Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

28-05-2012, 20:47   #181
Condo131

Merging of Half & Full Marathon Runners

The HM starts at 11:00 this year. This means that the entire HM field should merge with the 8:00 to 10:00 min/mile runners at the Marina (2M/15M). Things may be a little 'tight' for approx. 1/3rd mile, until you move away from the river. After that things should open out, but the third relay changeover point (3.5M/16.5M) may also be tight depending on the crowd (and stewards). After that everywhere is wide enough to cater for everyone.

With the earlier HM start, the walkway after the Mardyke (12M/25M) shouldn't be too big a problem, but the HM leaders will be passing 7:00/8:00 min/mile Marathon people here, but they should be relatively well spread out.

Last I heard, there were approx. 1650 entries in the full, 1850 in the HM and 450 relay teams.

Finally, FFS everyone, Run the SPR line!!! (Shortest Possible Route). Every year I see people 'glued' to the sides of the road.

Addendum: I forgot the start area - The start is appro.x 11.5 miles into the Marathon, so for the first 0.5 miles of the HM you will be running with (hopefully) a relatively small number of 10:00/11:00 min milers. If any of the Marathon people get caught up in the HM after the split at the Castle, please re-direct them back to Marathon route. Guaranteed there will be a few.

Last edited by Condo131; 29-05-2012 at 09:56.
(2) thanks from:
28-05-2012, 20:58   #182
opus

Just back from a week & a half's holiday in France wrapped around a friend's wedding. Not much (meaning none!) in the way of running but plenty of eating & drinking meaning I've added ~3kg in weight Still figured I needed a break after the VLM.

Got in a handy half-marathon run distance this evening & will give a BHAA 5k race a go tomorrow & then take it easy 'til next Monday. Current plan is to try and stick with the 3h pacers 'til I either keel over or finish, whichever comes first
28-05-2012, 21:39   #183
Mr Slow

Met Eireann forecast up to Thursday has Cork reaching 22c, bring your suncream.
28-05-2012, 22:36   #184
chinguetti

Did the marathon in 2009 when it was a heatwave, the relay in 2010 when it was a storm and the half last year when it was drizzley.

So on my layman's weather guide, it could be anything so don't worry about looking at the weather until Friday. You'll only worry yourself. Drink plenty water and keep it easy.

And yes, its easy for me to say that when i'm not running it.
Thanks from:
29-05-2012, 08:59   #185
foxyboxer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Condo131 View Post
No showers! Mind you there was a nasty shower in Dublin last year, not long after I finished!
You were lucky. I had one mile to go, was enjoying the support on the way in and it was like someone turned a tap on
29-05-2012, 09:33   #186
RICHIE-RICH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Slow View Post
Met Eireann forecast up to Thursday has Cork reaching 22c, bring your suncream.
YR.NO (usually very accurate) has Monday at 11 degrees, rain, and Light breeze, 2 m/s from south-southeast

As mentioned earlier, best not to concern yourself too much with the weather forecast until Friday or Sat.
29-05-2012, 09:39   #187
Mr Slow

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICHIE-RICH View Post
As mentioned earlier, best not to concern yourself too much with the weather forecast until Friday or Sat.
I'm jogging around for the craic, not concerned at all
29-05-2012, 09:58   #188
jcsmum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Slow View Post

I'm not concerned at all
I saw that!
29-05-2012, 10:02   #189
Mr Slow

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsmum View Post
I saw that!
29-05-2012, 10:21   #190
Jogathon

Lads, I've woken up this morning with a kidney infection. I'm just struggling through here in work - on ibuprofen and the pain is easing. Should I go to the doctor? I don't want to take an antibiotic - cos it'll affect me on Monday. I have Thurs and Fri off and can relax tonight. I'm completely allerg cos up until now I've flown through my training with no problems and am just stressing about it now. How long does it take to get better from one of these? I'm generally very quick to heal - and very rarely get sick.
29-05-2012, 10:36   #191
Condo131

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jogathon View Post
Lads, I've woken up this morning with a kidney infection. I'm just struggling through here in work - on ibuprofen and the pain is easing. Should I go to the doctor? I don't want to take an antibiotic - cos it'll affect me on Monday. I have Thurs and Fri off and can relax tonight. I'm completely allerg cos up until now I've flown through my training with no problems and am just stressing about it now. How long does it take to get better from one of these? I'm generally very quick to heal - and very rarely get sick.
FFS, Go to the doctor!!

If you do have a kidney infection, then you could get very, very sick, without even running a Marathon. If you run a marathon with a kidney infection, there is a VERY, VERY high probability that you will NOT finish AND that you will be hospitalised!

The weather is picking up and Monday may be pretty warm. Your kidneys will be subject to an extra load, before even talking about your infection.

With a kidney infection, you may do *SERIOUS* - and permanent - damage to your health. You can't turn the clock back on serious health issues. There's more to life than running a Marathon. Look after your health first! Disappointing as it may be to miss it, you can always do another Marathon.

...and tell the doc that you're running a Marathon - don't hide it - you'd only be fooling yourself!
29-05-2012, 10:56   #192
Mr Slow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Condo131 View Post
With a kidney infection, you may do *SERIOUS* - and permanent - damage to your health. You can't turn the clock back on serious health issues. There's more to life than running a Marathon. Look after your health first! Disappointing as it may be to miss it, you can always do another Marathon.
^This, cop on to yourself and go to the Doctor.
Thanks from:
29-05-2012, 11:20   #193
belcarra

So, are there many people waiting around on the Monday evening for drinks??
Debating here whether to stay around myself and bask in the after-glo or hit the road back to Dublin instead...
29-05-2012, 11:22   #194
robinph

Send a message via ICQ to robinph Send a message via AIM to robinph Send a message via MSN to robinph Send a message via Yahoo to robinph Send a message via Skype™ to robinph
Quote:
Originally Posted by belcarra View Post
Debating here whether to stay around myself and bask in the after-glo or hit the road back to Dublin instead...
New we hadn't sorted out the pub for the after yet...

Is there a local Corkonian about to suggest somewhere?
29-05-2012, 11:22   #195
Mr Slow

Quote:
Originally Posted by belcarra View Post
Yes, lots of us!!!

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion