Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

25-11-2011, 13:41   #61
Mink

Jaysus I really wasn't expecting to feel so many symptoms right at the beginning, though I know lots of women don't get anything. I'd take buckets of sore knockers, cramps & insomnia over nausea though. I'm really really hoping the nausea passes me by, I don't know though.

Lots of people due on days with 8 - 8th, 18th & I'm on the 28th!

Seeing as we're all so early on, who have you told re the pregnancy (other than your partner in crime )? We told my two sisters & two of our best friends as they all knew we were TTC & have been through it before. We're going to tell his folks on weekend (mine are long passed away). I'm looking forward to telling them actually.

Going to try and leave it at that til around the 12 wk mark before telling others if I can. I have this awful feeling that I'm going to start obviously showing early on, I've already got a pot bell from bloating & generally packing on a few pounds over the year.

Himself has now convinced himself he wants to find out the sex of the baby, damn, was hoping for a surprise.
25-11-2011, 13:56   #62
March11

I am due 22nd July.

As for telling people, I have a dilemma today. All my family are supposed to me meeting up this weekend at my parents house for dinner and drinks, both tonight and tomorrow night. We haven't told anyone yet and were hoping to keep the news till Christmas, but it's just so hard. Rather than going there and try lying to them(I can't lie to save my life!) I was kind of playing with the idea of pretending my hubbie had hurt his back so we didn't have to go!! But the guilt of lying is soo hard!!! It will mean I will have to ring my parents and tell them the porky, then I am sure all my siblings will be ringing/texting me individually asking how he is etc etc and I just don't do lies, or more like I can't!!! Me and my poor restless legs and achey boobs are demented from it and it's only the start!!!!
25-11-2011, 14:00   #63
Mink

Congrats & welcome Mamaheidi

March2011 would it not be easier lie re the whole antibiotics thing? I'm dreading Christmas as won't be telling the siblings on OH's side until Jan when past the 12 wk mark. I'll have to go down the anti-b route then as well I think. They'll probably know I'm lying. Although I might just get a drink that looks like alcohol & pretend to be drinking.
25-11-2011, 14:12   #64
mamaheidi

I know! I can hardly believe that there are so many symptoms already. I can't sleep and am running to the loo about forty times a night but thankfully no nausea...

I told my mum and sister almost straight away and a couple of close friends (as I said I was in complete shock)... I also had to tell my boss asap for other reasons. I know most people don't tell before the 12 week mark to be safe but as I figure it these are the people I would turn to if anything went wrong so I guess I just needed to tell them and to enjoy being just a little bit spoiled ;-)

My partner on the other hand hasn't told anybody yet... we're telling his parents next weekend and I'm dreading it. His Mum is extremely old fashioned (we're not married, shock! horror!) and still "young" (28!!!!) so I know she'll speak her mind and say something to knock all the excitement out of it. To top that off she will tell everybody before we have a chance to (she's like the bbc news - we've heard so much stuff we shouldn't have) so I'm really hoping she won't say something too out of sorts as he's very excited to be telling her...

Are you guys going to try to wait until after Christmas to tell people?
25-11-2011, 14:13   #65
March11

Mink girl I am so pathetic at lying, I would rather just avoid putting myself in the situation! Crazy I know, but I just can't flipping lie to save my life. And my family would ask straight out, so have decided to just stay away and fib on the phone to them!!! I feel awful doing it, but it will be worth it come Christmas I hope and we will be nearer the 3 month mark. On the flip side, at least it will make the whole pregnancy shorter for them being told later!!
25-11-2011, 15:25   #66
mamaheidi

March 11, don't feel bad - if you don't want to tell people just yet and are a bad liar then don't go! It would be worse if you were coerced into telling when you didn't want to or weren't ready. Btw, I think (and maybe it's just me) that the old 'antibiotics' line doesn't work anyway - I think it's a real eyebrow raiser even when it's legit! I'd probably stick with the 'hubby hurt his back' excuse, or 'I've just given blood', or 'I have a bad migraine' or 'I think I'm coming down with a flu'... but then you know your family & you'll know what they'll fall for ;-) Best of luck getting through the weekend!
25-11-2011, 15:29   #67
March11

Thanks Mamaheidi for the post, it has helped me decide to stick with my plan and am going to stay away and tell the porky on the phone, god forgive me!

Have a lovely weekend ladies and chat on Monday please god!!!!
25-11-2011, 15:53   #68
kildareash

Can I join the July club too???
I've done three home kits, with all the same results. Have doctors appointment next week to confirm.

We haven't told anyone yet, as we've only just found out ourselves. But when I've seen the doc next week, we'll tell our parents and probably our sisters. The rest of my siblings will find out on the great family grape vine!

Don't know why but I'm a little but terrified about telling my mum, even though she has like 9 other grandchildren! Like mamaheidi said about her OH's mum, she can be a little bit old-fashioned.
On the other hand, his mother keeps dropping less than subtle hints about wanting to be a granny. Her only worry will be that my mother will see more of the baby (fingers crossed).

The nausea is killing me, i'd no other symptoms until this week when it hit me like a tidal wave. I'd been having a few killer cramps and my period was late, but I'd just put it down to stress at work. How wrong I was!
I'm sure my boss thinks I'm trying to avoid work by hiding out in the toilets. I feel like everytime I take a sip of anything, I need the loo.

So, I'm looking forward to getting to know all of ye over the next few weeks and months (hopefully).

Good luck with whatever you decide to do March11...look forward to hearing if your plan works on Monday.
25-11-2011, 16:32   #69
silly

Welcome kildareash! And congrats.

I did the antibiotics line once already.
I have a night out on the 23rd with old school friends. We do it every year. I'll be 10 weeks then, they won't believe ANY excuse so I might have to tell them.
So far I have told 2 close friends at work. One sister who lives out foreign and my older sis. I really want to tell my parents but I'll try and hold off until Christmas. Don't think I could wait until after.
Hubby is happy not to tell anyone, he's great at keeping secrets, he wants to wait until after Christmas!
25-11-2011, 19:44   #70
javagal

We told all our immediate family because we're all very close and If anything bad happened (god forbid), I'd want them all to help,
Christmas day can't come soon enough-I'll be 12weeks then1
25-11-2011, 23:05   #71
cyning

We have lot told aswell: but alot of that is the fact I was in hospital and not easy to hide that from friends!

I'm glad they know though: if god forbid anything happened I'd want my friends and family around me.

I'm loving everyone joining in on this thread its all so exciting!!

I also bawled watching Dr Phil earlier: I rang himself in work (crying): he was not impressed with me: I was just really upset and wanted to say hi!! And I thought I wasn't really emotional
26-11-2011, 09:37   #72
javagal

Another night, another crap sleep
I'll sleep for 2 hours then *BAM* wide awake for at least a half hour!
I'll have to start watching my weight slightly, I had just lost 30lbs on ww a month before I got pregnant and 5 have already creeped back on, May up my veggies and cut out the crap.. Maybe I'll sleep better then too!
26-11-2011, 12:02   #73
Kash

I'm with ou on that one Javagal, I need more veggies and less junk food.

I went for an early scan at Ultrasound Dimensions, and they found a healthy heartbeat, so I am over the moon.

We had already told our parents, but we're going to tell our siblings and clse friends today.

It's so exciting seeing that ultrasound develop, when she said "well there's the heartbeat" it was like a monumental weight off my mind. I'm grinning from ear to ear now
Thanks from:
26-11-2011, 14:53   #74
javagal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kash View Post
I'm with ou on that one Javagal, I need more veggies and less junk food.

I went for an early scan at Ultrasound Dimensions, and they found a healthy heartbeat, so I am over the moon.

We had already told our parents, but we're going to tell our siblings and clse friends today.

It's so exciting seeing that ultrasound develop, when she said "well there's the heartbeat" it was like a monumental weight off my mind. I'm grinning from ear to ear now

How many weeks are you?
When should I be getting my first ultrascan??it sounds amazing btw!
27-11-2011, 10:05   #75
Mink

Ooh I can't wait to get my first ultrasound. I'm going to be a nervous wreck coming up to it though as I'll be worrying that everything is okay. Need to send off my hospital letter on Monday.

Well we went up to OH's parents last night to tell them. I actually felt nervous before hand, like they were going to give out. But they were delighted, we're married nearly 10 years so I've had hints dropped about them wanting grandkids for ages. My mother in law is already saying she doesn't know how she's going to keep it a secret!

I'm really frustrated with the sleep thing, no matter how late I go to bed I'm still wide awake at 7am and can't go back to sleep. That's fine on the weekdays but I miss my weekend lie-ins! Maybe my body is already preparing me for the complete lack of sleep when baby comes!

Of and welcome Kildareash

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion