability to win over further distances 20/21f. Take Captain Chris from last year, it was widley regarded that he wanted further than 2 miles, also Sizing Europe the previous year to that.

2. I've seen SS 3 novices races and he will certainly be the best jumper of a fence on the day but he runs so keenly it makes me wonder when Barry Geraghty takes out the whip will he find more coming up that hill! Yes he broke the course record in his last race but if you want to talk about times that was 3-4 seconds slower that last years supreme at an easier track.

3. PP putting this up effectly as thier lay of the festival looks like a nail in the coffin for SS. However I will be availing of this bet just in case.

I dont know which horse I will be betting on yet in this race, I was leaning towards PC but both Al Ferof and Menorah have claims also. Ruby will have to be a lot closer if he wants to win this race as he wont be able to hit Al Ferof 16+ times this year!
02-03-2012, 17:23   #70
premierstone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slozer View Post
The Arkle is looking like one of the more competitive races at the festival this year and should shape up to be a good race. While SS looks very impressive I have a few concerns over this horse.

1. He has not won a race further than 17f. Typically 2 mile chasers who win at cheltenham have the ability to win over further distances 20/21f. Take Captain Chris from last year, it was widley regarded that he wanted further than 2 miles, also Sizing Europe the previous year to that.

2. I've seen SS 3 novices races and he will certainly be the best jumper of a fence on the day but he runs so keenly it makes me wonder when Barry Geraghty takes out the whip will he find more coming up that hill! Yes he broke the course record in his last race but if you want to talk about times that was 3-4 seconds slower that last years supreme at an easier track.

3. PP putting this up effectly as thier lay of the festival looks like a nail in the coffin for SS. However I will be availing of this bet just in case.

I dont know which horse I will be betting on yet in this race, I was leaning towards PC but both Al Ferof and Menorah have claims also. Ruby will have to be a lot closer if he wants to win this race as he wont be able to hit Al Ferof 16+ times this year!
1. He has only ever raced over 17f once, this race is over 16f I dont see the relevance tbh.

2. The supreme was also faster than last years Arkle, hurdles tend to be easier to jump than fences, infact the supreme was faster than the Champion last year, as has often been the case.

3. PP take on the first hotpot on Day one whether they think it will win or not, its called the 'rope a dope' system and the casual punters lap it up. There is no conspiracy, why do people think PP know more than every other bookie or every pundit out there??
02-03-2012, 17:27   #71
Huntley

Decent enough points Slozer.

Quote:
The future staying types only win the Arkle when there isn't a genuine top two miler in the field.

Quote:
2. I've seen SS 3 novices races and he will certainly be the best jumper of a fence on the day but he runs so keenly it makes me wonder when Barry Geraghty takes out the whip will he find more coming up that hill!
I think Barry might be able to hold him a bit longer with both Cue Card and Peddlers Cross hoping to make it a test.

Quote:
Yes he broke the course record in his last race but if you want to talk about times that was 3-4 seconds slower that last years supreme at an easier track.
If you want to talk about times you need to look at sectionals. Isn't worth anything when comparing two different tracks though.

Quote:
I dont know which horse I will be betting on yet in this race, I was leaning towards PC but both Al Ferof and Menorah have claims also.
All three have essentially no chance in my book but you can cross Menorah right off the list, doesn't want anything to do with fences or 2 miles on decent ground.
03-03-2012, 14:49   #72
mdwexford

Quote:

Did you just compare the times of a two mile chase with a two mile hurdle on a different track, lol if so.

PP doing that means sfa.
03-03-2012, 19:01   #73
ste2010

Peddlers cross hasn't been schooled as hard as McCain would have liked to...he plans on schooling him a bit harder this week before he makes a decision...so if he's not schooling well...is the champion hurdle beyond the realms of possibility would you think?
04-03-2012, 16:06   #74
UrbanSea

PEDDLERS CROSS has been noticeably weak in the betting for the Racing Post Arkle at the Cheltenham Festival and trainer Donald McCain said he would decide in the next few days if he would run in the Tuesday race or the Jewson 48 hours later.

The trainer, speaking at Kelso, also said he had been unable to school last year's Champion Hurdle runner-up as much as he had wanted to due to the after-effects of the muscle problem which was blamed for his poor showing behind Sprinter Sacre at Kemptonover Christmas.

McCain said: "He's grand, he's worked this week and worked again today. I'm happy with him. Because we've had a setback I've not schooled him as much as I've wanted to. I'll school him this week and then we'll make a decision and as soon as we do we'll tell everyone. To be fair to the horse, we've got to get him ripe and ready and decide what we're doing.
Regarding the setback, McCain said: "He pulled muscles and he was very, very sore, and because of that I haven't been able to school him as hard as I wanted to. Every day we do something we have to make sure he's okay the next.

"We'll decide in the next few days which race he goes for. We're getting stuck into him and he's working hard, he'll have a couple of schools and we'll see how we're going.

"I would think he will be (at the festival), if people can bear with me as soon as I know I'll tell everybody."

Peddlers Cross is as short as 11-4 for both the Arkle and the Jewson Novices' Chase, and is favourite for the latter.

From the RP.

Imagine if he didn't run him at all. Doesn't sound totally far fetched
04-03-2012, 16:29   #75
Slozer

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwexford View Post
Did you just compare the times of a two mile chase with a two mile hurdle on a different track, lol if so.
No. Just trying to make the point that times dont mean much and SS has not proven himself at Cheltenham.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwexford View Post
PP doing that means sfa.
He is not doing it for the good of his health, yes its to get the punters in but I am sure this decision was not taken lightly and taken under a lot of advice.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion