Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

12-12-2011, 16:01   #16
Rochey18

Fish is the best stuff that you will buy in a shop. They have a wide range of stuff. Barbers do stuff too most of that stuff is good but way way over priced. American crew is decent but think Fish is better.
12-12-2011, 16:22   #17
Sky King

I really don't like when people call it 'product'.
(2) thanks from:
12-12-2011, 16:25   #18
dx22

American Crew pomade
Thanks from:
12-12-2011, 16:34   #19
Sky King

I'm a dapper dan man!
Thanks from:
12-12-2011, 17:02   #20
D'Agger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky King View Post
I'm a dapper dan man!
We got Fop
13-12-2011, 00:18   #21
mufc2010

stay clear of dax auful stuff......

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-lis...M&linkCode=asm

brilliant stuff
14-12-2011, 12:23   #22
seriousfizz

Where do ye lads buy American Crew? Which shops and which branch?
14-12-2011, 21:15   #23
That_Guy

Send a message via Skype™ to That_Guy
If you're looking for good spray, I recommend:

The shower gel is also quite nice.
14-12-2011, 21:19   #24
thomasm

Label M Matt Paste. Looks like nothing in your hair but great control. Bit pricey but you only need a pea sized amount so lasts for ages.
15-12-2011, 08:58   #25
Feisar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky King View Post
I really don't like when people call it 'product'.
This. It's OK when hair dressers say it. I'll let them away with it under the "trade jargon" clause but I think the average joe like me saying it sounds silly.
15-12-2011, 10:08   #26
brendansmith

Anyone else using the taft powder stuff?
I find it great and dosnt grease up your pillow
15-12-2011, 10:19   #27
astonaidan

Taft hair gel is the one i use, Its amazing!
15-12-2011, 14:40   #28
CiaranMT

I use Brylcreem Ultra Strong gel (the purple one).

I have very thick hair and it's the only one that'll do me when it reaches a certain length.

I'd be interested to hear if anyone else here has recommendations for gels/waxes/putties that are useful for thick hair.

I've used Dax, Fructis, Brylcreem's own waxes and none are all that good. Cleaning wax out is a b1tch too.
15-12-2011, 23:51   #29
Kev.OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by seriousfizz View Post
Where do ye lads buy American Crew? Which shops and which branch?
If you're living anywhere other than Ennis i can't tell you specifically where you could get it. Usually though you can only buy it either online or in the barbers. Worth noting that not all barbers stock it.
16-12-2011, 00:10   #30
Otis Driftwood
Closed Account

The little one on the right is the only gel/wax I use for a couple of reasons.

1)Its water based so washes out easily.I always found brylcream,dax,fish paste etc a hoor to get rid of.
2)Its cheap,like less than 4 quid a pot and lasts 5 to 6 weeks.
3)It doesnt dry out and turn your hair into a cast iron helmet and that means it retains the wet look.
4)It has a really nice smell,not chemically like brylcream.

If anyone of ye is going to try it make sure and check that its hard in the pot,not the gooey crap.

The only down side is that it can be hard to get out of the pot til you get down into it a bit but I find using the lid as a mini scraper works perfectly.

Try it and you wont go back to anything else.
(3) thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion