repair a garmin sat nav - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-01-2012, 19:06   #1
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
repair a garmin sat nav

Hi all
anyone know where to get a Garmin nuvi 310 sat nav repaired, it's only the on/off switch thats dead,
if I plug it into the car it comes on and works fine, when I disconnect I wait 30 seconds and it switches off, this means I cannot switch it off manually to charge it,
I took it back to Halfords where I bought it but they couldn't help apart from asking do I want to buy a new one, which I dont as I paid for lifetime updates,
this is only for that unit so I cannot transfer the lifetime updates to another unit
any help greatly appreciated
Regards
Dlb
darklordsbane is offline  
Advertisement
30-01-2012, 19:33   #2
the_syco
Syco Kitteh
 
the_syco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 26,854
When did you buy it?
the_syco is offline  
30-01-2012, 21:04   #3
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Thanks for the reply
Halfords
darklordsbane is offline  
31-01-2012, 10:20   #4
the_syco
Syco Kitteh
 
the_syco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 26,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordsbane View Post
Thanks for the reply
Halfords
No, like, when. As in, a date...?
the_syco is offline  
31-01-2012, 11:26   #5
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Sorry my mistake 4 or 5 years ago
Dlb
darklordsbane is offline  
Advertisement
31-01-2012, 11:31   #6
cormie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17,067
It will still be charging while on and plugged in if that makes any difference? I'd say any mobile phone or gadget repair shop could have a go at it for you if it's bugging you.
cormie is offline  
01-02-2012, 01:12   #7
the_syco
Syco Kitteh
 
the_syco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 26,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordsbane View Post
Sorry my mistake 4 or 5 years ago
Dlb
Beyond the warranty, then :/

Google says the on/off switch is soldered to the main circuit board, so it may not be an easy job
the_syco is offline  
01-02-2012, 07:19   #8
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Thanks guys
There is one of those Tech fixers in the square in Tallaght I will be near there today so I'll ask, thanks again
Dlb
darklordsbane is offline  
01-02-2012, 07:27   #9
JOSman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 360
Sounds to me that the battery has given up the ghost. Replace the battery first.
JOSman is online now  
Advertisement
01-02-2012, 07:34   #10
cgarrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOSman View Post
Sounds to me that the battery has given up the ghost. Replace the battery first.

What he said ^^^^

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nk....c0.m270.l1313
cgarrad is offline  
01-02-2012, 07:53   #11
cormie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17,067
Guys, I don't think the battery has much to do with it?

I think the problem is that he can't actually switch it off, even while it's plugged into the car dock. Basically when you have a garmin in the dock, it turns on automatically if the dock is plugged into the cigarette adaptor and the engine running. You can turn it off and a very low illuminated message will say that the unit is charging. If you take it off the dock, it counts down 30 seconds until it automatically switches off, you can click to keep it turned on. This is the only way the OP can actually turn it off, after this 30 seconds, the problem appears to be that he can't manually switch it off while in the dock to get that low illuminated charging screen. It's not a big problem if you'll only be using it in the car, but if you want to turn it on while walking about it will be. The unit will be charging while in the dock turned on anyway.
cormie is offline  
01-02-2012, 14:59   #12
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Thanks again for the replies
Cormie you are correct, I didn't know it would charge while being used in the car, I thought the battery just held the charge that was in it because when the on/off switch used to work,
if I was using it while driving and then disconnected it to leave the car ( I always take it with me I dont need to return to a broken window and no sat nav) I used to see that the battery was still more or less where it was when I started the journey, if I switched it off manually then it would charge no problem,
It's no huge issue as I only use it when I don't know where I'm going which is about 20 times a year it seems,
I find in Ireland it is never fully up to date even with the latest maps but it is fabulous if in the uk or abroad (if only)
anyway thanks again keep your suggestions coming
Regards to all
Dlb
darklordsbane is offline  
10-03-2012, 13:15   #13
Attie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rosslough
Posts: 177
'Fix My Garmin'

Darklordsbane
Got an old 660 fixed http://www.fixmygarmin.com/ they are very good.

Last edited by Attie; 11-03-2012 at 10:47.
Attie is offline  
10-03-2012, 16:26   #14
darklordsbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Hi Attie
Thanks for the reply and the recommendation but that link just brings me to another boards page now yer talkin I dont know where you are trying to send me to, please post the web address or actual address and phone number
Thanks again
Dlb
darklordsbane is offline  
11-03-2012, 10:49   #15
Attie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rosslough
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordsbane View Post
Hi Attie
Thanks for the reply and the recommendation but that link just brings me to another boards page now yer talkin I dont know where you are trying to send me to, please post the web address or actual address and phone number
Thanks again
Dlb
DLB
Fixed link.
Attie
Attie is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet