Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

23-01-2012, 20:26   #1
ShtoyyyGT

ep82 gt tubro toyota starlet nct help

a

Last edited by ShtoyyyGT; 23-01-2012 at 21:06.
23-01-2012, 20:31   #2
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

VIN plate should be on the bulkhead, they don't care if the engine is the one that left the factory.

Presume it's another "1.3 on da log book laad" jobbie. they're all 1.3 on the log book. Insurance company are the only ones who care whether it's turbo.
23-01-2012, 20:35   #3
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

Bulkhead is the big metal bit under the wipers behind the engine. otherwise known as firewall.
23-01-2012, 20:38   #4
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

You're not the first person to insure a GT as a normal Starlet. I assume this is what you're at?
23-01-2012, 20:41   #5
draffodx

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtoyyyGT View Post
cheers
Who are you insured with and what's your policy number? If only the NCT checked things like this, insurance would be cheaper for us all.

EDIT: actually is there a reason they don't?

Last edited by draffodx; 23-01-2012 at 20:47.
23-01-2012, 20:53   #6
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

NCT shouldn't be a problem.

If you're insuring it as a 1.3 XLi or whatever, you may as well just cancel your insurance and print up a fake disc. Insurance companies have been dealing with this since the late 90s, they know the craic.
23-01-2012, 20:54   #7
andyseadog
Closed Account

The V.I.N. number is stamped onto the plate in the red square and its also stamped into the bulkhead just beside it, on the left I think.

was talking to you on TOC

23-01-2012, 21:02   #8
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

There is a number on the engine, but it doesn't really have to correspond to anything.
23-01-2012, 21:03   #9
tuxy

How should the OP go about correcting the error on his log book?
23-01-2012, 21:22   #10
andyseadog
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxy View Post
How should the OP go about correcting the error on his log book?
there is no error on his logbook, the logbook only states the engines c.c. not aspiration.
23-01-2012, 21:27   #11
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

Now the OP has deleted his posts.

At least I have his IP address, and will send the guards around tomorrow.

muhahaha
23-01-2012, 21:29   #12
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtoyyyGT View Post

yeh its not just insuring it once i get the nct i can insure it grand cause im on a 316 e30 already so once i get this on it will be fine money wise just want to know can i get it nctd, more for the s ...

38 minutes ago in Motors by ShtoyyyGT 9 Replies
cheers

47 minutes ago in Motors by ShtoyyyGT 8 Replies
ahw grand i should be ok then once they dont match it off the engine, tbh i never heard of them doing that but my dad said there they do and he was in the motor trade for years, i think hes trying to ...

50 minutes ago in Motors by ShtoyyyGT 8 Replies
yeh thats exactly it like its a 1.3 on the log book but a 1.3 turbo, do they definatly not care?, whats the bulkhead now hah i know somethings but not that hahaha

54 minutes ago in Motors by ShtoyyyGT 4 Replies

a
23-01-2012, 21:48   #13
tuxy

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyseadog View Post
there is no error on his logbook, the logbook only states the engines c.c. not aspiration.
So there is no model identification on the log book?
23-01-2012, 21:50   #14
andyseadog
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxy View Post
So there is no model identification on the log book?
it will specify a 3 door starlet 1.3, which it essentially is. i presume its down to him whether he wants to declare the fact that its a turbo or not.

we wont go down the road of not declaring things to your insurance, its done to death and we both know whats right from wrong.
23-01-2012, 21:51   #15
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

Revenue differentiate between models on their calculator, so the option of 1.3 TURBO 3dr is there if anyone wanted to register the car properly.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion