Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

20-02-2012, 14:57   #106
Gophur
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Design_Dude View Post
Megane has brake booster on left hand side, Passenger discovered if you press hard enough on the right part of the footwell you can press the brakes. true story!
That's a design flaw with a number of, especially, French cars.
20-02-2012, 15:27   #107
Mr Benevolent
New trousers please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gophur View Post
That's a design flaw with a number of, especially, French cars.
That's not a design flaw, it's downright sensible. Think how many time you've been in the passenger seat and the driver isn't slowing down enough or doesn't see something coming. Best feature ever.
Thanks from:
20-02-2012, 15:39   #108
Tea 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stheno View Post
I never knew what the TA button meant on my car stereo.

Until the day I was stuck in traffic in Lisburn and this random voice cut in on my cd to advise on the status of the traffic on the A1

I nearly had a freaking heart attack, had no idea what was going on and the fecking thing kept doing it until I got to work in Belfast city centre. I was convinced I was being stalked by some mad lunatics!

Got a right few laughs when I asked what the feck it was!
THe OH laughed himself silly as he'd lived in the UK and was used to traffic updates cutting in automatically if you'd the setting right.
They used to have Traffic Announcements over here, so the TA button used to work, but for some reason they just stopped them around 8 years ago.
20-02-2012, 15:46   #109
Bannasidhe

Was telling someone about this thread and they informed me I have a 6 CD changer thingy under my passenger seat...
Last year they pointed out I have a cig. charger in the back of the car - after I had brained myself on the steering wheel while trying to inflate an air mattress during a camping trip on a lovely drizzling Irish summer's day.

I am hoping they will tell me I have a yoke under the back bumper that puts up tents next...
20-02-2012, 17:16   #110
savagecabbages

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confab View Post
That's not a design flaw, it's downright sensible. Think how many time you've been in the passenger seat and the driver isn't slowing down enough or doesn't see something coming. Best feature ever.
Until the next time they are driving solo and the car doesn't slow down like they expect it to!
20-02-2012, 17:35   #111
tossy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confab View Post
You are joking right?
20-02-2012, 17:37   #112
TestTransmission

Quote:
Originally Posted by tossy View Post
You are joking right?
I hope so
20-02-2012, 17:38   #113
Gary ITR
Hosted Moderator

HMod: OTG
Quote:
Originally Posted by tossy View Post
You are joking right?
I doubt it, that's what makes it worse
Thanks from:
20-02-2012, 17:50   #114
Boscoirl

My Dad found out that my car has automatic wipers, while pouring a jug of water over it to de-ice the windscreen a few weeks ago
20-02-2012, 17:56   #115
Killinator

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiscan View Post
Was driving home yesterday in an Audi A4 and the sun was beaming in to the car.I had both visors down but the sun was still beaming into my eyes over the rear view mirror.
I said to herself,I remember in the VW Golf I used to have,there was a handy little visor over the mirror to stop the sun coming in,I'm surprised there's not one in this.
At which point she reached up and pulled it down and started laughing,I said how come she hadn't used it before and she said because she's so small it never worked right for her
My brother drives an A4, he didn't know about that either,
I drove a '00 Polo at the time and was a passenger in his A4,
The sun was setting so and was shining in that open space above the mirror and I asked him why he didn't put that small visor down,
To which he replied "what visor?"
Thanks from:
20-02-2012, 22:48   #116
Sam Kade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indricotherium View Post
My friend however puts the car in neutral and then starts it. So the two of us were sat in the car and it wouldn't start. We swapped around and I gave it a go and away she lit. Swapped again and dead. Took ages to figure it out. I thought he was taking the piss tbh.
So every time you start the car you turn it off again before your friend tries to start it again Why not just leave it running for him as he had such trouble trying to start it

I know of a lot of car owners that don't realize that they have a switch to turn off the front fog lights Others don't realize they have indicators
20-02-2012, 23:09   #117
El Guapo!
Formerly Dean09

My Da has a 05 merc e270 and he used to freak out when changing a flat tyre because he could never line up the holes properly, especially in the dark.
Then he discovered theres a long bolt in the boot that you screw into one of the holes to help you line the wheel up. Could've saved him a lot of heart-ache if he found it sooner!
Thanks from:
21-02-2012, 00:35   #118
eth0
Banned

I discovered my last car had heated mirrors after i broke one of them

The windscreen washer pump was also heated, only discovered this cause it was drawing a fair bit of current when idle one day testing with the multimeter cause it was giving trouble
21-02-2012, 00:42   #119
Hal1

Some of the mk2 focus's have footwell lighting. Well they usually have the bulb holders anyway.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rsz_1footwell.jpg (129.2 KB, 463 views)

Last edited by Hal1; 21-02-2012 at 00:49.
Thanks from:
21-02-2012, 02:03   #120
Mc Love

Yep noticed that too!

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size