Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

15-02-2012, 22:46   #7561
kmart6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Connor View Post
there are a huge amount of riot police being drafted in for this game, and it is not because they fear what the United fans are going to do.
Ajax have Ultra's!?
15-02-2012, 22:46   #7562
Mr.Crinklewood

Quote:
Originally Posted by baz2009 View Post
70 Ajax fans arrested for planning to attack United fans apparently. Not hugely surprising!
Probably be able to keep up to date with Andy Mitten.
15-02-2012, 22:48   #7563
Orando Broom

Quote:
Serious mentallers over there!
I am firmly of the opinion that the only function the Dutch perform for the world is to ape English culture! Hooliganism, Darts, bad food and the rejection of their classical heritage. It must be the product of both counties under the yoke of monarchs and being rampant colonialists.
Thanks from:
15-02-2012, 22:48   #7564
Mitch Connor

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmart6 View Post
Ajax have Ultra's!?
i remember when I went to the stadium i was told they needed bullet proof glass protecting the away end. I think matches vs PSV have been a massive issue over the years.
15-02-2012, 22:49   #7565
Blatter

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjay2005 View Post
the poor quality of the EPL has been shown up by Napoli, Basle and now tonight Milan.
I think that's knee jerk type of stuff tbh. It's only one season.

Anyone with half a brain knows that United are a better team than Basel and that City are a better team than Napoli.

Milan are a much improved side from a few years ago, whilst Arsenal have gone backwards. The San Siro is always a difficult place to go, I watched them against Barca a couple of months ago and they gave them a real game. No real surprise to see them beat Arsenal well there. But Arsenal definitely played below their best tonight, no way the true gap between the sides is 4-0.

Make a judgement on the quality of the EPL after a sustained number of CL seasons, not just one that could be categorised as a freak season.
15-02-2012, 22:52   #7566
baz2009

Send a message via MSN to baz2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orando Broom View Post
I am firmly of the opinion that the only function the Dutch perform for the world is to ape English culture! Hooliganism, Darts, bad food and the rejection of their classical heritage. It must be the product of both counties under the yoke of monarchs and being rampant colonialists.
We're not a million miles away ourselves, tbh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Connor View Post
i remember when I went to the stadium i was told they needed bullet proof glass protecting the away end. I think matches vs PSV have been a massive issue over the years.
Feyenoord is bad too, I think. I think it was on some Danny Dyer(don't shoot me) hooligan programme where they said that Paul Elstak, a hardstyle DJ from Amsterdam* had to get a Police escort into his own gig on Rotterdam*.

*Not sure which way round it is.
15-02-2012, 22:52   #7567
kryogen

Really hope everyone going to the game tomorrow gets to and from it safe, nobody should ever go to watch a football match and have any threat to their safety
(2) thanks from:
15-02-2012, 22:54   #7568
baz2009

Send a message via MSN to baz2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjay2005 View Post
the poor quality of the EPL has been shown up by Napoli, Basle and now tonight Milan.
City are hugely inexperienced in European competition. Any auld eejit knows United are better than Basle. Milan are probably the best team in Italy atm, whereas Arsenal have been in he shítter lately.
15-02-2012, 22:54   #7569
Orando Broom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blatter View Post
I think that's knee jerk type of stuff tbh. It's only one season.

Anyone with half a brain knows that United are a better team than Basel and that City are a better team than Napoli.

Milan are a much improved side from a few years ago, whilst Arsenal have gone backwards. The San Siro is always a difficult place to go, I watched them against Barca a couple of months ago and they gave them a real game. No real surprise to see them beat Arsenal well there. But Arsenal definitely played below their best tonight, no way the true gap between the sides is 4-0.

Make a judgement on the quality of the EPL after a sustained number of CL seasons, not just one that could be categorised as a freak season.
All that decline of leagues stuff is crap. Every top league has mini leagues of three, four or five quality teams and the rest are dross, obsessed with survival.

In fact such is the dearth of interest from these also rans (see Pulis of Stoke and the disdain Villa and Bolton have treated the EL) I would propose cutting the numbers qualifying from the top leagues and putting 3rd and 4th from the CL into the competition instead.
15-02-2012, 22:56   #7570
Mitch Connor

heh - Owen and that numpty Piers morgan having words again. Morgan told him to stop pretending to be a footballer.

Owen replied with this:

https://twitter.com/#!/themichaelowe...880131/photo/1
15-02-2012, 22:59   #7571
Orando Broom

Quote:
We're not a million miles away ourselves, tbh.
Wholly disagree. We have a very rich culture and one that for the most part we are in touch with it. Elements of our society are Telly fed scobes or empty headed money obsessed 52nd staters but still for the most part we have remained connected to our roots and our heritage. Far more so than either the English or Dutch. We've evolved sure but we still have our core heritage mores.
15-02-2012, 23:01   #7572
shadowcomplex

Quote:
I've felt for a while that United should be looking to pick through the bones of Arsenal. Ahead of Van Persie for me would be Jack Wilshire. Obviously Van Persie too!

Would himself and Rooney be compatible?
Absolutely
15-02-2012, 23:04   #7573
Orando Broom

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowcomplex View Post
Absolutely
Absolutely compatible or absolutely jack Wilshire or both or Orando your always right?
15-02-2012, 23:06   #7574
Blatter

Quote:
All that decline of leagues stuff is crap. Every top league has mini leagues of three, four or five quality teams and the rest are dross, obsessed with survival.

In fact such is the dearth of interest from these also rans (see Pulis of Stoke and the disdain Villa and Bolton have treated the EL) I would propose cutting the numbers qualifying from the top leagues and putting 3rd and 4th from the CL into the competition instead.
Yeah, the 'decline' stuff always comes out when a nation has a bad season in the CL.

I still maintain England relatively have the highest amount of quality teams. United, City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool are all teams with big ambitions in the future. Few nations have that sort of array of top clubs.
15-02-2012, 23:10   #7575
Samich
Closed Account

Doc is gone now too? This is crazy.
Thread Closed