Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-01-2012, 16:15   #1
January

Send a message via AIM to January Send a message via MSN to January Send a message via Yahoo to January
The Newborn & Toddlers Off-Topic Chat Thread

Please use this thread for off topic chat about how our babies/toddlers are progressing and how us parents are doing ourselves!

Happy chatting!
(6) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 16:20   #2
smccarrick

Send a message via Yahoo to smccarrick Send a message via Skype™ to smccarrick
You could rename this 'The Lack of Sleep' thread
Ye gods, I'm a zombie.......
04-01-2012, 16:29   #3
galah

thanks January!

'lack of sleep' thread is befitting - although after 5 weeks, it is slowly getting better - we're getting stretches of 4 hours every night! Little one was feeding HOURLY for a while - pretty much day and night. I was going cracked. Much better now though ;-)

another couple of days, and I will FINALLY be able to drive again - been stuck in the sticks for 6 weeks, just the cats and a newborn for company, with awful weather to boot, has seriously affected my sanity...I thought the pregnancy hormones turned me into a cow, but sleep-deprivation and cabin fever turned the witch-levels up another notch. surprised hubby hasnt left me yet for a better life in Cuba or somewhere ;-)

would still like to know the official line on the 6 weeks driving thing after a section - doctor just said I shouldnt for a while, but couldnt really give me a plausible medical reason. Couldnt find anything about not being allowed to drive in my car insurance contract either - is this just a myth per chance?

hope all ye new mothers are also doing mighty - would be nice to see this thread as a continuation from the 'pregnancy' thread and/or the moan thread ;-)
(2) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 16:45   #4
Lola92

Not doing so well over here, the little lady has a viral infection unfortunately. In other news when I asked her today what she wanted for lunch she replied with 'duck'!!!
(2) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 16:53   #5
nicowa

Hey guys!

Thanks January for this! I really wanted to be able to talk to ye guys still and not be hi-jacking the pregnancy thread! And like Galah I wasn't sure about starting a new thread here.

Little Rebecca is settling in nicely. Sleeps enough anyway, though I'd prefer if most of it was done at night instead of during the day which is the way it is at the moment.

And we've hardly had a moment to ourselves. My mum and dad were here for a few days and then my older bro and his fiancee and then my sis and her kids are visiting at the moment (in the evening after they've done their play-time). I don't begrudge them but I would like some time with himself and our little babby before his 16 yr old comes home from his holidays - which happens tomorrow so I won't really get it. Ah well, we had the weekend I suppose!

Sitting is still a little difficult. I find the front of my lady parts gets a little numb and tingly. PHN comes tomorrow so I'll ask her then if this is normal (though if anyone else has experienced the same, let me know!).

Now that the excitement of having a baby is over (hah!) I've got a wedding to organise! Whoo!Hoo!
Thanks from:
04-01-2012, 17:05   #6
January

Send a message via AIM to January Send a message via MSN to January Send a message via Yahoo to January
Quote:
Originally Posted by galah View Post

another couple of days, and I will FINALLY be able to drive again - been stuck in the sticks for 6 weeks, just the cats and a newborn for company, with awful weather to boot, has seriously affected my sanity...I thought the pregnancy hormones turned me into a cow, but sleep-deprivation and cabin fever turned the witch-levels up another notch. surprised hubby hasnt left me yet for a better life in Cuba or somewhere ;-)

would still like to know the official line on the 6 weeks driving thing after a section - doctor just said I shouldnt for a while, but couldnt really give me a plausible medical reason. Couldnt find anything about not being allowed to drive in my car insurance contract either - is this just a myth per chance?
This one is because the muscles aren't strong enough and if you have to break hard you could really injure yourself or cause a bad accident.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicowa View Post

Little Rebecca is settling in nicely. Sleeps enough anyway, though I'd prefer if most of it was done at night instead of during the day which is the way it is at the moment.
This one will get better too, she just has day and night mixed up, it will sort itself out in a week or two.
04-01-2012, 18:13   #7
wmpdd3

Thanks, Januarary, didnt want to be ruining the birth stories thread either with comments, but now I've forgoten what I was going to say. Glad to hear every one is surviving, really brings it back to me. You really do forget the endless presents coming the door and cards you forget to reply to. I still have Thank You cards for last time, but need some stamps.

I never minded visitors as I was up all night talking to myself so I was glad to have another adult during the day. We'll see this time....
04-01-2012, 21:35   #8
cbyrd

i'm going to make myself very unpopular and let you know my 12 week old is sleeping through...10.30pm til 8.30-9am.. can't quite believe it myself
he does have a midnight dreamfeed, he started weaning about 7 weeks cos he wasn't thriving and we soon had to move him up to the hungry baby formula... he's such an easy baby thank god cos i had to go back to work at 6 weeks.. his big brother absolutely adores him..
thanks for the thread January..
04-01-2012, 22:19   #9
January

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbyrd View Post
i'm going to make myself very unpopular and let you know my 12 week old is sleeping through...10.30pm til 8.30-9am.. can't quite believe it myself
he does have a midnight dreamfeed, he started weaning about 7 weeks cos he wasn't thriving and we soon had to move him up to the hungry baby formula... he's such an easy baby thank god cos i had to go back to work at 6 weeks.. his big brother absolutely adores him..
thanks for the thread January..
Does that mean my twelve week old is actually 13 weeks old? What date was O born again? Ellen is sleeping from between 7/8pm until 3/4am and then back down until 7/8am depending on what time she feeds at night, she goes straight back down after a feed, she burps when I swaddle her up haha. She's definitely the easiest baby by far for me.

Edit - just checked, yes my daughter is in fact 13 weeks old, bad mammy
(3) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 22:27   #10
caprilicious

Brilliant idea for a thread!!
Great to hear the new mammies are all getting on so well

Was anyone else watching 'One born every minute' omg floods of tears here watching it! When I watch this program not pregnant it does not phase me an iota, watching it pregnant and I dissolve into tears. So exciting/scarey knowing it'll me me going through it in a few short months! (Minus the cameras )

OMG Cbyrd/January, can't believe your little baba's are 12/13 weeks already where has that time gone?!
Love the new pics of both on fb, they're as cute great to see they're both getting on well with their siblings too.

We got R a baby doll for Christmas to get her used to the idea of having a little baba in the house soon. She alternates between kissing it to bits, swinging it around my the arm, giving out to it and dancing with it (oh and using its arm to wave bye bye ) so new baby might have to be wrapped in cotton wool/bubble wrap to keep them safe from her
(4) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 22:29   #11
cbyrd

Quote:
Originally Posted by January View Post
Does that mean my twelve week old is actually 13 weeks old? What date was O born again? Ellen is sleeping from between 7/8pm until 3/4am and then back down until 7/8am depending on what time she feeds at night, she goes straight back down after a feed, she burps when I swaddle her up haha. She's definitely the easiest baby by far for me.

Edit - just checked, yes my daughter is in fact 13 weeks old, bad mammy
Hahaha... yes O was 12 weeks yesterday... maybe we're just getting the hang of it
(2) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 22:36   #12
KayTee

Congrats to the new mummies! Cbyrd, remember you from the pregnancy thread last year! Your little guy is doing great. My little man is 4 months old today, I can hardly believe it. All I can say is it really does get easier, he goes to bed now around 8/8.30 and sleeps 12 hours. Teeth have begun to bother him now, he's drooling for Ireland!
(3) thanks from:
04-01-2012, 23:19   #13
Winnie

Hi all, great to hear how people are getting on. My boy is 6 months now and had his first scrambled egg today, so proud! He usually sleeps from about 10pm til 8am......most nights
(2) thanks from:
05-01-2012, 10:09   #14
I am a friend
Closed Account

Oh guys we are stuck in the middle of the 3 hours feeds at the moment.. Baba is 4 weeks tomorrow and is a very hungry wee boy... Am wall-falling today...

Will talk to the doc at the 6 week check up about putting him on the hungry baby food. He is quite hard for me to burp but as soon as his daddy picks him up he does his burps
05-01-2012, 11:50   #15
part time punk

Hope it's ok for dads to post here too ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by galah View Post
Baby punk who's 12 weeks tomorrow was also born by c-section. The thing is no one in the hospital mentioned the not driving thing to us, seems like you're assumed to know it anyway. As it happens we did and friends and family mentioned it too. GP said see how it goes and take it easy, think the actual 6 weeks is a bit arbitrary though. Wife was back driving about 5 weeks, short local trips with care.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion