Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

16-11-2011, 18:55   #1
Damokc

At wits end!

Parents PC was acting the buck so I reinstalled XP and was installing printers,modems and stuff today....but the Eircom netopia yoke wont work WIRED to the desktop PC but my laptop was working away fine wirelessly off the same router!!

What the hell is going on? Starring at the screen trying everything for 3 hrs and nothing! Keep getting a "ERROR - Cannot determine default gateway". I presume if I had a wireless adaptor connectedto the PC it would work that way but why wont it work wired? It was working before I did the XP install?
16-11-2011, 18:56   #2
massy086

have u re-installed the network drivers for the pc
16-11-2011, 19:15   #3
Damokc

sorry ow for n00bism but how do I do that? I just assumed the drivers would be on the disc for the modem?
16-11-2011, 19:16   #4
massy086

no probs what model pc is it
16-11-2011, 19:18   #5
asif2011

If you go to the PC with a wireless adapter then do an "ipconfig" at the command line and see what the default gateway is. Then go to the reinstalled PC and go the command line "ping <insert the default gateway here>" and see if you get a reply from it.

If you do an "ipconfig" on the PC that's not working see if you have and address starting with "169.254.X.X" - if you do then the PC is not getting an IP address from the router. Maybe try a different cable if you have one for starters...
16-11-2011, 19:21   #6
Damokc

Its a Dell Dimension 5000. I've installed XP Pro on it. The reason for the install was because the mouse stopped working because of missing/corrupt drivers...surely this still isn't a problem? The mouse works fine now as does everthiny else bar wired internet (don't have a wireless dongle so haven't tried it,yet)
16-11-2011, 19:28   #7
bonzodog2

This one should be it.
16-11-2011, 19:29   #8
massy086

http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=113177 network driver

http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=104426 chipset driver

ok install the chipset driver first and then instal the network driver have you checked to see if u have sound
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&fileid=122481 sound driver
16-11-2011, 19:32   #9
Damokc

Cheers lads.not sure if I had sound either now that you say it. I'll have to go at it again tomorrow as I'm back home now.

Thanks again, I'll definitely be on this thread again tomorrow so drop in if ye can.
16-11-2011, 19:38   #10
asif2011

Yes you probably don't have the correct drivers for the network card & sound card, download them from a PC that has internet access and put them on a USB key and run them on the reinstalled PC. I overlooked that...
16-11-2011, 20:34   #11
Damokc

do you think those 3 drivers are all thats missing? once i get them going and the internet going updates will start streaming through I suppose?
16-11-2011, 21:02   #12
asif2011

Yep, once you get the network drivers you can do a Windows Update and it'll take ages but it'll download most of the drivers. Anything else like printers or scanners should be on a driver CD that came with PC, hopefully you still have those or you'll have to go to the manufacturers website for those. Once you get the network card driver installed you should be set...
Thanks from:
16-11-2011, 21:39   #13
Damokc

cheers,ya I set up the printer 'cause I found the disc thank god.
17-11-2011, 08:18   #14
mach1982

If it is wireless router, you don't need drivers .

That error means that the network doesn't know where to send the information.

in IE or Firefox type 192.168.1.254

Click on expert.

I think under configuration , but set default gateway to 192.168.1.254.
17-11-2011, 14:42   #15
Damokc

downloaded those 3 drivers and installed them...internet is up and running thanks for all the help guys.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion