Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

20-02-2012, 17:59   #301
GothPunk

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodler View Post
Has the PSPGO been hacked?
Yep, courtesy of the PS3 hack people were able to find a way to sign PSP .eboot files so that would run under OFW. You still need to run a homebrew loader every time you reset your PSP but it means that I have my UMD games on my PSPgo.
21-02-2012, 04:02   #302
Overheal

Send a message via Skype™ to Overheal
well we've had it in our store for a couple days and as an employee I get to play with it until it launches on wednesday. All I can say about it is its nice feeling, has good cameras and I like the it has a touch screen AND a touch back (makes some games neat). The graphics are good for a portable, but the loading times suck. They used low quality flash memory for these games, thats in addition to yet another proprietary memory card format, when mSD was the same size, and available in multiple performance levels. For the same amount of money, I would rather a 7" Iconia tablet and load it up with games. Unless I am missing something about its appeal.
21-02-2012, 04:58   #303
Helix
Closed Account

the loading times are grand once you download the patches. most of them have been live over here for a week, but i believe they'll go live over there tomorrow
21-02-2012, 08:27   #304
ShadowHearth

First ad I hear on the radio about ps vita. What happened with marketing campaigns? Really really not alot of info outside internet about it.

Them again, is it me or there is more hype around ps vita launch, then it was around 3ds launch? Maybe ps vita will do fine in eu/us?
21-02-2012, 09:37   #305
Big Knox

Send a message via MSN to Big Knox
Right lads I'm not picking up any of the launch titles as they don't particularly do it for me, i'll probably pick up uncharted when it's cheaper. Will be getting Gravity Rush when it's up on PSN alright!!

So for now can ye recommend me some good psp games I might have missed out on that I can pick up on PSN?? I have a U.S account so can grab em from there if needed!!

Also what's the story with PSone games? Does the Vita support them? Hearing conflicting info on this one!!
21-02-2012, 09:45   #306
Otacon
Registered Abuser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Knox View Post
Right lads I'm not picking up any of the launch titles as they don't particularly do it for me, i'll probably pick up uncharted when it's cheaper. Will be getting Gravity Rush when it's up on PSN alright!!
You should get Rayman Origins if you do not already have it for the PS3. Fantastic platformer.

Quote:
So for now can ye recommend me some good psp games I might have missed out on that I can pick up on PSN?? I have a U.S account so can grab em from there if needed!!
http://www.joystiq.com/2012/02/09/he...ita-at-launch/

From that list, Valkyria Chronicles 2 and Patapon are probably the best.

Quote:
Also what's the story with PSone games? Does the Vita support them? Hearing conflicting info on this one!!
While it currently does not support PSOne titles, it will 'soon' according to Sony.

http://playstationlifestyle.net/2012...-on-vita-soon/
Thanks from:
21-02-2012, 11:02   #307
ShadowHearth

Is rayman direct port or choped down of console version? I am looking forward t rayman more then that flipping uncharted.

Good to hear that the will add Psone games in to ps vita. I can't believe they did this **** up in the first place!
21-02-2012, 11:11   #308
Big Knox

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowHearth View Post
Is rayman direct port or choped down of console version? I am looking forward t rayman more then that flipping uncharted.

Good to hear that the will add Psone games in to ps vita. I can't believe they did this **** up in the first place!
As far as I know the only thing missing is multiplayer!!

Resi 2 is up on the US PSN, cant wait to get that and ff7 going on it!!
21-02-2012, 11:35   #309
Jehuty42
Closed Account

What's the story with the pricing for 3g services for the WiFi+3g model over here? I hear it's provided by Vodafone, but how do you get charged, how often, and how much?
21-02-2012, 11:39   #310
ShadowHearth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jehuty42 View Post
What's the story with the pricing for 3g services for the WiFi+3g model over here? I hear it's provided by Vodafone, but how do you get charged, how often, and how much?
If you got iPhone or android with data plan then just get wifi ps vita. Use your phone as modem and connect to it by wifi. So one bill, not two.
21-02-2012, 11:40   #311
Big Knox

Quote:
No idea haven't looked into it, I plan on using 3g from my phone as an access point when needed.

If you have a smart phone on bill and have a decent data package it's a great way to get 3g access and save money on the vita as you only need the wireless model.

Edit: Snap!!
21-02-2012, 11:41   #312
Jehuty42
Closed Account

Might do that, I rarely use my full data allowance on my phone.

But is there any information online at all about the 3g pricing?

Quote:
No idea haven't looked into it
I have looked into it and I can't find anything though, which seems very odd and annoying.

Last edited by Jehuty42; 21-02-2012 at 11:44.
21-02-2012, 11:49   #313
Jehuty42
Closed Account

Ok, the only information online about this seems to be over in the Vodafone forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...6530554&page=2

So it's just regular data plan rates, which are pretty expensive. It would be a waste to buy the 3G model if you're already paying the same amount of money for data a month for a phone you already have. May as well just tether and use that data you're already paying for.

Otherwise it's costing you the price of keeping two smartphones going, except one of them isn't a phone, probably uses less data, and has a browser that is apparently worse than modern smartphone browsers.

Last edited by Jehuty42; 21-02-2012 at 11:52.
21-02-2012, 11:56   #314
Grumpypants

Quote:
Ok, the only information online about this seems to be over in the Vodafone forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...6530554&page=2

So it's just regular data plan rates, which are pretty expensive. It would be a waste to buy the 3G model if you're already paying the same amount of money for data a month for a phone you already have. May as well just tether and use that data you're already paying for.

Otherwise it's costing you the price of keeping two smartphones going, except one of them isn't a phone, probably uses less data, and has a browser that is apparently worse than modern smartphone browsers.
Vodafone have a 3G for 200 euro with a free copy of Wipeout if you go Bill. Or 299 with free wipeout if you go pay as you go and top up by 20 euro AFAIK.

Bills have different data allowances but i would expect 1gb would be standard for it. Not sure how much it uses gaming i would expect a lot.
21-02-2012, 12:11   #315
Big Knox

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpypants View Post
Vodafone have a 3G for 200 euro with a free copy of Wipeout if you go Bill. Or 299 with free wipeout if you go pay as you go and top up by 20 euro AFAIK.

Bills have different data allowances but i would expect 1gb would be standard for it. Not sure how much it uses gaming i would expect a lot.
Not a hope you will be able to play games over 3g, nowhere near the bandwidth and speed needed. It's really just for PSN / Browser usage.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion