Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

16-02-2012, 15:22   #1
amiable

The Rubberbandits get Channel 4 Pilot show

http://www.comedy.co.uk/news/story/0...annel_4_pilot/
16-02-2012, 17:02   #2
ObviouslyJesus
Banned

i thought their 15 seconds was well and truly over
16-02-2012, 17:03   #3
amiable

Quote:
Originally Posted by ObviouslyJesus View Post
i thought their 15 seconds was well and truly over
Not yet it would seem.

Hopefully they do a good job of it
16-02-2012, 17:10   #4
mathepac

Mighty shtuff lads, well done. Going global but with a horse outside at least ye'll have transport.
16-02-2012, 17:36   #5
ObviouslyJesus
Banned

is it just me or does anyone else find them painfully unfunny?
when it comes to comedy,us micks just cant do it
16-02-2012, 17:41   #6
meoklmrk91

Fair play to them, I watched the blaps series, some parts were painful but there were definitely some really funny parts too, he boys have it they do however need a bit of direction.

On the downside, their Limerick accents have been toned down to practically nothing but then I suppose I expected that in fairness, the Brits wouldn't be able to understand them. I will be watching. Atleast now they won't be censored by the eternal bores over RTE.
Thanks from:
16-02-2012, 17:44   #7
Adolf Hipster
Closed Account

Fair play to them, hope it goes well for them!
Thanks from:
16-02-2012, 17:47   #8
frozenfrozen

Relevant picture

Saw and met them the other night in Dolan's for a LIT thing. Was very entertaining and they even went to the trouble of drawing me a picture of 2pac playing charades with an albatross. Two very clever guys who know how to put on a show.
16-02-2012, 17:59   #9
ZombieBride

So they have been officially named (though how many people didn't actually know who they were?)
17-02-2012, 10:12   #10
Roadend

Quote:
Me neither but they are making a good fist of it so fair play to them
17-02-2012, 10:19   #11
source

Send a message via Skype™ to source
Quote:
You don't have to like them to wish them well, for example I can't stand jedward but I recognise that they're making a nice bit of money for being annoying and acting like eejits and wish them well with it, I still won't watch them or give them any of my money but fair play for making money off those that will.
17-02-2012, 11:32   #12
ObviouslyJesus
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by source View Post
You don't have to like them to wish them well, for example I can't stand jedward but I recognise that they're making a nice bit of money for being annoying and acting like eejits and wish them well with it, I still won't watch them or give them any of my money but fair play for making money off those that will.
so you're happy at eejits for making money whilst the rest of us worry about paying the gas bill or the new water or household charges. deary me
17-02-2012, 11:52   #13
mathepac

Quote:
... when it comes to comedy,us micks just cant do it
I'm disappointed that someone with such a wide appreciation of comedic talent seems, momentarily no doubt, to have forgotten those hilariously un-funny "micks" the likes of Tommy Tiernan, Dave Allen, Dara O'Brian, Dylan Moran, Ed Byrne, Chris O'Dowd, Pauline McLynn and the rest of the Father Ted crew, actors and writers. Nah, comedy is not our bag as you perceptively, if rather dismissively point out. We'll stick to whinging; you seem to providing leadership there bud, righ'?
17-02-2012, 11:54   #14
amiable

Quote:
so you're happy at eejits for making money whilst the rest of us worry about paying the gas bill or the new water or household charges. deary me
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=21
17-02-2012, 11:58   #15
Kess73

Send a message via Yahoo to Kess73
Quote:
Originally Posted by source View Post

Now whilst I do find the Rubberbandits a bit hit and miss and at times they tread in rip off territory imho, I think they are about as far removed from the likes of Jedward as they could be.

The RBs have shown themselves to have a degree of actual talent, and have worked hard to get to the stage where they are making a living out of what they do.

Jedward on the other hand are just talentless, and nowt more than a reflection of the Z list celebrity culture of nowadays. All you need do nowadays to be a "celeb" is get some time on a reality show or just keep calling yourself a musician/comedian/whatever you are trying to pretend to be until the label sticks.

Britain has had Z list no marks for years, and Ireland in it's role as a mini me to England is fast catching up in the nomark stakes. Lots of talentless nomarks of try to pretend they are somebodies.

But I think it would be harsh to put the RBs in with the talentless nomarks that Limerick and Ireland is building up at a fairly quick rate. Not always my cup of tea, but defo have talent.
Thread Closed